Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   ARB compressor and switches (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/arb-compressor-and-switches-12177.html)

nicolas-eric 10-07-2007 01:19 PM

ARB compressor and switches
 
hello,

i just ordered two ARB lockers and an ARB compressor.

the lockers will be installed in a jeep garage, but to save some money i want to install the wires, hoses, switches and the compressor before.

where did you mount your ARB compressor and the switches?
is there some place under the hood for the compressor?
please show some pics !!!

thanks in advance.
nicolas-eric :wavey:

Texapple 10-07-2007 08:14 PM

mounted on the tray under the hood, driver's side
sorry, Nic no pics tonight....maybe tomorrow :)

y0diggy 10-07-2007 08:28 PM

Yep. Drivers side under the hood. A little dirty but you get the point.
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h2...l/100_5034.jpg
And my switches are located just below the cigarette lighter.
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h2...l/100_5024.jpg


Hope this helps.

rketr 10-07-2007 11:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by y0diggy (Post 146707)
Yep. Drivers side under the hood. A little dirty but you get the point.
http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h2...l/100_5034.jpg

*2 for that one.

And for the switches (a little off camera -- to the right, but you get the picture):
http://3cranch.org/oddpics/clutchinterlock/IMG_1252.jpg

nicolas-eric 10-08-2007 02:07 AM

thanks. the compressor will fit in my jeep at the same place.
but the switches don´t. any idea where i could mount them?

here are pics where my actual switches are:

http://jeep.cfasp.de/upload/615127.jpg

AzTJ 10-08-2007 03:15 AM

I've seen someone mount their switches to a panel that is at the top of the windshield. I don't know if it was home made or purchased, but it looked really cool.

Levinoss 10-08-2007 03:57 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Could also do a custom job on the console. I know someone on here posted a picture they custom modded buttons on the console.


EDIT: NVM it was you who did that to their console. (I should read all the posts before I post)

I know odhinn put his switch for his electric fan under his driver side dash. Plenty of room under there.

~Lev

Levinoss 10-08-2007 04:13 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Could you just install a second row of switches?

~Lev

nicolas-eric 10-08-2007 09:50 AM

thanks for your answers.

i think i´ll install the switches on the center console. next to the handbrake above the cup-holders.

is it easy to install the cables, switches and the compressor?
if i do this before i bring it to the shop where they install the gears/lockers i will save +250$ for the installation.

Levinoss 10-08-2007 10:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nicolas-eric (Post 146844)
thanks for your answers.

i think i´ll install the switches on the center console. next to the handbrake above the cup-holders.

NP, I was actually going to suggest that but didn't think it would be a good spot because cups or something would be more likely to hit the switches and turn the lockers on or what not in that area. /shrug


~Lev

nicolas-eric 10-08-2007 10:26 AM

i think it´s a good spot. i can reach the switches fast and without leaning forward.

do you know if there is enough room at this place in the center console for the switches? i have the console with the subwoofer inside.

i saw that there are two ARB compressors.

normal:
http://www.4wd.com/productdetails.as...7&partID=10255

and compact:
http://www.4wd.com/productdetails.as...7&partID=12820

will both fit on the drivers side fender?

is the normal one strong enough to fill up some tires with it.
i couldn´t find technical facts about that compressors.

Levinoss 10-08-2007 10:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nicolas-eric (Post 146851)
i think it´s a good spot. i can reach the switches fast and without leaning forward.

do you know if there is enough room at this place in the center console for the switches? i have the console with the subwoofer inside.

Depends on how big the switch is on the side you wont see. You know youv got a ton of switches! It's going to look like a jet cockpit if you install anymore!

http://www.coi.gov.uk/images/jet3.jpg

~Lev

nicolas-eric 10-08-2007 10:43 AM

:D ... and i have 3 more switches right beside the TC shifter... :D



i just found the new ARB high output compressor. it has enough power to fill up 35s vera fast and costs only 40$ more than the normal ARB compressor:

http://www.4by4connection.com/arbhiouairco.html
http://www.arbusa.com/air_compressor/specifications.pdf

i think i´ll order this one instead of the little normal compressor.

tazmann910 10-08-2007 11:33 AM

holy crap is that wood chips in your floor board? And do I see a Golf tee?

:rofl::rofl:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Levinoss (Post 146814)
Could also do a custom job on the console. I know someone on here posted a picture they custom modded buttons on the console.


EDIT: NVM it was you who did that to their console. (I should read all the posts before I post)

I know odhinn put his switch for his electric fan under his driver side dash. Plenty of room under there.

~Lev


Levinoss 10-08-2007 11:38 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by tazmann910 (Post 146878)
holy crap is that wood chips in your floor board? And do I see a Golf tee?

:rofl::rofl:

LMAO, just random pic I got off the net for console.

My baby only gets dirty on the trail then gets a rub down when she gets home.

~Lev

tazmann910 10-08-2007 11:42 AM

Same here Lev, spent 2 hours cleaning mine yesterday after coming back from Tellico. It was a dust bowl. I had enough dirt inside to grow plants. Another White jeep...sweet.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Levinoss (Post 146880)
LMAO, just random pic I got off the net for console.

My baby only gets dirty on the trail then gets a rub down when she gets home.

~Lev


nicolas-eric 10-08-2007 05:02 PM

what´s the size of the three ARB switches?
i want to install them there, but will they fit?

http://jeep.cfasp.de/upload/618160.jpg

Triple88a 10-08-2007 07:13 PM

post 17...But then there you have to check if they are lit or not.. How about placing them in front of the auto shifter right under your radio?

nicolas-eric 10-08-2007 07:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triple88a (Post 147134)
How about placing them in front of the auto shifter right under your radio?

there´s not enough room for the switches.

http://jeep.cfasp.de/upload/618200.jpg

Triple88a 10-08-2007 07:42 PM

On my TJ there is a hole that the owner before me made thats cut into the plastic under the cigarette lighter/right over your cb radio.

4Jeepn 10-08-2007 07:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nicolas-eric (Post 147017)
what´s the size of the three ARB switches?
i want to install them there, but will they fit?

http://jeep.cfasp.de/upload/618160.jpg

Yes they will fit there, had a buddy of mine use that location. AEV made a insert for a location under the insterment panel, key side, but I think its only for one arb switch and the compressor. Below is a pic of mine to give you an idea of size of switches, not the best pic, sorry.

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h9...k/100_1592.jpg

Triple88a 10-08-2007 07:56 PM

looking at that picture from post 19 seems like you can make a little box that goes on top of the CB and add switches to it so it all lines up. If nothing works then rip out the stock cdplayer/radio and put the switches in there.

nicolas-eric 10-08-2007 09:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triple88a (Post 147152)
If nothing works then rip out the stock cdplayer/radio and put the switches in there.

it´s a DD and i NEED the cd player... :flipoff:

nicolas-eric 10-08-2007 09:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4Jeepn (Post 147147)
Yes they will fit there, had a buddy of mine use that location.

do you have pics?
how big are the switches on the rear?

:wavey:

quadna71 10-09-2007 12:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AzTJ (Post 146813)
I've seen someone mount their switches to a panel that is at the top of the windshield. I don't know if it was home made or purchased, but it looked really cool.

that is where i mounted my compressor and locker switch. '03 and later TJ's have a plastic-cladded interior windshield frame - part of federal head impact laws. anyways, it worked well for mounting my switches. they are centered right above the mirror with the wiring snaking down the left side of the frame (under that plastic as well). there is more than enough length in the ARB harness to reach from the compressor (if mounted on the ABS plate) to reach up to there.
chris

nicolas-eric 10-09-2007 11:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by quadna71 (Post 147230)
that is where i mounted my compressor and locker switch. '03 and later TJ's have a plastic-cladded interior windshield frame - part of federal head impact laws. anyways, it worked well for mounting my switches. they are centered right above the mirror with the wiring snaking down the left side of the frame (under that plastic as well). there is more than enough length in the ARB harness to reach from the compressor (if mounted on the ABS plate) to reach up to there.
chris

are you sure that the wires are long enough?

did you mount the switches in the stock plastic housing on the windshield?

how did you get this plastic thing off the windshield? i cpoulodn´t find some bolts ot something like similiar.

emills 10-09-2007 11:31 AM

You could also buy or try to fab up putting them over the rear view mirror like the sPod (http://www.4x4spod.com)

http://www.4x4s-pod.com/images/6_Switch_Installed_5.jpg

nicolas-eric 10-12-2007 09:47 AM

what´s the size of the switches? will they fit here over the mirrow?

http://jeep.cfasp.de/upload/621809.jpg

4Jeepn 10-12-2007 05:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nicolas-eric (Post 147170)
do you have pics?
how big are the switches on the rear?

:wavey:


Don't have any pic's. The other thing you may want to consider: you should be able to reach the switch at any time. For example your in an off camber, the seat belt has you pinned back.. can you reach your locker switch or not?

erickpl 10-15-2007 09:17 AM

The higher output compressor really won't help you with 35's. :) I have it and it doesn't do much at all. I just carry a CO2 tank for that.

Regardless of what ARB says, it is VERY slow and you will prematurely wear the compressor. If you DO get it, deflate a tire and see how long it takes to air one up and let us know.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.