Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/)
-   -   Oil leak and fuel pump issues (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/oil-leak-and-fuel-pump-issues-116321.html)

dakid1102 10-05-2011 09:18 PM

Oil leak and fuel pump issues

ok so im new here...i have no mechanical experience ...just brought a 89 wranlger laredo (6cyl) from one of my marine buddies....it has an oil leak and he told me its because the fuel pump is bad....it stalls while its idling in neutral and if i dont keep giving it gas it does it while shifting gears....i plan on working on it myself to gain some mech. experience and to save some money...im not entirely sure where the fuel pump is if i have to replace it....cmon guys help me out

Nubby55 10-05-2011 10:03 PM

Fuel pump is on the right side of the engine, about half way back, if you have never changed one make sure the pump arm go back on the cam like it comes off, over / under whichever don't force it. the best to gain mech. knowledge is to buy a manual and follow instructions.

kik 10-06-2011 06:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dakid1102 (Post 1631269)
ok so im new here...i have no mechanical experience ...just brought a 89 wranlger laredo (6cyl) from one of my marine buddies....it has an oil leak and he told me its because the fuel pump is bad....it stalls while its idling in neutral and if i dont keep giving it gas it does it while shifting gears....i plan on working on it myself to gain some mech. experience and to save some money...im not entirely sure where the fuel pump is if i have to replace it....cmon guys help me out