Home Air Conditioner - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Discussion Forums > Off-Topic

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-11-2010, 11:13 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
sjlawr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 80
Home Air Conditioner

Any home HVAC experts out there? My home unit has stopped cooling, just blows hot air. I consider myself to be handy, but I know nothing about home HVAC systems. Any suggestions? I have a tech. coming to the hosue on Tuesday, but I am not even familiar enough with the system to know what he will be talking about. Thanks.

sjlawr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2010, 11:29 PM   #2
Ugly Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
PecosRiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Jose, New Mexico
Posts: 1,542
Turn it off overnight and try it again the next day. Mine does that when the coils freeze up from continuous running during hot weather.

PecosRiver is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2010, 11:51 AM   #3
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,369
Images: 2
If it's not working after trying what PecosRiver suggests, it could be low on refrigerant. There is a pressure switch on the compressor system that won't let the compressor turn on unless there is sufficient refrigerant pressure inside the system. A simple refill (recharge) will sometimes fix it but if the pressure is low, that usually indicates a leak unless the compressor is just super-old.

Also, the electronics that control it often runs on 24 volts which is usually provided by a small cheap transformer that converts the 110 volt house voltage to 24 volts. One of my two a/c systems stopped working after that transformer failed. I found a replacement transformer locally for only $10-12. I'm no HVAC guy but these types of things are seldom real complex.

Good luck with it, I hope you have an honest HVAC guy coming to your house.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2010, 12:53 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Ghosthiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canton, GA
Posts: 250
Is your system in a basement with a separate condensation pump? Mine just did that. Turned out it was the pump overfill switch. When the pump fills up and doesn't pump, the overfill switch shuts the compressor down, but the fan keeps running.
Ghosthiker is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2010, 10:32 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
sjlawr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 80
Thanks for the suggestions, I will check it out over the next few days. I have work to do on the Jeep first.
sjlawr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-12-2010, 10:53 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
drivebytruckerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,011
Make sure your drain tube isn't stopped up. I'm not an expert or anything.. and I may be way off..
__________________
"Not all who wander are lost.."

2000 TJ Sport 4.0
2005 WK (Grand Cherokee) Limited 5.7 HEMI


(OIF '05-'06 Mahmudiyah, Scania)
drivebytruckerz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-17-2010, 12:27 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
sjlawr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 80
Thanks for all of the inputs. Turned out to be a leaking condensation line and needed a charge of freon.
sjlawr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-17-2010, 12:57 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Ageless Stranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 26,792
Glad you're up and going again. Mine just went out last weekend and I had to put a new capacitor on it. No A/C sucks!!!!1!
Ageless Stranger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-17-2010, 07:20 AM   #9
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ageless Stranger View Post
Glad you're up and going again. Mine just went out last weekend and I had to put a new capacitor on it. No A/C sucks!!!!1!
Yeah, it ain't like a Jeep...can't take the top off the house
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-17-2010, 07:45 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Maddogmick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by s3nt3nc3d View Post
Yeah, it ain't like a Jeep...can't take the top off the house
Unless your having the roof replaced
__________________
www.nyatvonline.com
Maddogmick is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-21-2010, 06:32 AM   #11
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3
I'm doing a through the wall AC installation with an older Admiral unit. My question is regarding the condensate drainage. This has a heavy steel tray, and I've looked in vain for a drain hole. There was almost an inch of wet guck in the tray when I got it. Are some AC's set up to just let the condensation drip into and evaporate in the tray?
kukwe is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-21-2010, 08:57 AM   #12
Pushy, Loudmouthed, and Ballsy
 
Dare2BSquare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Driving Around Arkansas In My Black XJ
Posts: 6,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjlawr View Post
Thanks for the suggestions, I will check it out over the next few days. I have work to do on the Jeep first.
lol. Yes, the jeep gets priority!!! Screw being comfortable!
__________________
99 XJ Sport
4.0l
AW4
NP231
d30/C8.25
3" Skyjacker lift
31 x 10.50 General Grabbers


http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h2...are/TMLogo.gif Are all fishermen liars, or do only liars fish?
Dare2BSquare is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-21-2010, 02:04 PM   #13
Show Me Your 8008135!

WF Supporting Member
 
s3nt3nc3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via AIM to s3nt3nc3d
Quote:
Originally Posted by kukwe View Post
I'm doing a through the wall AC installation with an older Admiral unit. My question is regarding the condensate drainage. This has a heavy steel tray, and I've looked in vain for a drain hole. There was almost an inch of wet guck in the tray when I got it. Are some AC's set up to just let the condensation drip into and evaporate in the tray?
Can't recall for sure...you're supposed to route the drain from the unit to an actual drain, but it sounds like that one's designed to just have it drain and evaporate in the pan. If you can, I'd route it to an actual drain though. Just my opinion...I have no clue what code is for that stuff.
__________________
"We don't build great brakes because we think you don't know how to drive, we build them for the guy on the road in front of you that doesn't." - Black Magic Brakes
s3nt3nc3d is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-21-2010, 07:37 PM   #14
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 31,369
Images: 2
I can't imagine the condensation, which can be considerable on some days, evaporating fast enough on a simple tray to not overflow and ruin whatever is beneath it. I'd definitely connect it to some kind of drain system.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.

Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-22-2010, 02:46 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Ageless Stranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 26,792
^^ I agree Jerry. It should definately have a drain.
Ageless Stranger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-22-2010, 02:48 AM   #16
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maddogmick View Post
Unless your having the roof replaced
hello Unless your having the Ac replaced.....
Arvell Moore| Air Conditioning Replacement
kukwe is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-17-2010, 07:46 AM   #17
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by kukwe View Post
I'm doing a through the wall AC installation with an older Admiral unit. My question is regarding the condensate drainage. This has a heavy steel tray, and I've looked in vain for a drain hole. There was almost an inch of wet guck in the tray when I got it. Are some AC's set up to just let the condensation drip into and evaporate in the tray?
Furnace Replacement

kukwe is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FHA home loan kilgoretrout844 Off-Topic 9 04-07-2010 09:31 PM
Any Home Theater fanatics? whitebomber Off-Topic 43 06-16-2009 04:10 AM
A Touching Home Depot Story 02Prove Off-Topic 0 09-25-2008 06:19 PM
Home Depot Scam lost Off-Topic 9 11-01-2007 07:47 PM
89 YJ complete @ home bluvikng YJ General Discussion Forum 18 08-02-2006 11:17 AM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC