Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   will this coax cable work with this mount? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/will-this-coax-cable-work-with-this-mount-138985.html)

MD4P 02-11-2012 12:27 PM

will this coax cable work with this mount?
 
http://www.amazon.com/FireStik-K-8A-...ref=pd_sim_e_5

Amazon.com: Firestik M2 Molded Plastic Side Mount: Electronics

not sure how this attaches or if it will. thanks.

CoyoteOn2 02-11-2012 01:53 PM

Yes it will work. You will have to cut the PL-259 connector off one end of the Cable,
strip the cable back to expose the center wire. Put / soldier a "D" Ring connector to
that center wire, ( D ring just big enough to go over the stud (Top one in Photo) that
is insulated. Now yo strip a little more from the Cable, exposing the Braided wire. Put a connector on it, and secure it to the Bottom Post. NOW, you have to be sure that the CENTER wire does not come into contact with the Braided wire. ( Center is
POSITIVE / BRAID is NEGATIVE) Mount every thing up, Put an SWR meter in line and adjust Antenna, if it's adjustable that is. Remove the Meter, hook the Cable back up,
and you will be as they say, 10-8.
Your cable should be made up as so
Outer sheath
Braid
Foam insulator
Center Conductor.
When Soldering use only ROSEN CORE SOLDER
DO NOT USE ACID CORE SOLDER
Make good clean connections and be sure you have NO COLD Soldier Joints.

CoyoteOn2 02-11-2012 02:06 PM

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/...500_AA300_.jpg
I want to add to my previous post, that looking at the
Mount, you WILL need to Drill a LARGER HOLE into
the Body, or what ever your going to Mount it to.
The TOP hole will have to be large enough for THAT
PLASTIC INSULATOR, (as seen in photo) to fit. That
POST can not come into contact with GROUND in any
way. The Bottom is just the opposite, it has to contact
the Body via the Star Washer. HAS TO GROUND!
Not sure if mounting instructions came with your mount or not. So wanted to be sure you knew HOW IT'S TO BE MOUNTED TO WORK.

MD4P 02-11-2012 02:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoyoteOn2
Yes it will work.........

Thanks for the info and very detailed response . Im pretty sure I saw a cable with a ring on it online. Ill have to see if I can find it.

Thanks again.

CoyoteOn2 02-11-2012 02:36 PM

Or make a trip to Radio Shack, they've got them, save on shipping.

The Toolman 02-11-2012 03:01 PM

Got your PM MD4P,

Coyote explained it perfectly, thank you sir.

I will second the mount from radio shack, but DO NOT buy the coax radio shack has, they don't stock good coax anymore. I would get the 8X coax though. Holds up better with that type of mount


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.