Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Upgrade to RBZ Radio? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/upgrade-to-rbz-radio-119821.html)

ngiovas 10-27-2011 01:00 PM

Upgrade to RBZ Radio?
 
This is my first post. I am getting ready to pull the trigger on a 2012 JKU in the coming weeks, but I am trying to decide the exact options that I want. This will be my second Jeep. The first was an '83 CJ7 that I sold in '92. I can't believe how much Jeeps have changed since then.

I really want to get a touch screen radio with My Gig, but I don't want to pay extra for the Nav feature. I was considering purchasing the Sahara with the stock radio and adding the UConnect option for bluetooth. I then would swap the stock head unit for an RBZ touchscreen radio which does not have Nav.

My question is, is this a plug and play swap if I get the correct unit? Will I maintain the bluetooth and Sirius satellite radio without having to buy additional equipment? Is there anything else I need to buy?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. This would be much easier if Jeep let us order the touchscreen unit without Nav.

thanks in advance,

Nick

rivershark2005 10-27-2011 01:04 PM

While I'm not familiar with RBZ, I can answer a few of your other questions.

It's not exactly plug and play. There are some modifications to the mounting system that have to be made. Atleast that's how it was on the '08s and '09s I've worked on.

If you update to an aftermarket headunit, you will lose factory bluetooth and satellite radio. To maintain these, you would need to buy extra equipment. In doing so, you would also lose your factory subscription to Sirius. They aren't going to port your free trial over to your new equipment.

Edit: Okay, I looked up RBZ and see that it's an older factory option. You might not have to modify anything to install it. It might be plug and play, it might not be. I wouldn't know without having it in my hands to do the install myself.

You may be able to keep the factory Bluetooth and satellite radio but I wouldn't count on it.

mikemounlio 10-27-2011 03:04 PM

if you want all the options to work then you should just buy a new radio that has all the options in it.

ngiovas 10-27-2011 03:11 PM

I would if it was available. They don't sell a touch screen radio without Nav on the 2012 Wrangler Unlimited. The RBZ radio is exactly what I am looking for, but they won't let me order it with my vehicle. I want to find out how to add it after I purchase the vehicle.

The Nav radio is $1200 - $1800. The RBZ can be found for $400 - $500.

xsdbs 10-27-2011 06:58 PM

I believe that If you get the single disc radio and Uconnect is installed already, you will be able to remove the radio and plug in an RBZ. I will check with a Chrysler contact and get back with you.



Quote:

Originally Posted by ngiovas (Post 1696665)
I would if it was available. They don't sell a touch screen radio without Nav on the 2012 Wrangler Unlimited. The RBZ radio is exactly what I am looking for, but they won't let me order it with my vehicle. I want to find out how to add it after I purchase the vehicle.

The Nav radio is $1200 - $1800. The RBZ can be found for $400 - $500.


nwbronco 10-27-2011 07:04 PM

Pretty much all of the radio units are interchangeable I believe. I just swapped an '11 RER into my '07 with the stock RES unit. Bolted right up. Harness plugged right in. I needed to add the GPS antenna. And the U-connect mic is next. Works fine.

Bob K.

ngiovas 10-27-2011 08:12 PM

Thanks for the replies. That is what I needed to know.

xsdbs 10-28-2011 09:21 AM

just looked at a schematic and there's no difference in the connectors. The only thing that you need to make sure is about the CAN speed. The wrangler has high speed CAN (communication lines for the computers & modules). Just need to make sure that you buy a radio from another HS CAN vehicle.




Quote:

Originally Posted by ngiovas (Post 1697479)
Thanks for the replies. That is what I needed to know.


ngiovas 10-28-2011 09:27 PM

Thanks xsdbs. I will make sure I look for a radio from a vehicle with high speed bus.

xsdbs 10-29-2011 08:50 AM

you are welcome, glad that I could help.


Quote:

Originally Posted by ngiovas (Post 1700962)
Thanks xsdbs. I will make sure I look for a radio from a vehicle with high speed bus.


lighthorse 10-29-2011 09:08 AM

I swapped in an RBZ into my 2010 Sahara with satelitte and uconnect, while I was at it I also put in a rear view camera. Everything works as it is supposed to. It was plug and play. I don't know about the 2012 mounts though.

Lighthorse

xsdbs 10-30-2011 11:19 AM

They're the same (as long as you get a high speed radio)


Quote:

Originally Posted by lighthorse (Post 1701836)
I swapped in an RBZ into my 2010 Sahara with satelitte and uconnect, while I was at it I also put in a rear view camera. Everything works as it is supposed to. It was plug and play. I don't know about the 2012 mounts though.

Lighthorse


ngiovas 11-02-2011 09:51 AM

I ordered my JKU on Monday, so I decided to start looking for an RBZ radio. I found a brand new one for $275. The person selling it had bought it brand new for his Chrysler 300 not knowing he had a low speed bus in his car. They wouldn't allow him to return the radio because he didn't try to install it for a couple of months. He said several people told him they wanted it, but never followed through with the purchase. He accepted my low offer just so he could finally get rid of it and get some of his money back.

I'm taking a bit of a risk since I didn't have a vehicle to test it on, but the guy seemed really honest, so I trusted him and figured it was worth the risk.

Thanks again for the help on converting to this radio.

Nick

xsdbs 11-03-2011 07:41 AM

Hello Nick,
Just to make things clear, your new vehicle is coming with a non touch screen radio and also with Uconnect installed. Is this correct? If so then this will be a plug n play setup. If not then you will need to add the Uconnect module, mic & harness.




Quote:

Originally Posted by ngiovas (Post 1712933)
I ordered my JKU on Monday, so I decided to start looking for an RBZ radio. I found a brand new one for $275. The person selling it had bought it brand new for his Chrysler 300 not knowing he had a low speed bus in his car. They wouldn't allow him to return the radio because he didn't try to install it for a couple of months. He said several people told him they wanted it, but never followed through with the purchase. He accepted my low offer just so he could finally get rid of it and get some of his money back.

I'm taking a bit of a risk since I didn't have a vehicle to test it on, but the guy seemed really honest, so I trusted him and figured it was worth the risk.

Thanks again for the help on converting to this radio.

Nick


ngiovas 11-03-2011 08:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by xsdbs (Post 1716096)
Hello Nick,
Just to make things clear, your new vehicle is coming with a non touch screen radio and also with Uconnect installed. Is this correct? If so then this will be a plug n play setup. If not then you will need to add the Uconnect module, mic & harness.

Yes, I ordered the Uconnect option with the vehicle. I figured it would be easier (and cheaper) to just have this done at the factory.

xsdbs 11-03-2011 12:01 PM

good, then you will be good to go.


Quote:

Originally Posted by ngiovas (Post 1716134)
Yes, I ordered the Uconnect option with the vehicle. I figured it would be easier (and cheaper) to just have this done at the factory.


sdewey 02-03-2012 07:02 AM

Hey gents along this line, I have the 2011 Wrangler with the Garmin 430 (RBZ) or not sure if RBN (430N), but this did not come with rear view camera (dealer said can't do this because of the, get this, spare tire.. Says need a special modification harness to connect, blah blah blah...
What do I need to install the rear view camera on this.. i.e. do I need a special harness... I don't want a pop up monitor.. I want it simply to show up on the screen like it would in the new Grand Cherokee.

Matador 02-03-2012 03:09 PM

Please keep us posted when you get the Jeep. I'm the same boat and would probably go down the same road, thanks.

ngiovas 02-03-2012 09:53 PM

You will need a Lockpick to use the camera. With the newer version, you can actually hook up cameras on the front, rear and two sides. You can also program them to turn on when you hit a button, or automatically. For example, the reverse camera will turn on when the car is shifted into reverse and the front camera will turn on when the car slows down.

The RBZ doesn't have nav, so I am guessing it is an RBN.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.