Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Time to lift LJ 33" or 35" (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/time-to-lift-lj-33-or-35-a-138246.html)

Andrewf 02-07-2012 08:54 PM

Time to lift LJ 33" or 35"

Im looking to put 33's or 35's on my LJ, This is my DD, I really don't do much wheeling. i drive to the mountains a couple of time a year and that's about it for now. Nothing Crazy

This is my first time putting a lift on a jeep, so Im not sure if this is overkill for want i need.

AEV 3" Springs
Rancho RS9000XL Shocks
JKS Adjustable trackbars Front & Back ( do i really need adjustable? can i use my stock ones? )
JKS Adjustable Bumpstops
Control Arm ( do I have to replace my stock one? and do i need all 8 replaced? )
JKS 1" BL/MML

What else am i missing?

UnlimitedLJ04 02-07-2012 10:14 PM

yes you can use your stock track bars. the JKS front would need 2" front bumpstop extension anyway to prevent hitting the tie-rod. I'd suggest going with the Currie TJS or TJJ front track bar if you're going to run 2" front bumpstop, or stick with the stocker (weld a 1/8" reinforcement plate on the stock axle side mount and simple drill a new hole to recenter the axle). in the rear you will need a track bar relocation bracket, regardless of whether you get an adjustable track bar or not. The stock bar clears the gas tank mount slightly better, but the JKS will hit unless you move the rear axle forward. instead in the rear, i'd suggest Currie here again - they have apparently come out with a new adjustable rear track bar + bracket combo that clears the gas tank mount better than previous versions, although I haven't seen it myself.

as for control arms, you don't HAVE to replace them, but it is a strongly recommended. I'd suggest Currie, Savvy or Rokmen for those.