Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   detroit lockers (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/detroit-lockers-14171.html)

mr4x4 12-19-2007 03:17 AM

detroit lockers
 
I haven't owned a Detroit locker till now I'm use to driving the spool
I very rarely notice this locker is there I was told it is normal to not notice it on turns (which I don't)
but I was wondering is it normal for it to have a little play
for instance shifting the jeep from park to drive or reverse
the jeep normally shifts into gear kinda hard but now its a little harder
so I crawled under the jeep and disconnected the drive shaft I am able to turn the pinion about 1/8 of a turn before it locks up

I have read that it is normal with the Detroit I guess I just want confirmation
from some other people that it is normal before I tear in to it again

I do feel it locking unlocking on the road but it kinda feels like a limited slip on turns or u turns
but it does fully lock up and work (I'm just used to running the spool you always know its locked up)

dwdrums801 12-19-2007 05:03 AM

kinda like this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWDKjf_e_IA

mr4x4 12-19-2007 11:03 AM

just like that

1BLKJP 12-19-2007 04:07 PM

Yup, if you hadn't said so I would've told you that you were describing a Detroit. :D

dwdrums801 12-19-2007 08:15 PM

yeah that happens to mine i dont know what it is but its very loud and almost feels like some1 Is pounding my floorboards with a BIG ASS HAMMER.....i just dont have enough time to take it back to the ppl that installed my locker being a delivery boy I always need my jeep (DD) but when I finally do take it back to them to get my new drive shaft installed ill let you know what they think

mr4x4 12-19-2007 10:11 PM

so its normal

I think I will still open it up this weekend and check it
then I will put on my new blue torch fab diff. cover:D

Jerry Bransford 12-20-2007 02:26 PM

Yep, slop is just the normal backlash that a Detroit Locker (which I run too) is supposed to have. I wouldn't worry about it. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.