Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   TPMS sensor replacement - Is this right? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/tpms-sensor-replacement-is-this-right-108779.html)

ESP 08-22-2011 09:27 AM

TPMS sensor replacement - Is this right?
 
Been running without these for some time now because it's easier to air down and up without worrying about them. Was debating a pro cal too but I thought it was more expensive to replace these on a JK. Is this right? Are these the replacements for the sensors I took out?

Original Replacement Parts 17237.11 - Tire Pressure Monitor Service Kit for 07-11 Jeep® Wrangler & Wrangler Unlimited JK & 08-09 Grand Cherokee WK - Quadratec

EAD Offroad 08-22-2011 09:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ESP123 (Post 1496293)
Been running without these for some time now because it's easier to air down and up without worrying about them. Was debating a pro cal too but I thought it was more expensive to replace these on a JK. Is this right? Are these the replacements for the sensors I took out?

Original Replacement Parts 17237.11 - Tire Pressure Monitor Service Kit for 07-11 Jeep® Wrangler & Wrangler Unlimited JK & 08-09 Grand Cherokee WK - Quadratec

No those won't replace the entire monitor, that's just a kit to replace the valve stem. The actual monitor is a lot more expensive, our price is $25 less than Qtec but it's still $95 each and you need 5. OMIX-ADA Jeep JK/WK Tire Pressure Monitor


Personally I just got a procal myself and set the TPMS warning threshold to 0 PSI.

TheAxe 08-22-2011 09:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by EAD Offroad
Personally I just got a procal myself and set the TPMS warning threshold to 0 PSI.

Doesn't this defeat the purpose?
:confused:
Why keep the tpms monitors at all?

EAD Offroad 08-22-2011 10:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheAxe (Post 1496362)
Doesn't this defeat the purpose?
:confused:
Why keep the tpms monitors at all?

Maybe I wasn't clear. If the OP does not have his monitors at all anymore, and does not want/care about the monitoring system, I'm suggesting it's cheaper to get a programmer and turn the system off vs. getting 5 new monitors.

Personally I sold my Rubicon wheels years ago with the sensors. With 37s you don't need a light to tell you a tire is flat :)

ESP 08-22-2011 10:46 AM

That's what I was thinking too. I don't have the sensors in my current wheels. I sold them with the last set of tires before getting my bigger ones. Will just get a pro cal and turn them off if it's almost $100 beans a sensor. :eek:

JIMBOX 08-22-2011 11:34 AM

:D--BINGO--


Quote:

Originally Posted by EAD Offroad (Post 1496356)
No those won't replace the entire monitor, that's just a kit to replace the valve stem. The actual monitor is a lot more expensive, our price is $25 less than Qtec but it's still $95 each and you need 5. OMIX-ADA Jeep JK/WK Tire Pressure Monitor

Personally I just got a procal myself and set the TPMS warning threshold to 0 PSI.

Smart move

Quote:

Originally Posted by EAD Offroad (Post 1496387)
Maybe I wasn't clear. If the OP does not have his monitors at all anymore, and does not want/care about the monitoring system, I'm suggesting it's cheaper to get a programmer and turn the system off vs. getting 5 new monitors.

Personally I sold my Rubicon wheels years ago with the sensors. With 37s you don't need a light to tell you a tire is flat :)

The AEV Procal Module is a fairly cheap "fix" for the "Defunct" TPMS system and the AEVPM has a multitude of other beneficial uses--

I've had mine for over two years and useit ALL THE TIME !!

You can even control your engine rpm, with the "Dome Light" dimmer-

Google it-

:dance::rofl: JIMBO

ESP 08-22-2011 11:41 AM

Thanks Jimbo, I'm familiar with the pro cal. It offers more for an auto tranny though but I will get one for getting the light off my dashboard. :banghead:

JIMBOX 08-22-2011 11:49 AM

:whistling: If you're familiar with the AEVPM, then you should know that, of


Quote:

Originally Posted by ESP123 (Post 1496662)
Thanks Jimbo, I'm familiar with the pro cal. It offers more for an auto tranny though but I will get one for getting the light off my dashboard. :banghead:

The eight different functions it has---modifying the auto shift points, is only ONE of those functions-all the other ones are applicable to the JK/JKU manual/auto-stock/modified and I've seen that they're available for the 2012 JK/JKUs-

:dance::rofl: JIMBO

ESP 08-22-2011 11:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JIMBOX (Post 1496687)
:whistling: If you're familiar with the AEVPM, then you should know that, of




The eight different functions it has---modifying the auto shift points, is only ONE of those functions-all the other ones are applicable to the JK/JKU manual/auto-stock/modified and I've seen that they're available for the 2012 JK/JKUs-

:dance::rofl: JIMBO

So your saying it offers ONE more thing for Autos vs Manuals. :rofl:

JIMBOX 08-22-2011 12:00 PM

:whistling: Heh Heh, you seem tobe having a serious cranium malfunction-


Quote:

Originally Posted by ESP123 (Post 1496702)
So your saying it offers ONE more thing for Autos vs Manuals. :rofl:

Unless you've had an accident, you should be able to count to twenty, without using a calculator !!

Keepyerpowderdry

:dance::rofl: JIMBO

ESP 08-22-2011 12:02 PM

So your still saying it offers more for the Autos. :rofl:

JIMBOX 08-22-2011 12:03 PM

:D--BINGO-can't fool you !


Quote:

Originally Posted by ESP123 (Post 1496725)
So your still saying it offers more for the Autos. :rofl:

:dance::rofl: JIMBO

EAD Offroad 08-22-2011 12:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JIMBOX (Post 1496636)
You can even control your engine rpm, with the "Dome Light" dimmer-
Google it-

I never knew that and I've had my procal for 3 years, I guess I should RTFM :rolleyes::D

GREEN-MACHINE 08-22-2011 12:37 PM

2 Attachment(s)
i did not need the tpms to tell me last friday morning to tell me i had a flat..... i knew right away it was flat,,,,

JIMBOX 08-22-2011 12:38 PM

:D Heh Heh, thats funny--


Quote:

Originally Posted by EAD Offroad (Post 1496801)
I never knew that and I've had my procal for 3 years, I guess I should RTFM :rolleyes::D

Yes you can control the rpm, but there's a lotta restrictions and conditions, ya gotta meet-

:dance::rofl: JIMBO

EAD Offroad 08-22-2011 12:41 PM

It's that a tire iron that killed the tire? Expensive no matter what!

ESP 08-22-2011 12:59 PM

GreenMachine,

The drive shafts you've had to replace, were they on JKs?

GREEN-MACHINE 08-22-2011 01:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ESP123 (Post 1496850)
GreenMachine,

The drive shafts you've had to replace, were they on JKs?

yes the front shaft went 3x im waitimg on my tom woods as i type this,, i need 250 bucks to order it.. i hope to pick that money up this week

Hellraiser 08-22-2011 01:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GREEN-MACHINE
i did not need the tpms to tell me last friday morning to tell me i had a flat..... i knew right away it was flat,,,,

WTF u have a crowbar in it ? Are u sure it's flat?

Hellraiser 08-22-2011 01:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GREEN-MACHINE
yes the front shaft went 3x im waitimg on my tom woods as i type this,, i need 250 bucks to order it.. i hope to pick that money up this week

Whoever showed me the Tom Woods drive shafts should be shot! Lol

GREEN-MACHINE 08-22-2011 01:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hellraiser (Post 1497084)
WTF u have a crowbar in it ? Are u sure it's flat?

its a small pry bar,,,,,,, and it was only flat on the bottom:rofl:

Hellraiser 08-22-2011 01:56 PM

Read your other post. Glad your getting a new one. Ya it's a little flat on da bottom. Lol. Don't forget to post picks of the new driveshaft so I can drool over it!

GREEN-MACHINE 08-22-2011 02:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hellraiser (Post 1497100)
Read your other post. Glad your getting a new one. Ya it's a little flat on da bottom. Lol. Don't forget to post picks of the new driveshaft so I can drool over it!

ok will do

Hellraiser 08-22-2011 02:04 PM

:doh: I think we are done here! lmao

ESP 08-22-2011 02:19 PM

Green,

What was the height of the lift on the jeep/s that had shaft failures? Also, were they 2 door or 4?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 AM.