Jeep Wrangler Forum - Reply to Topic
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum > Bad dealer or am I a pain in butt?

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Thread: Bad dealer or am I a pain in butt? Reply to Thread
Title:
  
Message:
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

Topic Review (Newest First)
02-23-2012 09:13 PM
courtney123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Griffman View Post
I am also curious about when the jeep arrives what your options are in case it is missing things or it is not what you ordered.
Call 877-IAMJEEP and ask for a build list once you have the VON. They will send to an email of what is supposed to be on your jeep.
If anything's missing, if here's damage (it should be in showroom condition) refuse to accept the car until you have it in writing the dealer will repair or replace at no cost to you.

Use that number to track your Jeep through the build and shipping. Don't count on the dealer taking the time to let you know.
02-23-2012 09:04 PM
Bsears155
Quote:
Originally Posted by TreeClimber1
(This isn't directed to Pat, but to the OP, but even though Pat says this)

Know this; IF you cancel that order, or ask for a deposit refund then you are taking away someone's paycheck (the commission) which can be significant amount of money. The salesperson may try bravado, lying, bluffing, stonewalling, delaying or any other means to delay or keep you into the purchase.
I agree. I'm sticking with this guy. He apologized for forgetting to return my call and I'm totally happy with that. To top it off he gave me zero hassle when I asked about the TL discount. I expected to get slack about that. It's going to save me about $2k which is sweet. I plan to pass that onto the dealer with a tip (since this will hurt his commission).

sorry for the vent tread, but it looks like everything is working out. I learned a few things and hopefully others did as well

Now I'm back to the hard part "patiently" waiting for my jeep!
02-23-2012 09:00 PM
Griffman Thanks for the info everyone. I was just curious about it. Im only a couple weeks away from delivery at this point. Can't wait for it to get here!

Thanks for the info Pat, I wish you guys were in Canada! My sales guy new squat about jeeps other than he just bought one, and said they were nice...
02-23-2012 08:46 PM
TreeClimber1 (This isn't directed to Pat, but to the OP, but even though Pat says this)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pat@fieldsauto.com View Post
Most states have laws that require the dealer to refund the deposit. Unless you signed something otherwise.
Know this; IF you cancel that order, or ask for a deposit refund then you are taking away someone's paycheck (the commission) which can be significant amount of money. The salesperson may try bravado, lying, bluffing, stonewalling, delaying or any other means to delay or keep you into the purchase.
02-23-2012 08:18 PM
pat@fieldsauto.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by Griffman View Post
If you have put in your deposit, and received a VIN, can you still change the order or deal? Can you still cancel and get your deposit back?
Chances are once there is a VIN you can't change the options. The deal you can change, sure a dealer is going to be mad if he was making money on you and you came in with an affiliate rewards number, etc. But a smart dealer would take the deal and move on. Dealers don't want to wait to get you in your Jeep. We all have been trained that sooner is better.

Most states have laws that require the dealer to refund the deposit. Unless you signed something otherwise.
02-23-2012 07:01 PM
Griffman If you have put in your deposit, and received a VIN, can you still change the order or deal? Can you still cancel and get your deposit back?
02-23-2012 06:25 PM
pat@fieldsauto.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by j0nx View Post
There is no such thing as pain in the butt customers. Only unresponsive, inattentive dealers. When you spend $35k+ on a vehicle then you deserve to be treated cordially and promptly and if the dealer isn't able or willing to do that then maybe they should pick a new line of work?
It doesn't matter what you spend, you deserve a call back. I dropped the ball this week with a customer who had already taken delivery of his Rubi. I owed him something and I did order it, but it slipped my mind to let him know the part was in. Needless to say he emailed, I sprang into action to get it handled, I apologized over and over and he was totally fine and understood. I should have explained that this guy was really easy going.

At least you got it handled. And IMO asking for a VIN/VON does not make you a pain in the butt.

Now in any sales/retail, business calls/emails should be returned and things handled promptly. It doesn't matter if its the car business, it's any business.

And even though you probably don't want my opinion on pain in the butt customers, I believe yes they are out there. They treat others horribly, not just car salespeople but everybody. Some say respect is earned, I believe the opposite, you get my respect from the start, but once you cross that line there's only a slim chance of going back. Point of this semi rant here, if you go into a dealership and are treated with respect, give it back, I think you'll be amazed what that will do for your whole experience. Not only at a car dealership but everywhere in life.
Obvioulsy if you are not treated well then I would say leave and go elsewhere.
02-23-2012 06:23 PM
noogajeepster
Deposits on new vehicle

One way to help with any contract between you and the dealer is to put the deposit on a credit card. This gives you a chance to dispute the charge and the credit card company will go to arbitration on your behalf, if anything should go sour with the deal. That's at least one good thing about a credit card.
02-23-2012 05:10 PM
Dr Gonzo The sales rep at my dealership was all on top of things before I ordered... but he's also an incredibly busy guy. I understand that the few questions I've had post-order were not time sensitive, nor really what I'd call "important." I didn't hear from him for 3 days once, and decided to stop in... he had one person at his desk, a couple standing in the lobby waiting to talk to him, and a phone call on both his office phone and cell phone at the same time. So I cut him some slack.
02-23-2012 04:45 PM
schnizdawg Go ahead and hate me for saying this... Most car dealerships are only good to customers until you make a commitment and cannot back out, or at least feel like you cannot back out even when you legally can. If you don't move often, locate a good dealer in your area and stick with them. Then call Chrysler and fill out every customer comment card and survey you can to keep the good dealers in business and shut down the A-hole dealers.
02-23-2012 04:04 PM
jp2611 There's Pat again showing us how things SHOULD be done! Wish I had thought about that before I bought off the lot here in town...but I do like my new Jeep...now if I was ordering one.....drive home from Northern ILL wouldn't be bad...and maybe save enough to buy the plane ticket!!
02-23-2012 04:04 PM
c0d3x5 its not the customer.. its just the people...
02-23-2012 04:03 PM
Bsears155 I agree Mabar. I don't work in retail but I do deal with customers. Honestly I'm sure I was a bit of a pain by contacting him twice after the deal was done, but that still doesn't mean he should blow me off. He did apologize though which was enough to satisfy me. Said he was busy on Monday since it was Presidents Day and then had forgotten about calling me back.
02-23-2012 04:02 PM
Mabar
Quote:
Originally Posted by j0nx View Post
When you spend $35k+ on a vehicle then you deserve to be treated cordially and promptly......
You should be treated cordially and promptly regardless of the price. Spending 35K+ has absolutely no relation to the manner in which you should be treated.

If that line of reasoning is correct, then if you only spend $33K, should you expect poor service? How about $25K?

Mabar
02-23-2012 03:59 PM
Mabar
Quote:
Originally Posted by j0nx View Post
There is no such thing as pain in the butt customers........
Obviously, you have never worked in retail. Not saying that "this" person is a pain in the butt, but there ARE pain in the butt customers.

Mabar
02-23-2012 03:53 PM
c0d3x5
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
Getting a better deal for paying cash is a myth. Dealer's actually prefer financing, especially if it's through them.


who said anyone was looking for a better deal?
02-23-2012 03:48 PM
MudderNuker Hi every one, this is my first post here (yes, I will introduce myself shortly). I am the proud owner of a 2012 Unlimited Sahara Black Forest Green and I got it $500 under invoice. Not the best deal but I think better than Tread Lightly. I asked the dealer about the TL discount and they replied by telling me that if I was a Costco member they would give me $500 under invoice which in my case came to about 1.4% under invoice plus they paid my trade and gave me 3 years of oil changes. No negative equity.

Just wanted to throw this out there as another option.
02-23-2012 03:42 PM
real4x4 ^^ sounds like your salesman might need a little lesson in customer service ^^
02-23-2012 02:56 PM
Bsears155 Update:
Basically threatened to go over the dealers head and start calling mangers etc. got a call back with my VIN and my VON.

Asked him about the TL discount and said that if I sign up for it now. He can apply the discount at the time I pick up the Jeep.

Thanks everyone for letting me vent earlier. Sounds like a little tough love is all that was needed!
02-23-2012 02:52 PM
j0nx There is no such thing as pain in the butt customers. Only unresponsive, inattentive dealers. When you spend $35k+ on a vehicle then you deserve to be treated cordially and promptly and if the dealer isn't able or willing to do that then maybe they should pick a new line of work?
02-23-2012 02:47 PM
kerryva I went through the same thing in getting the VON on 12/12 when I placed my order. After 5 days, I called Jeep Customer Service and told them I was concerned that I had been scammed and they were able to get my VON within 2 hours. Getting the VIN was hell, but that is dependent on build cycles, etc. Needless to say, my JK-Rubicon arrived yesterday and I'm picking it up tomorrow. Good luck!
02-23-2012 01:59 PM
JKatfish The should be able to change your order, I added some option 2 days after my order was actually placed. Not always the case tho. Unless you ordered some weird option combination, you should be able to place a new order.
02-23-2012 01:52 PM
pat@fieldsauto.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bsears155 View Post
Thanks Pat. The main problem is the dealer not returning my call and either giving me the VON or saying that it's not in yet.

I'm hopeful I can figure out the online tracking tool once I get that.
the dealer has the VON. he gets it as soon as he places the order. I would call again and tell him you need the VON. It's not that hard to find.
02-23-2012 01:48 PM
Bsears155 Thanks Pat. The main problem is the dealer not returning my call and either giving me the VON or saying that it's not in yet.

I'm hopeful I can figure out the online tracking tool once I get that.
02-23-2012 01:44 PM
pat@fieldsauto.com If you would like help tracking your Jeep, you can PM your VON once you get it and I can tell you where it is in the system.

I would speak to the manager, chances are he'll take the TL/affiliate rewards number on your current order. The dealership would much rather have your sale done asap.
02-23-2012 01:44 PM
MarshallbrewJK Did you sign something that says your deposit is non-refundable? Don't let them tell you that it's not refundable. They need to have a contract written in writing that it's not refundable and you signed. If they can't produce something, get your $500 and go somewhere else.
02-23-2012 01:34 PM
daggo66
Quote:
Originally Posted by c0d3x5 View Post
i was ready pay cash for a car,
Getting a better deal for paying cash is a myth. Dealer's actually prefer financing, especially if it's through them.
02-23-2012 01:29 PM
Bsears155 Either way I think 3 days is too long to wait to get back to a customer. Going to give him till Monday (one week since I first tried to get a hold of him).

I'm going to see if he's willing to renegotiate the price with me on the current order with the TL membership that way I don't have to cancel the order. If he's not willing I'll make a new one (with my change) with him or someone else if he's upset and me doing this. The change i requested wasn't a big deal. Wasn't prepared for the choice between 430 and 730 nav. Change my mind later but again that was low on my list of must haves.

Wish I had more patience... The wait is killing me. Been wanting a jeep for years and now I'm so close lol.
02-23-2012 01:06 PM
shrkbyte731
waiting on vin/von

I just sold my wifes '10 jku and ordered her a '12 jku in dozer (Feb 8th). I also work for a dealership in the northeast. It took a week for the order to be picked up to BG status (good order), and then another 3-4 days to D -D1 (scheduled for production, estimated ship date,vin assigned) We actually did not have allocation for the unit, and found out later that my zone rep. pushed an extra allocation our way. Sold orders normally get preference with an order as opposed to stock. So, its possible your factory order was sitting waiting for allocation, or the BG to D or D1 was taking awhile. That being said, there is no excuse for a dealer not replying back to you same day or at the least in 24 hours (might have had a day off) Hope this helps.
02-23-2012 01:06 PM
c0d3x5 this is my 2 cent.. too many dealers today have no concern about u, they just want ur money.... saddly it should be the other way around... a forty thousand dollars is a pretty big investment.. i think if im the one spending the money they should be treating me and if they cant do that, then i would move on.. simple as that..

i had similar experience with toyota, when we were looking for a car for my fiance'

i was ready pay cash for a car,
and they had no concern how i wanted to conduct business, it was toyotas way or the highway,, so i chose highway ..
This thread has more than 30 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC