Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   97 jeep wrangler tj injector issue (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/97-jeep-wrangler-tj-injector-issue-126733.html)

Negat Corpen 12-09-2011 02:00 PM

97 jeep wrangler tj injector issue

I am new to this but here is my problem if you can help. I put a new engine in my 97 jeep 2.5 and now the injectors wont pulse i have checked grounds, relays, also power to the injectors the wierd parts is if i turn the key on and hook a volt meter from the battery positive to the black and green wire on the number 1 injector i get 12v. it doesnt sound right because i thought ground was supposed to pulse.

Jerry Bransford 12-09-2011 02:08 PM

The ground is indeed supposed to pulse, as is the ground for the ignition coil. I'd be suspicious of something like the crankshaft position sensor not working which the PCM requires before it will enable the ignition and fuel injection systems. If the PCM isn't happy with all of its various inputs it monitors, it won't enable the fuel injectors or ignition system. Check the camshaft position sensor too if the crankshaft position sensor is good. If the ASD (auto shut down) relay is not enabled by the PCM, nothing like the fuel injectors and ignition system will work, it is the ASD relay that controls them and it is controlled by the PCM.

Negat Corpen 12-09-2011 02:10 PM

the thing is i have spark to all my cyclinders my dad put a header on it and it melted the wires to the crank sensor so we butt connected the wires back together but know that i had the motor out i soldered the wires and heat shrink them could that cause problems

Jerry Bransford 12-09-2011 02:17 PM