Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   Anyone have an inverter? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/anyone-have-an-inverter-128389.html)

jstone326 12-19-2011 07:14 AM

Anyone have an inverter?
 
I want to get an inverter, and I was looking at the Cobra 1000W one. Has anyone put in an inverter? Where did you mount it? I have the top off for 7 or 8 months out of the year, so it needs to be somewhere where it won't get wet.

Thanks

IncendiaryWit 12-20-2011 11:16 PM

I have a 400W one mounted under the steering column, however I'm not done with it. I intend to have outlets ran to the right side of the gear selector...but my lazy ass will most likely run extension cables to the center console. There was a guide on here somewhere that I used for a guideline...... if I can find it I'll link you.

jstone326 01-03-2012 08:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by IncendiaryWit (Post 1845904)
I have a 400W one mounted under the steering column, however I'm not done with it. I intend to have outlets ran to the right side of the gear selector...but my lazy ass will most likely run extension cables to the center console. There was a guide on here somewhere that I used for a guideline...... if I can find it I'll link you.

I guess that's a good way to do it... How much can you do with 400W?

KrzyMoke 01-03-2012 09:32 PM

Be sure not to buy a modified sine wave. That way when you forget about the type you have, you can plug computers, phones and anything else sensitive and won't have any issues. They are a little more but better for sensitive electronics. Least that is what I am doing. I always have a computer or something to upload my pics to and I also have a GPS connected to my laptop. Love to map out all my travels.

jstone326 01-03-2012 09:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KrzyMoke (Post 1885611)
Be sure not to buy a modified sine wave. That way when you forget about the type you have, you can plug computers, phones and anything else sensitive and won't have any issues. They are a little more but better for sensitive electronics. Least that is what I am doing. I always have a computer or something to upload my pics to and I also have a GPS connected to my laptop. Love to map out all my travels.

Well, this is the one I was looking at: https://www.cobra.com/detail/cpi-100...t-inverter.cfm

And I don't even have a laptop, so I won't need to be worried about that... I really wanted it so when I go on offroading trips, I can bring my impact wrench and compressor and any other corded tools...

edit: Though I just looked again at the description of that Cobra, and it looks like it would be fine anyways... here is part of the description:

"This inverter provides household power on the go! It converts battery power to 120 V AC household power, allowing you to power up office equipment and household appliances from your vehicle. Direct-to- battery cables are included. This unit is ideal for laptops, TV sets, video games, CD players, DVD players, cellular phone chargers, and much more!"

dutch169 01-03-2012 11:17 PM

I'm about to do this (maybe tomorrow). I was going to mount it insided the glove box. I was thinking of cutting out the pocket part so the door was flat. After that mounting it to the door (haven't figured it out yet). Got this inverter from Harbor Freight ( http://www.harborfreight.com/750-wat...ter-66817.html ). Using 2 gauge wire ( 6 Ft. 300 Amp Inverter Cable Set ) and this soleniod ( Amtek SAS 42-02) I got on amazon and this circuit breaker ( http://www.amazon.com/200-HIGH-POWER...5407056&sr=1-3). Theirs a whole write up on another site but I'm not sure if I'm allowed to link it here.
Run the ground from the battery to inverter. Run power from battery to solenoid to circuit breaker to to inverter with the 2 gauge wire. Use 14 gauge wire to switch. Hoping to get it done tomorrow.

KrzyMoke 01-03-2012 11:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jstone326 (Post 1885677)
Well, this is the one I was looking at: https://www.cobra.com/detail/cpi-100...t-inverter.cfm

And I don't even have a laptop, so I won't need to be worried about that... I really wanted it so when I go on offroading trips, I can bring my impact wrench and compressor and any other corded tools...

edit: Though I just looked again at the description of that Cobra, and it looks like it would be fine anyways... here is part of the description:

"This inverter provides household power on the go! It converts battery power to 120 V AC household power, allowing you to power up office equipment and household appliances from your vehicle. Direct-to- battery cables are included. This unit is ideal for laptops, TV sets, video games, CD players, DVD players, cellular phone chargers, and much more!"

I read the manual and it is a modified one but since your not worried about that then it's all good. I like that it is a 1K model. Can plug in some "BFT" Big Frickin Tools :)

jstone326 01-04-2012 03:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dutch169 (Post 1885969)
I'm about to do this (maybe tomorrow). I was going to mount it insided the glove box. I was thinking of cutting out the pocket part so the door was flat. After that mounting it to the door (haven't figured it out yet). Got this inverter from Harbor Freight ( 12V Power Inverter - 1500 Watts Max ). Using 2 gauge wire ( 6 Ft. 300 Amp Inverter Cable Set ) and this soleniod ( Amtek SAS 42-02) I got on amazon and this circuit breaker ( Amazon.com: 200 AMP 12V HIGH POWER CIRCUIT BREAKER: Electronics). Theirs a whole write up on another site but I'm not sure if I'm allowed to link it here.
Run the ground from the battery to inverter. Run power from battery to solenoid to circuit breaker to to inverter with the 2 gauge wire. Use 14 gauge wire to switch. Hoping to get it done tomorrow.

You can definitely post a link, as long as you're not trying to sell anything w/o being a vendor


Quote:

Originally Posted by KrzyMoke (Post 1886063)
I read the manual and it is a modified one but since your not worried about that then it's all good. I like that it is a 1K model. Can plug in some "BFT" Big Frickin Tools :)

That's the plan! lol

dutch169 01-04-2012 04:25 PM

I didn't get the inverter in but kind of got a plan together. Thinking of mounting the circuit breaker on top of the fuse box on the engine compartment. From their run the positive/negative wires ( 2 gauge) into the vehicle behind the glove box. Mount the solenoid behind the glove box and run the positve/negative wires to the inverter mounted on the door of the glove box. From the solenoid running a wire (14 gauge) to my daystar switch. Still not sure if it will work but going to try.

http://i1034.photobucket.com/albums/...p/inverter.jpg

jstone326 01-04-2012 07:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dutch169 (Post 1887978)
I didn't get the inverter in but kind of got a plan together. Thinking of mounting the circuit breaker on top of the fuse box on the engine compartment. From their run the positive/negative wires ( 2 gauge) into the vehicle behind the glove box. Mount the solenoid behind the glove box and run the positve/negative wires to the inverter mounted on the door of the glove box. From the solenoid running a wire (14 gauge) to my daystar switch. Still not sure if it will work but going to try.

cool... so I'm guessing you need a circuit breaker and solenoid? Which I guess don't come with the inverter?

dutch169 01-04-2012 08:06 PM

Nope. Purchased it all separetly. I'm not good with electrical stuff. The guy who did the write up is and alot of people followed it without any problems. Here's this link to it. Its from an Xterra site (which I also own and doing this too).
Clean 110volt outlets wired inside/outside the Xterra (Done) - Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums (2005+)

Project: OR with Tech Package Inverter - Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums (2005+)

GoldenSahara00 01-04-2012 08:12 PM

I guess I don't need to go as hardcore as some, but run cellphone charges, that kinda stuff off of a 30 buck one I got from walmart. I have another inverter in my garage but dont really need something of that power. I will wait for OBA for tools :D

jstone326 01-04-2012 09:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoldenSahara00 (Post 1888848)
I guess I don't need to go as hardcore as some, but run cellphone charges, that kinda stuff off of a 30 buck one I got from walmart. I have another inverter in my garage but dont really need something of that power. I will wait for OBA for tools :D

Well that's why I get cigarette-lighter chargers :)

jstone326 01-04-2012 09:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dutch169 (Post 1888817)
Nope. Purchased it all separetly. I'm not good with electrical stuff. The guy who did the write up is and alot of people followed it without any problems. Here's this link to it. Its from an Xterra site (which I also own and doing this too).
Clean 110volt outlets wired inside/outside the Xterra (Done) - Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums (2005+)

Project: OR with Tech Package Inverter - Second Generation Nissan Xterra Forums (2005+)

Those writeups are good! Especially the first one... Now I get the point of the solenoid/circuit breaker... basically if you mount the inverter in a hard to reach place, it simply allows you to turn it on and off easily... as I doubt I will find a suitable accessible place to put it, I'll probably end up doing the same...

dutch169 01-04-2012 09:16 PM

That site is awesome. Lots of good info on it even if you don't have an Xterra.

jstone326 01-04-2012 09:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dutch169 (Post 1889134)
That site is awesome. Lots of good info on it even if you don't have an Xterra.

Well, forums are awesome! :punk:

GoldenSahara00 01-05-2012 08:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jstone326

Well that's why I get cigarette-lighter chargers :)

Yeah that's what I'm talking about. I'm actually running a small sub off of one right now. :thumb:

kps 01-05-2012 09:18 PM

you want to run a compressor off a small inverter? whats the draw? is it a small compressor?

I have a 750 watt I use by hooking to my battery & have used it thousands of hours over the last 10 or so years, it doesnt like my electric chainsaw, & barely my reciprocating saw. I know electric chain saw, but I wont allow my wife to use a gas saw, & feel the electric is more controlable & she can drive her truck where she needs to & plug in when she needs to for a downed limb or tree to clear the driveway, or other.

I hope your compressor is pulling under 9 amps? & starting amps load wont pop its internal fuse? I have had to replace my internal fuses at least 4 times, 2 times because I tried to hook it up backwards to my tractor, & it has a red ground & a black positive wire. one of these days I will get new battery cables in correct color for that thing, probably next time I pop my internal fuses.

1 friend tried to hook it to a big compressor 4 hp he said it ran a few pumps & quit & wife hooked it up wrong 1 time.

also I have seen a friend that had one, he was building a hunting shed in woods, pulled trigger on circular saw & blew his alternator. he replaced it with a heavy duty alternator.

Randy

jstone326 01-06-2012 07:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kps (Post 1892477)
you want to run a compressor off a small inverter? whats the draw? is it a small compressor?

I have a 750 watt I use by hooking to my battery & have used it thousands of hours over the last 10 or so years, it doesnt like my electric chainsaw, & barely my reciprocating saw. I know electric chain saw, but I wont allow my wife to use a gas saw, & feel the electric is more controlable & she can drive her truck where she needs to & plug in when she needs to for a downed limb or tree to clear the driveway, or other.

I hope your compressor is pulling under 9 amps? & starting amps load wont pop its internal fuse? I have had to replace my internal fuses at least 4 times, 2 times because I tried to hook it up backwards to my tractor, & it has a red ground & a black positive wire. one of these days I will get new battery cables in correct color for that thing, probably next time I pop my internal fuses.

1 friend tried to hook it to a big compressor 4 hp he said it ran a few pumps & quit & wife hooked it up wrong 1 time.

also I have seen a friend that had one, he was building a hunting shed in woods, pulled trigger on circular saw & blew his alternator. he replaced it with a heavy duty alternator.

Randy

Yeah its a real small compressor, basically just for airing up tires... I'll check the draw on it to make sure it okay though... thanks!

IncendiaryWit 01-06-2012 09:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jstone326

I guess that's a good way to do it... How much can you do with 400W?

I've only used it for phones or games like a psp to keep the younger ones happy. Much easier than buying seperate car chargers for everything.

jstone326 01-06-2012 09:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by IncendiaryWit (Post 1893964)
I've only used it for phones or games like a psp to keep the younger ones happy. Much easier than buying seperate car chargers for everything.

gotcha... did you find that link to that writeup?

IncendiaryWit 01-07-2012 09:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jstone326

gotcha... did you find that link to that writeup?

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f140/...xample-598863/

dutch169 01-07-2012 09:45 AM

I saw that write up. My problem is the location of the inverter. My 97 has a metal shield/cover under the streering colum. I don't know if I have room to put mine in that location. Also, I'm not running it to an outlet. I may just run and extension cord to the rear in case I need it back their. Or just may keep the cord in the trunk when I need it.

jstone326 01-07-2012 10:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by IncendiaryWit (Post 1896955)

Cool! thanks!... that's a good writeup... I like that location for it, because as I said in my original post, I need it to be out of the rain when the top is off, I'll probably just buy the inverter and then see where I can squeeze it in

dutch169 01-08-2012 07:12 PM

Hope to get min in tomorrow.

dutch169 01-09-2012 08:00 PM

Got to put in today. Ran into a few problems but all done. Not the prettiest install but I was more concerned about the wiring then appearance. I can fix that later.

1. I took the glove box off and removed the storage area.
http://i1034.photobucket.com/albums/...r/6caf685c.jpg

2. Cut a piece of 12x12 sheet metal in half. I then cut out a 2 inch piece on the top center to fit the locking mechanism (circled red). I also used the holes on the glove box (circled in red) to secure the base. This later turns out to be a problem. The metal hangs to far down and hits against the bottom of the dash board. I then had to cut it again and put more holes onto the glove door.
http://i1034.photobucket.com/albums/...r/33cfe972.jpg
In this pic you can see the bottom holes moved up. I used 1/4 coupling nuts to give lift the base up and even with the locking mechanism.
http://i1034.photobucket.com/albums/...r/1b3ab62f.jpg

3. I used a strip of heavy duty velcro and zip ties to hold the onverter down. Fixing this later but a useful mock up.
http://i1034.photobucket.com/albums/...r/e43f02e5.jpg

I mounted the solenoid to the engine compartment (forgot to take picture but can see it later) and the circuit breaker to the fuse box cover.
http://i1034.photobucket.com/albums/...r/c8489954.jpg

4. Now for wiring. I went through the rubber boot that leads into the interior. Ran the positive/negative wires (also the ground switch for the solenoid ). Its up under the center of the dash. Ran the wire behind the dash and to the inverter.
http://i1034.photobucket.com/albums/...r/d00defb3.jpg

5. Ran the positive wire to the solenoid (blue line). Then ran the positive wire to the circuit breaker. While wiring the positive to the circuit breaker I put the jump wire into the connection to make it easier and cleaner (circled in red) and connected the ground switch (yellow line).
http://i1034.photobucket.com/albums/...r/3d137614.jpg

6. I connected the solenoid positive wire to the circuit breaker then to the positive side of the battery. Also connected the negative line to the negative side of the battery.
http://i1034.photobucket.com/albums/...r/42bfc820.jpg

7. Ran the gound to a switch and then grounded that. Hit the switch and everything worked. Tested it with an angle grinder.

Finished product.
http://i1034.photobucket.com/albums/...r/3fd06d3a.jpg

http://i1034.photobucket.com/albums/...r/573fbbe2.jpg

Only problem I had was the glove box door. The mounting I am going to clean up later. I have Daystar switches and trying to figure out how to get it to light up when the inverter is on. I bought only 6 feet of 2 gauge wire. Had plenty of negative but barely had enough positive. Hope this helps.

jstone326 01-09-2012 08:16 PM

Very nice writeup!! That definitely gives me a better idea of what to do as far as wiring it... I like that location for the inverter, as it is protected, hidden, lockable and when you need it, you just open up the glove compartment and plug-and-play!...

just a thought, I would consider maybe notching the top of the glove box so you could run a wire in and keep the glove box closed, so you can plug something in while you're driving i.e. to charge something

And you said you were trying to figure out how to wire the switch so it lights up... does it stay lit up, or does it not light up?
(I do have a pretty good understanding of wiring and electricity as my both my dad and brother are electricians and I've worked for them a bit...)

dutch169 01-09-2012 08:42 PM

Thanks. Got all that from the Xterra forum write up. I bought a 8 ft extension cord for it. I was going to set a plug up but since I have the top off all summer I didn't want to hard wire one in. I am doing that with my Xterra though.
http://i1034.photobucket.com/albums/...r/4d8e7cb7.jpg
As for the switch here's what happens. Its a Daystar 3 prong. When ran like so (above/ prong 2 from solenoid / prong 4 from ground) it turns the inverter on. I can switch the 2 and 4 wire and it still works. If I take the wire 2( or wire 4) and connect it to the bottom prong, its lights up the switch up but inverter does not work.

jstone326 01-09-2012 08:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dutch169 (Post 1905452)
Thanks. Got all that from the Xterra forum write up. I bought a 8 ft extension cord for it. I was going to set a plug up but since I have the top off all summer I didn't want to hard wire one in. I am doing that with my Xterra though.
http://i1034.photobucket.com/albums/...r/4d8e7cb7.jpg
As for the switch here's what happens. Its a Daystar 3 prong. When ran like so (above/ prong 2 from solenoid / prong 4 from ground) it turns the inverter on. I can switch the 2 and 4 wire and it still works. If I take the wire 2( or wire 4) and connect it to the bottom prong, its lights up the switch up but inverter does not work.

Gotcha...

the switch: I had the same problem once, and finally figured it out... The problem is that the switch itself needs to be powered to light up the switch... so, in order to do that the switch itself needs to be grounded so there is a complete circuit to the bulb in the switch. All you need to do is run a ground wire (a third wire) from the bottom prong to a ground i.e. the tub, and it should work

dutch169 01-09-2012 09:01 PM

I'll try that tomorrow. So that will turn the light on when the inverter is on.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.