30amp 120v outlet? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Discussion Forums > Off-Topic

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-10-2007, 07:53 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
4.0l sahara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: shelton,ct
Posts: 2,228
30amp 120v outlet?

Okay so during the holidays we always cover this huge pine tree with lights. It sucks up so much power we added a circut just for it. We put in a 30 amp circut (yes it uses that much juice) Well when we did it we used some wire we had it was 14 gauge wire rated for 15 amps. we were going to get the right wire later and replace it but forgot so a year later we remember and today I pulled the cover off and the wire had started to melt to the outlet. This was dumb I don't know why we did this in the first place so I whent and got the proper 10 gauge wire and I have a heavy duty 20 amp outlet but can't seem to find a 30amp 120v outlet. Does anybody know if they make a really heavy duty 120v outlet? Most the time when you get to 30 amp it's 220v.

__________________
99 sahara
4.0/np231/ax15/d30/d35
flowmaster40,hpd30 with aussie locker,currie upper joints,4.88's, lca skids,chromo shafts,vanco brakes,d35 with super 35 and arb locker,re 4.5" springs,currie arms,re front uppers,Re shocks in back,walkerevens shocks up front, Re track bars with currie jj joints,anti rock,ss brake lines,re rear sway bar links,jks 1.25" bl and mml,bfg 35x12.5 km2's,craiger soft 8's,ome steering stabilizer,currie hd steering,rockmen front bumper,emp tank skid,lots more too.
4.0l sahara is offline   Quote
Old 11-10-2007, 10:06 PM   #2
yes, I want some cheezy poofs
 
JeepersdoitDeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United States of Texas
Posts: 779
Send a message via Yahoo to JeepersdoitDeeper
Check your RV parts suppliers. I know they have 30 amp outlets for 120 volt, and I believe possibly higher. Our camper has a 30 amp cord coming out of it and when at the house, we have an adapter to plug it into a standard 15 amp plug.

JeepersdoitDeeper is offline   Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 12:14 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
rketr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 870
You'll need to find a NEMA 5-30R plug for the recepticle and a NEMA 5-30P for the plug. -> Click Here <-

Thats a lot 'o juice...how many friggin lights do you have on that line?
rketr is offline   Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 08:49 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
whiteyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 4,861
You would really be better off splitting that load up onto a couple of circuits. The next problem starts to be length of the run and line losses.

I know I had to run #8's for the 35 amps to my ovens.
__________________
Fallen Angel...Former MOD......Yeah no 10 yr pin in my mailbox.............
whiteyj is offline   Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 10:44 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
4.0l sahara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: shelton,ct
Posts: 2,228
The line from the breaker box to plug is like 10 feet. Comes out goes up and out of the house.
__________________
99 sahara
4.0/np231/ax15/d30/d35
flowmaster40,hpd30 with aussie locker,currie upper joints,4.88's, lca skids,chromo shafts,vanco brakes,d35 with super 35 and arb locker,re 4.5" springs,currie arms,re front uppers,Re shocks in back,walkerevens shocks up front, Re track bars with currie jj joints,anti rock,ss brake lines,re rear sway bar links,jks 1.25" bl and mml,bfg 35x12.5 km2's,craiger soft 8's,ome steering stabilizer,currie hd steering,rockmen front bumper,emp tank skid,lots more too.
4.0l sahara is offline   Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 10:47 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
4.0l sahara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: shelton,ct
Posts: 2,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by rketr View Post
You'll need to find a NEMA 5-30R plug for the recepticle and a NEMA 5-30P for the plug. -> Click Here <-

Thats a lot 'o juice...how many friggin lights do you have on that line?
alot of lights.
__________________
99 sahara
4.0/np231/ax15/d30/d35
flowmaster40,hpd30 with aussie locker,currie upper joints,4.88's, lca skids,chromo shafts,vanco brakes,d35 with super 35 and arb locker,re 4.5" springs,currie arms,re front uppers,Re shocks in back,walkerevens shocks up front, Re track bars with currie jj joints,anti rock,ss brake lines,re rear sway bar links,jks 1.25" bl and mml,bfg 35x12.5 km2's,craiger soft 8's,ome steering stabilizer,currie hd steering,rockmen front bumper,emp tank skid,lots more too.
4.0l sahara is offline   Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 10:56 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
4.0l sahara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: shelton,ct
Posts: 2,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by rketr View Post
You'll need to find a NEMA 5-30R plug for the recepticle and a NEMA 5-30P for the plug. -> Click Here <-

Thats a lot 'o juice...how many friggin lights do you have on that line?
Do you think homedepot would have that?
__________________
99 sahara
4.0/np231/ax15/d30/d35
flowmaster40,hpd30 with aussie locker,currie upper joints,4.88's, lca skids,chromo shafts,vanco brakes,d35 with super 35 and arb locker,re 4.5" springs,currie arms,re front uppers,Re shocks in back,walkerevens shocks up front, Re track bars with currie jj joints,anti rock,ss brake lines,re rear sway bar links,jks 1.25" bl and mml,bfg 35x12.5 km2's,craiger soft 8's,ome steering stabilizer,currie hd steering,rockmen front bumper,emp tank skid,lots more too.
4.0l sahara is offline   Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 11:28 AM   #8
Wrecktrician
 
4point's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Sierra
Posts: 7,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4.0l sahara View Post
Do you think homedepot would have that?
Its not likely home depot will have that recptacle but they have it in "twist-lok" form.

__________________
Just getting to work is an adventure.
4point is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardwiring an Extra Outlet agentw0 TJ Tech Forum 12 12-11-2008 10:17 PM
jeep----> wall outlet? dwdrums801 Communications and Electronics 5 12-14-2007 07:40 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC