Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   So I've run out of room on my battery, what do you all do in this case? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/so-ive-run-out-of-room-on-my-battery-what-do-you-all-do-in-this-case-140934.html)

jstone326 02-20-2012 10:52 AM

So I've run out of room on my battery, what do you all do in this case?
 
I put on my new KC's, and now I can't fit everything on the battery. I have an amp, back up lights, my winch and the KC lights. I was thinking about setting up a terminal strip on the fender next to the battery and wiring everything to there and then having one wire from the terminal strip to the battery. I'd probably keep the winch wire on the battery, but I'd want to put all the small stuff on this terminal strip. Has anyone done this? I think this would work, but want to get some second opinions.

Thanks

TroutBumTJ 02-20-2012 11:15 AM

Do you have accessory posts on the side of your battery? Not an actual post, just where you can screw more posts in. My optima has them on the front.

lindel 02-20-2012 11:20 AM

Go to an electronics shop and get a terminal board. Available in all sizes and amperage capabilities.

Mount it where you like, you can feed all of your attachments off of it.

TroutBumTJ 02-20-2012 11:23 AM

Also, you're gonna need a hefty reliable battery with all those accessories. The Die Hard Platinum series from Sears has gotten great reviews. My Optima (yellow top) has served me well, but I've heard that they are nothing near the quality they once were.

mudmagnet63 02-20-2012 11:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lindel (Post 2052686)
Go to an electronics shop and get a terminal board. Available in all sizes and amperage capabilities.

Mount it where you like, you can feed all of your attachments off of it.


Yep that's what I did on my old cj too much on the battery post. Do as you suggested leave the winch and move the rest.

jstone326 02-20-2012 11:46 AM

Thanks... I just picked up a terminal strip and terminal connections. I got 12g wire to go from the strip to the battery, that'll be enough right? It'll just be two sets of lights and the amp, and probably another set of lights in the future. Oh and my cb, forgot about that

jstone326 02-20-2012 11:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TroutBumTJ (Post 2052677)
Do you have accessory posts on the side of your battery? Not an actual post, just where you can screw more posts in. My optima has them on the front.

No I don't

Quote:

Originally Posted by TroutBumTJ (Post 2052693)
Also, you're gonna need a hefty reliable battery with all those accessories. The Die Hard Platinum series from Sears has gotten great reviews. My Optima (yellow top) has served me well, but I've heard that they are nothing near the quality they once were.

Yeah I've heard the same... I have the Duralast gold from Autozone, I'll see how that one does, but will probably end up upgrading... that Die Hard is pretty expensive!

neverfastenough1 02-20-2012 11:57 AM

Your amp cable is smaller than 12 Gauge? I am not an electrician, but I think I would have gone with something larger.

jstone326 02-20-2012 12:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by neverfastenough1 (Post 2052802)
Your amp cable is smaller than 12 Gauge? I am not an electrician, but I think I would have gone with something larger.

Yeah I think its 14, but not positive... I guess I could actually as my brother seeing as he is an electrician haha

Jowilly 02-20-2012 12:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jstone326 (Post 2052763)
Thanks... I just picked up a terminal strip and terminal connections. I got 12g wire to go from the strip to the battery, that'll be enough right? It'll just be two sets of lights and the amp, and probably another set of lights in the future. Oh and my cb, forgot about that

Can we get pictures of the terminal strip and where you are going to mount it and maybe a part number also?

jstone326 02-20-2012 12:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jowilly (Post 2052844)
Can we get pictures of the terminal strip and where you are going to mount it and maybe a part number also?

Yeah sure, but I don't have a part #, I picked it up at my local hardware store, and they just have them in drawers, not packaged... let me go take some pics

jstone326 02-20-2012 12:40 PM

Pics
So for some reason I had it in my head that fender closest to the battery was empty, but it actually has the airbox on it, the other fender is empty however. I took some pics of possible mounting locations, what do you think?

Here's the strip:

http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/4992/img3200hmg.jpg

Here's the driver side fender

http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/9053/img3202u.jpg

A Possibility

http://img824.imageshack.us/img824/6865/img3201l.jpg

another possibility

http://img819.imageshack.us/img819/8335/img3206n.jpg

yoopone 02-20-2012 01:35 PM

I like your idea. I added these to mine, they work real well.

Quadratec Exclusive TJ-HDBT - Quadratec® Extreme Duty Battery Terminals for 76-06 Jeep® CJ-5, CJ-7, CJ-8 Scrambler, Wrangler YJ, TJ & Unlimited - Quadratec

TXST8tj 02-20-2012 01:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jstone326 (Post 2052770)
Yeah I've heard the same... I have the Duralast gold from Autozone

I have a Duralast Gold as well and it has top and side terminals.....

Quote:

Originally Posted by jstone326 (Post 2052840)
Yeah I think its 14, but not positive... I guess I could actually as my brother seeing as he is an electrician haha

Since 12awg is too small for what you're doing. 14awg is definitely way too small.

KrzyMoke 02-20-2012 01:53 PM

Please be sure not to use the Side Terminals for high Amp stuff.

Here is a link to Stu's on electrical stuff:
Electrical and Lighting Write-ups

jstone326 02-20-2012 02:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TXST8tj (Post 2053172)
I have a Duralast Gold as well and it has top and side terminals.....

Really? I'm pretty sure mine doesn't, unless they're hidden or I'm completely ignorant of what side terminals are, I'm assuming they're terminals on the side haha

Since 12awg is too small for what you're doing. 14awg is definitely way too small.

I mean I think the amp is 14, so I'm using 12 from the terminal

blue6tj 02-20-2012 03:05 PM

If you go to a Marine Store you can get really good Water Proof J-Boxes/Terminal Strips.

neverfastenough1 02-20-2012 03:10 PM

Is that a "connector strip" or a "terminal strip"? A connector strip just lets you connect wires at a junction (one wire in, one wire out the other side), and a terminal strip lets you connect a positive or negative (or both) to a strip of connectors.

TJe0454 02-20-2012 03:22 PM

you cant run an amp on 12 or 14 gauge wire. get an aux fuse box and have 4 gauge leads to the battery.

neverfastenough1 02-20-2012 03:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TJe0454 (Post 2053546)
you cant run an amp on 12 or 14 gauge wire. get an aux fuse box and have 4 gauge leads to the battery.

Might if it is a small 150w amp. I was going to say 3 gauge, but hesitated because I am no electrician. Glad you chimed with 4. I was also going to say mount it in the cockpit so you don't have to run every wire through the firewall. Also, if you only need to connect a couple things, there should be two terminal posts in the underhood fuse box right in front of the battery. At least mine has them.

TJe0454 02-20-2012 04:08 PM

its better to have larger gauge wire and spend a little more rather than than smaller and melt the wires/cause a fire... i have 3 amps in my heep, all with 4 gauge wire for power and ground. each positive is directly connected to battery and ground is very short and grounded to tub.

jstone326 02-20-2012 06:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by neverfastenough1 (Post 2053499)
Is that a "connector strip" or a "terminal strip"? A connector strip just lets you connect wires at a junction (one wire in, one wire out the other side), and a terminal strip lets you connect a positive or negative (or both) to a strip of connectors.

Yeah its a connector strip, sorry... but I have these little jumpers that connect the adjacent connectors, if that makes any sense.

Quote:

Originally Posted by TJe0454 (Post 2053546)
you cant run an amp on 12 or 14 gauge wire. get an aux fuse box and have 4 gauge leads to the battery.

I don't understand why I need an aux fuse box. Since the existing setup is just a pile of wires on the battery, I just wanted to move them off the battery. So why wouldn't just using a terminal strip work? It would be doing the same thing, just moving the stuff away from the battery.

mudmagnet63 02-20-2012 07:10 PM

I think they are refering to the supply wire to the terminal not being large enough. I used a marine terminal that had the stud sticking up from the main battery lead. I don't remember wire size, but it was about 1/2the size of the actual battery leads.

jstone326 02-20-2012 07:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mudmagnet63 (Post 2054491)
I think they are refering to the supply wire to the terminal not being large enough. I used a marine terminal that had the stud sticking up from the main battery lead. I don't remember wire size, but it was about 1/2the size of the actual battery leads.

I see, so since it wouldn't be large enough, it'd be better to use a fuse block?

baerbonesjones 02-20-2012 07:19 PM

i was over loading my 10 year old garbage batterry, used it till i killed it, and now im putting in 2 12 inch subs, with 2000 watt amp, and i already got a winch, so i installed to optimas each one has 2 + and 2 - so i got plenty of room

baerbonesjones 02-20-2012 07:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by baerbonesjones (Post 2054555)
i was over loading my 10 year old garbage batterry, used it till i killed it, and now im putting in 2 12 inch subs, with 2000 watt amp, and i already got a winch, so i installed to optimas each one has 2 + and 2 - so i got plenty of room

two optima yellow tops

jstone326 02-20-2012 07:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by baerbonesjones (Post 2054555)
i was over loading my 10 year old garbage batterry, used it till i killed it, and now im putting in 2 12 inch subs, with 2000 watt amp, and i already got a winch, so i installed to optimas each one has 2 + and 2 - so i got plenty of room

Yeah I should probably do that, but that route is a whole lot more expensive than any of the others! haha It'll happen eventually, but I want to do something that'll work fine, not burn my Jeep to the ground, and not cost me a lot of money. I like doing stuff with materials that already in my house, and found like 10 terminal strips in my basement, so I'd like to use one if possible.

What if I left the winch and amp on the battery, and just had my shitty back up lights, (2) 100w KC's and CB on a terminal strip, would that be okay?

thanks

Jerry Bransford 02-20-2012 07:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KrzyMoke (Post 2053189)
Please be sure not to use the Side Terminals for high Amp stuff.

That's a good cautionary recommendation for a winch which can easily pull >400 amperes and melt the connections to the side posts on some batteries like from Optima but any battery's side posts will be fine for his lights, amplifier, etc.

jstone326 02-20-2012 07:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford (Post 2054603)
That's a good cautionary recommendation for a winch which can easily pull >400 amperes and melt the connections to the side posts on some batteries like from Optima but any battery's side posts will be fine for his lights, amplifier, etc.

I'm still no seeing side posts on my battery... does someone have a pic of the Duralast Gold with the side posts?

Jerry Bransford 02-20-2012 07:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jstone326 (Post 2054610)
I'm still no seeing side posts on my battery... does someone have a pic of the Duralast Gold with the side posts?

Only a small percentage of batteries have both top and side posts... your battery must not have side posts.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.