|04-22-2008 12:54 PM|
Driving is a privelidge...not a right! People forget that a lot.
|04-22-2008 12:46 PM|
I think if the younger drivers start setting better examples (as a whole) and stop killing themselves, the laws just might relax. The more the group can demonstrate responsibility and start lowering the statistics, the more freedoms you will be afforded. Your anguish is misplaced....it's your peers that you should blame for the new legislation, not the legislators. The legislators have a repsonsibility to represent the public majority voice and they have spoken...you just don't like what they are saying. Remember, they were young and had cars too so they speak from experience.
Every week, I read about some young driver being killed in my area from excessive speed and pasting themselves around some damn tree. It's heart wrenching and I know some of these kids. My county is not much more than 150K people...WTF? It's totally preventable....PERIOD.
Stay off the damn cell phones, drive in control and start paying attention to the road.
|04-22-2008 08:48 AM|
|George T.||I believe here in NY, its 6 months with a permit, then 6 months on probation (always having to drive with a 21 year old before 9pm), then drivers school and then you have to take the test.|
|04-22-2008 08:15 AM|
I just waited till I was 18 and went up to the DMV took the written test and got me license right there. In Texas you are not required to take driving school if you are 18+ so I pretty much just read my drivers hand book and learned by driving with my parents.
Experience and defensive driving classes I think everyone should take tho.
|04-22-2008 08:05 AM|
|[TheYJGuy]||[note to self] Don't raise a family in Massachusetts.|
|04-22-2008 08:02 AM|
here in mass its even better then the :-p
30 hrs with ur parents (its really easy since tis over 6 months, i just drove wherever we were going, to hockey, to maine etc.) then 6 hrs with and instructor
then supposed to be home by 12:00 but the law states they can't do anyhting about it untill 1:00 to give you time to drive home safely, basicly you have to leave where u are by 12:00 and then have an hour tog et home so they dont have like 2,000 kids going 100MPH to get home by 12:00
then no one allowed in the car with u until 6 months which is the one that realllyy sucks, but thats a secondary offense so u have to be pulled over first
and the worrstt of it alll
if you are caught speeding more than 3 mph over the speed limit u lose ur license for 6 months and pay 1,500 to get it back, and have to go through ALLL of drivers ed again (42 hrs, $2,000)
second time its a year u lose it and 3,000 to get it back
all for 3 mph over the limit, thats until ur 18
its a little over agressive and the police know it so they actually don't give speeding tickets to kids anymore, just warnings so the law is kind of backfiring on them now
|04-22-2008 07:55 AM|
|[TheYJGuy]||I hope I don't become [more of] a prick when I get my badge. I sure as hell won't pull the "I can talk, but you can't" crap. I'll talk on the phone, but I won't ticket anybody for it.|
|04-22-2008 06:42 AM|
|04-22-2008 03:05 AM|
Jersey just passed the cellphone law...before, you could only get a ticket for being on the phone if you were doing something else illegal, like not wearing your seatbelt.
Now if you are on the phone, its a ticket regardless...but cops are on the phone all the time.
|04-21-2008 09:01 PM|
|tarheel||Yeah, put my kid in the suburban after he totaled his car last summer. That's when I went out and bought the jeep. Told him not to deploy the 6 airbags in the burb|
|04-21-2008 08:57 PM|
|04-21-2008 08:51 PM|
|tarheel||Curfew in NC is 9pm for the first 6 months. One other teenager in car if not related was the limit. It is all about distractions. We all have too much going on when we drive. My kids have noticed me slowing down since I got the Jeep. With a manual tranny and the way the Jeep handles I have started paying more attention....plus it is sooo much smaller than the suburban I was driving|
|04-21-2008 08:47 PM|
|payj90||In PA we have to have 40 hours,over 6 months, of driving with some one over 21 in all the diffrent kinds of driving situatoins, rain, night, city, ect. And we are forced in shcool to take a drivers ed coarse, but if you do the coarse and drive with the instructor for 6 hours he can give you your lisence. but then you are limited to driving between 5am and 11pm. but that doesnt really stop me from driving whenever i want, but im close to old enough to loose the limits.|
|04-21-2008 07:39 PM|
|AzTJ||Arizona requires you to have 40hrs and 20hrs of night driving while on your permit before getting a license. Didn't bother me at all. Me an my dad went for a couple of long drives all over the valley and got my hours done in a matter of days. No biggie there.|
|04-21-2008 07:00 PM|
|4.0l sahara||you are right about all the assholes that can't drive for shit|
|04-21-2008 06:53 PM|
Sorry to disagree with you but as a mom who just went through two boys getting their license and the third one will be working on hers next year, I think all the kids need more time behind the wheel. More traffic, congestion and much more distractions...cell phones, ipods, navigation systems etc etc. Aint like the old days where the only driving distraction besides your buddys was the five push buttons on your radio, ya know.
It isn't about some knuckle head just killing themselves...recently,a very nice lady was killed by a kid when he was out on his first day of driving solo. He just got his license that day. Kids don't understand defensive driving....you can't just follow the rules, you gotta know how to watch out for all the assholes who think the rules don't apply.
We worry everytime our kids head out on the road, they are good drivers but there are plenty shitty ones out there and they don't get it.
You'll change your tune in another 20 years or so.
Okay, I'll stop with the mom lecture. PS, I think it's great to make parents attend a class, too many busy parents just buy their kids a car and send them off so they are no longer inconvienenced. It's a good way to make them stop and really think hard about it first.
Okay, now I promise to stop with the mom lectures.
|04-21-2008 06:28 PM|
new ct driving laws.
Well ct already had alot of teen driving laws compared to most states. Well today thay passed more bs laws. Just because a few retards killed them self latly. Like some kid from my school was doing like 100mph in the mall parking lot and killed himself. I don't feel bad because thats his choice. Today thay passed more laws like your now susposed to drive like 40 hours with your parents before you get a license. Why do they think parents won't just lye like thay allready do? They are also making parents take a class before teens can get a license I measn wtf is that going to do? Now they lowered the curfue fromn 12 to 11. What makes them think people are going to go home at 11? In my mind there dumb. Kids will be kids and just because it's harder to get a license doen't meen they will not do dumb shit. I'm 16 and gald 90% of this crap will not effect me. If there going to make laws why not make some real laws? Not just laws that make them feel good that they tried.