Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   General Jeep Discussion (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/)
-   -   Towing Small Utility Trailer, Good Idea? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/towing-small-utility-trailer-good-idea-136716.html)

jas9191 01-31-2012 08:37 PM

Towing Small Utility Trailer, Good Idea?

I am thinking about buying a Wrangler. I have always liked them but recently my girlfriend got an 87 and its killing me to drive around an automatic honda accord while she drives around the stick lol. Besides that I need different vehicle for work. I am a carpenter but do all sorts of construction work on the side. I'm wondering if a wrangler would be decent for towing around a small 6-8 foot flat utility trailer with plywood, lumber, tools etc. I will be driving on mostly flat ground with a few small hills here and there. I would prefer a 4 cyl for the gas but a 6 is not out of the question. I've read that most older jeeps have a towing capacity of 2000 lbs but with that being said has anyone towed anything with a jeep other than an unlimited? I don't have the funds for an unlimited and I would actually prefer a 15yr or older jeep. Thanks for reading!

wwch99tj 01-31-2012 09:01 PM

The 4 and 6cyl don't really get any different gas milage
I have a 4x8 trailer I haul mulch and have moved with it and once hauled a bunch of split rail fence (which was not fun the trailer didn't have enough tongue weight) I usually don't haul too many heavy loads

TeeJayy 01-31-2012 09:23 PM

imho, if your gonna tow a trailer get a 6cyl

jp2611 01-31-2012 09:30 PM

def a I6 would be the way to go IMHO--unless you want new (er) JK/ body style.

I wouldn't be afraid to tow a small flat trailer with a TJ as long as you are not hauling bags of rock concrete etc.

I have seen on the road and heard of people pulling 17' bass boats but I don't have the stones for that.

Martinez_Coins 01-31-2012 09:46 PM