Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   TPMS question (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/tpms-question-147078.html)

CorvusCorax 03-18-2012 07:34 AM

TPMS question
 
Being a newb to these I have a chance to get a set of rims and am wondering
if I can switch them to these rims.

http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/3047/rimsr.jpg

kbwwolf 03-18-2012 07:43 AM

You mean your stock TPMS sensors? You should be able to switch em (or the tire shop can do it for you). The sensors are attached to the valve stems on your factory wheels.

jplks2play 03-18-2012 07:45 AM

What size are the rims? What is the back spacing on them? If the back spacing is 4.5 or lower you should be ok. Also need to make sure the lug pattern is the same.

CorvusCorax 03-18-2012 08:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jplks2play (Post 2152432)
What size are the rims? What is the back spacing on them? If the back spacing is 4.5 or lower you should be ok. Also need to make sure the lug pattern is the same.

17x9 with 4.5 backspacing ...rims came off of a 2007 wrangler.
Thnx for the replies.

jplks2play 03-18-2012 11:08 AM

You will be good to go then.

CorvusCorax 03-19-2012 07:19 AM

Will 265/70R17 Duratracs work on these rims?

Cold 03-19-2012 07:25 AM

If you are planning on leaving the TPMS from the 2007 you may have issues. I tried swapping the TPMS from a 2008 onto my 2010. APparently there was a frequency change from one year to the next. Now I get to look at the tire warning light until I have the sensors swapped out. But there is no reason the rims wont fit.

jplks2play 03-19-2012 07:26 AM

Size wise yes might be a little narrow. I had 255/75r17 on my stock and the wheel was a 17x7.5 I'm not sure if the width of the tire will work.

RoobyRoo 03-21-2012 09:08 AM

The wasn't a good reason to use the TPMS sensors at all when I got new wheels since my low pressure alarm was always going off anyway because I never run 35+ PSI and I don't have a Procal (yet). I just left them out on my new wheels because the shop that installed my wheels didn't have the required valve stems in stock and I would have had to go back. So until I get a Procal and can set the pressure to something useful like 25 PSI they are worthless. Maybe I'll just sell them with my stock wheels.

tabber02 03-21-2012 11:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RoobyRoo (Post 2164127)
Maybe I'll just sell them with my stock wheels.

honestly that's the best decision... it'll make the deal more appealing and they'll sell faster.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.