HELP tune my CB - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > WF Local > WF Local Forums for Your Region and State > Colorado Jeep Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-01-2012, 08:05 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
firefighterwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 107
HELP tune my CB

Is there anyone or do you know of any one that can help me tune my cb? I have it installed and have a swr and cant get it tuned correctly.. I have played with ground locations and everything I could think of...

firefighterwhiskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 08:28 PM   #2
Hang On!!!

WF Supporting Member
 
Colo-TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bailey, CO
Posts: 4,026
where are you located?

__________________
Colo-TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 08:52 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
jagerhelix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: CoLoRaDo
Posts: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by firefighterwhiskey View Post
Is there anyone or do you know of any one that can help me tune my cb? I have it installed and have a swr and cant get it tuned correctly.. I have played with ground locations and everything I could think of...
You have a firestick right?
Do you have an isolator between the antenna and the mount? It's a little ring that separates your antenna from the mount. If not you will find it nearly impossible to get a good SWR since your coax will be trying to transmit through the mount and anything that touches as well. Also, check the length of your coax. You don't want more than you need, you also don't want any coiling of excess line as it can also cause poor SWR.

If it's none of that, let me know what it's doing.
jagerhelix is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 09:31 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
firefighterwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 107
Im in colorado springs.. If you are talking about the little plastic ring yes I have that have 18 feet of coax. and the swr reading Im getting is ch 1 is way high in the red but ch 40 is at just above 3
firefighterwhiskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 09:33 PM   #5
Hang On!!!

WF Supporting Member
 
Colo-TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bailey, CO
Posts: 4,026
need to tune on 20...middle of the band. also 18' is a lot more than you need. how is the extra coiled up?
__________________
Colo-TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 09:41 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
firefighterwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 107
I only have about 3 feet left and I have it coiled in a long oblong loop.
firefighterwhiskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 10:10 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
jagerhelix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: CoLoRaDo
Posts: 979
Does your SWR meter or cb have a Calibration dial? Not trying to insult intelligence here, but has it been set on Cal? 3 is very high, and if it's even higher on the lower end of the dial it can actually harm your radio. High SWR is no buenos. Does your antenna have a tuning screw on top?
jagerhelix is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 10:15 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
firefighterwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 107
yes I have a radio shack swr meter and yes I it has the tuning screw.. I have tried everything I can think of..
firefighterwhiskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 10:21 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
jagerhelix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: CoLoRaDo
Posts: 979
wish I was around to peek at it. Do you know if your CB has ever been keyed without the antenna plugged in?
I have the same SWR Meter so as long as you've set the needle to cal on the dial when it's switched to cal, then switched back to SWR when testing that's all that can be done on the meter's end. When you screw the tuning screw all the way in, and all the way out do you notice a predictable difference? As in unscrewed it always goes up, or screwed in it always goes down? Or is it completely random when you try to adjust?
jagerhelix is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 10:28 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
firefighterwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 107
Its random I was messing with it today.. Everyone else has told me its the ground on my mount but I have tried different places and ground wire no ground wire Im lost now.. I have not tried all the way up or down either way I cant get one number under 3 one will get just under 3 and the other is still in the red. I re ran my coax so its not by any electrical wires..
firefighterwhiskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 10:30 PM   #11
Hang On!!!

WF Supporting Member
 
Colo-TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bailey, CO
Posts: 4,026
check your coax to make sure that when it was pulled through everything that the insulation wasn't cut and grounding out. other than that I am at a loss as well. jager asked some great questions. the radio itself might have some issues.
__________________
Colo-TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 10:31 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Justin04Lj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 3,412
I've only tuned mine once. Its only a cb. It doesn't have to be perfect
__________________
Rock Krawler X-factor Short Arm 3.5, 35 general red letters
Justin04Lj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 10:32 PM   #13
Hang On!!!

WF Supporting Member
 
Colo-TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bailey, CO
Posts: 4,026
maybe find someone that has a well tuned antenna and try it their rig.
__________________
Colo-TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 10:33 PM   #14
Hang On!!!

WF Supporting Member
 
Colo-TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bailey, CO
Posts: 4,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin04Lj View Post
I've only tuned mine once. Its only a cb. It doesn't have to be perfect
it has to be between 1-2 or you are risking a fried unit.
__________________
Colo-TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 10:33 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
firefighterwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 107
yah Its a brand new CB just put in on saturday..
firefighterwhiskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 10:37 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Justin04Lj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 3,412
O sorry
__________________
Rock Krawler X-factor Short Arm 3.5, 35 general red letters
Justin04Lj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 10:58 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
jagerhelix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: CoLoRaDo
Posts: 979
Hoping it's your ground and not the radio. Where have you tried mounting? Grounding to paint can cause issues. Also grounding to a swing away carrier that has rubber bushings can also disrupt your ground because the rubber is a great conductor. Make sure your ground goes to a chassis mount. Firestik website actually is a fantastic wealth of information as far as CB and antenna's work and should be installed. Give a browse over there to help out as well.

Tech-Docs Index

I'm gone for a few weeks so hopefully you can get this figured out before I am back, but if not I'll see what I can do.
jagerhelix is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2012, 11:09 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
firefighterwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 107
Yah Im going to try to find a better ground location tomorrow.. I have it now to a ground screw where my tail lights ground but its all painted and have scraped the paint off but dont think thats helping so Im going to find a better place
firefighterwhiskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-08-2012, 06:59 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
firefighterwhiskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 107
Ok I still can't get a good swr the best I can get is just under 3 on ch 1 and ch 40. Tested everything and have good grounds now and no kinks in coax and its not wound up any one have any suggestions? I'm lost now and getting frustrated with this.
firefighterwhiskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2012, 06:10 PM   #20
Newb
 
mlebofsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Highlands Ranch
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by jagerhelix View Post
..... the rubber is a great conductor ...
???
Did you mean insulator ?
mlebofsky is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2012, 06:36 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
jagerhelix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: CoLoRaDo
Posts: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlebofsky View Post
???
Did you mean insulator ?
You got me... yes, I meant insulator.

jagerhelix is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
cb radio , tune

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC