Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   SYE & Driveshaft needed yet? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/sye-and-driveshaft-needed-yet-106527.html)

tj4mcranky 08-08-2011 04:09 PM

SYE & Driveshaft needed yet?

The short version: I'm new to jeeps and just purchased a teraflex 3'' lift, bilstein shocks, teraflex monster flex short arm kit, wheels and 33"x12.5x15 bfg's for my '01 TJ. I also have the new driveshaft, but dont have the slip yoke eliminator yet. My question is: can I install all of this (less the ds & sye) and drive it safely on the street until i can come up with the cash for the sye? What are the cons? Any info would greatly help. Thanks, guys.

jrmiller 08-08-2011 05:54 PM

As far as I know SYE and DS aren't needed until you have over 3 inches of lift so you should be fine, someone who knows a little more than me can chime in and tell me i'm wrong any time though :whistling:

ipath68 08-08-2011 05:56 PM

I'm running a 3.5 rubicon express and 33's without the sye never had a problem.

tj4mcranky 08-08-2011 06:19 PM

Thanks. I've heard many things like i can drive it on the street, but i shouldn't do rock crawling yet, which is fine for now. Will there be any driveline vibration due to the change in driveshaft angle? i just dont want to install this prematurely and cause damage due to the fact that this is my daily driver.

Ageless Stranger 08-08-2011 06:24 PM

There is a chance you will experience driveline vibrations. You'll just have to roll the dice. I took steps when I built mine to prevent vibes in phase 1, so that I could continue driving until I completed phase 2, which included a SYE, and driveshaft. You may need to drop the transfer case skid until you can do the SYE to reduce driveline angle.

doclouie 08-08-2011 07:40 PM