Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   General Jeep Discussion (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/)
-   -   Should I have wires hooked to this??? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/should-i-have-wires-hooked-to-this-134349.html)

1989JEEPYJ 01-20-2012 01:54 PM

Should I have wires hooked to this???
 
1 Attachment(s)
This is where the front 4 wheel drive is. Any help?

Attachment 91273

cavsvet74 01-20-2012 02:14 PM

I believe that is vaccuum actuated. Should not need any wires.

Pushrod 01-20-2012 03:33 PM

I've not seen one like that but it may be for an dash 4wd indicator light(?) if it is a vaccum operated locker.

tslroper 01-20-2012 05:50 PM

Looks like your vacuum actuated CAD was replaced with a posilok. There should be a knob or handle on or under the dash that you pull out to lock the axle shafts now.

1989JEEPYJ 01-20-2012 09:04 PM

^^^ Yup I do have one of those. So does that mean I have a posi in the front?

1989JEEPYJ 01-20-2012 09:27 PM

What's the advantage to a posilok?

gunslinger24 01-20-2012 10:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1989JEEPYJ
^^^ Yup I do have one of those. So does that mean I have a posi in the front?

Nope, the posi lock just replaces the vacuum actuator with a cable. The yj has a 2piece shaft and that connects the two. You can plug the 4x4 light up to those terminals, but I don't.

1989JEEPYJ 01-21-2012 12:51 AM

And the light would work?

gunslinger24 01-21-2012 10:58 PM

It should. There is a striker style sensor in the posi lock. It is adjustable, and it might need to be adjusted for your light to work.

It doesn't matter what wire goes where, it's just a circuit.

1989JEEPYJ 01-21-2012 11:27 PM

Thanks dude I really appreciate it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.