Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Speedo gear swap (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/speedo-gear-swap-122002.html)

jeepchimp 11-09-2011 08:51 PM

Speedo gear swap
 
Hey guys,

I have an 02 TJ that runs 33' tires on 4.56 gears.
According to this http://jeep-xj.info/HowtoSpeedoGears.htm
I need a 39 tooth speedo gear.

My question is, how do I find a speedo gear for my specific vehicle? Are they all the same? For instance, would this one fit?
SPEEDO DRIVEN GEAR 39 TOOTH 200 200C 350 350C 400 700R4 | eBay

distortedtj 11-09-2011 08:56 PM

CLICK ME >>>>> http://www.wranglerforum.com/f105/sp...ge-121033.html


And NO...all speedo gears are not the same. The one you linked is for a automatic OLD chevy transmissions.
You can get the correct speedo gears at the dealership but they run around $80 from them. You can find them online for around $25 to $30.

InvertChaos 11-09-2011 08:57 PM

Here is one that will work for you.

PPR Industries 30910639 - 39 Tooth Speedometer Gear for 93-06 Jeep® Vehicles - Quadratec

jeepchimp 11-09-2011 09:04 PM

Perfect. Thanks yall.

Xverrowx 11-09-2011 09:43 PM

Hey a better option is a digital speedo correct. I got one a couple weeks ago for my LJ and it works great. Check out bluemonkeymotorsports.com if you might be interested. It took about 5 minutes to put in then all you need to do is use a GPS to see how much your speedo is off at 60 mph. The instructions give you a percent value to enter into the controller and you're done. If you ever change gears or tire size you don't need to buy another gear just reprogram your controller.

jeepchimp 11-09-2011 10:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xverrowx (Post 1733751)
Hey a better option is a digital speedo correct. I got one a couple weeks ago for my LJ and it works great. Check out bluemonkeymotorsports.com if you might be interested. It took about 5 minutes to put in then all you need to do is use a GPS to see how much your speedo is off at 60 mph. The instructions give you a percent value to enter into the controller and you're done. If you ever change gears or tire size you don't need to buy another gear just reprogram your controller.

Oh I already have a GPS that tells me how fast I'm going. And it's pretty damn accurate as I have tested it in my other two cars. I just want my speedometer to not show I'm going 90 when it's actually 65

Wesboy 11-10-2011 02:23 AM

When you get the speedo gear, grab a rubber O ring for it as well. You may not need it but I broke mine when replacing the speedo gear and it's only a cupla bucks.

Xverrowx 11-10-2011 09:27 AM

I guess I did a bad job of explaining. You only need to use your GPS once. When I fixed mine I went 60 according to the GPS and my speedo read 55. From there I programmed into the digital speedo correct that my speed was off by 9.1% (a number you get right off the instructions) and that takes care of the problem. I don't need to use the GPS all of the time just that one time. Now my speed and odometer are correct. If I ever change tire size again or gear ratios I just need to reprogram and I'm done. No buying and swapping more speedo gears. Check out the web site I mentioned for a better explanation. It's called Heal-Tech

NHrubicon 11-10-2011 09:30 AM

I have an 03 TJ automatic, and when I went up to 33" tires noticed the speedometer was off...so I got a deal on a Superchip, which will automatically program the computer for the size tires, type of driving (trailer pulling, highway, etc.) and had that done.
Made all the difference. No need to change the speedo gear.

InvertChaos 11-10-2011 02:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xverrowx
I guess I did a bad job of explaining. You only need to use your GPS once. When I fixed mine I went 60 according to the GPS and my speedo read 55. From there I programmed into the digital speedo correct that my speed was off by 9.1% (a number you get right off the instructions) and that takes care of the problem. I don't need to use the GPS all of the time just that one time. Now my speed and odometer are correct. If I ever change tire size again or gear ratios I just need to reprogram and I'm done. No buying and swapping more speedo gears. Check out the web site I mentioned for a better explanation. It's called Heal-Tech

Quote:

Originally Posted by NHrubicon
I have an 03 TJ automatic, and when I went up to 33" tires noticed the speedometer was off...so I got a deal on a Superchip, which will automatically program the computer for the size tires, type of driving (trailer pulling, highway, etc.) and had that done.
Made all the difference. No need to change the speedo gear.

I believe you can only use a programmer on a Rubicon or any JK. The OP has a TJ.

Xverrowx 11-10-2011 06:46 PM

i did it to mine and i have a TJ Unlimited, its not a Rubicon.

distortedtj 11-10-2011 11:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by InvertChaos (Post 1735239)
I believe you can only use a programmer on a Rubicon or any JK. The OP has a TJ.

See below...

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xverrowx (Post 1735935)
i did it to mine and i have a TJ Unlimited, its not a Rubicon.

All wranglers can use the programers to correct the speedo.

RUBICON MODELS...with the 241 transfer case do NOT have a speed gear but instead use a tone ring. To correct this you can only 1) use a programmer/eletric wire in calibration box. OR, 2) Have the computer reflashed/programmed to correct the speedo.


If you click the link in the 2nd post you will see that the gear swap is less than 5min job to complete and anyone can do it. You can also use a programmer.

The big differances....
Programmers can be pricey. But you can reset them for different tire size/gears.
Speedo gear swap ...not to Pricey but you will have to change it again "IF" you every change gears or tire size again.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.