Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Front stablizer linkage bar came off (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/front-stablizer-linkage-bar-came-off-147747.html)

Jamezr 03-20-2012 08:42 PM

First time jeep owner here. But not new to off roadiing.
So on my 2010 JKU 4 door. I was in the mud to break her nice and good but when I got home I did a little inspection and saw the front drivers side stabilizer linkage bar came off. Should I be worried? A jeep owner at work told me just to take them off as I don't need them? Seems that if it came with it then it should be replaced or reconnected again. I haven't driven it for 2 days just in case. So what is it guys? Do I need it or not?

kbwwolf 03-20-2012 08:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jamezr (Post 2162472)
First time jeep owner here. But not new to off roadiing.
So on my 2010 JKU 4 door. I was in the mud to break her nice and good but when I got home I did a little inspection and saw the front drivers side stabilizer linkage bar came off. Should I be worried? A jeep owner at work told me just to take them off as I don't need them? Seems that if it came with it then it should be replaced or reconnected again. I haven't driven it for 2 days just in case. Somewhat is it guys? Do I need it or not?

You mean the sway bar, or your tie rod? Your steering stabilizer (looks like a shock turned sideways) is attached to the tie rod in a stock configuration. There is no stabilizer linkage that I'm aware of.

Wouldn't be wise to run without your sway bar OR your tie rod.

the Kolector 03-20-2012 08:48 PM

I would just reconnect it and drive it. Probably just had loose nuts.....hate it when that happens.

kbwwolf 03-20-2012 08:50 PM

Now that I think about, check the diagram in this link...it'll give you an idea of what to call whatever it is that's broken:

Diagnosing Death Wobble and Fixing Non-DW Shimmies and Wobbles

Jamezr 03-20-2012 08:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbwwolf
Now that I think about, check the diagram in this link...it'll give you an idea of what to call whatever it is that's broken:

Diagnosing Death Wobble and Fixing Non-DW Shimmies and Wobbles

Thanks! It is the sway bar link. So is that a normal thing to come loose?

the Kolector 03-20-2012 08:58 PM

I had a bolt fall out of one of mine, replaced the bolt and all is good now!

kbwwolf 03-20-2012 09:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jamezr (Post 2162549)
Thanks! It is the sway bar link. So is that a normal thing to come loose?

Yup, like The Kolector says, just replace the bolt, and all should be well.

You can drive it like it is, but if you have to make an evasive maneuver bad things could happen. I'd just hit up a hardware store and get a grade 8 bolt that fits.

pluke the 2 03-20-2012 09:21 PM

and if you decide to take it off. make sure you take off both sides. i drove without my sway bar links for almost a year. not recommended, but not a big deal unless you drink and drive, where you want maximum precision for on-road handling.

CG3 03-20-2012 09:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jamezr (Post 2162549)
Thanks! It is the sway bar link. So is that a normal thing to come loose?

Is it lifted? If yes, who did the install? Then..... were the bolts re-torqued at 500 miles?

Jamezr 03-20-2012 09:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CG3

Is it lifted? If yes, who did the install? Then..... were the bolts re-torqued at 500 miles?

No..... I have only had it for a month. The lift was just installed when I bought it. What do you mean by re- torqued?

SilverSport 03-20-2012 09:43 PM

Re-torqued = re-tighten all the nuts and bolts.

CG3 03-20-2012 09:49 PM

You can / should re-torque (use a torque wrench and tighten to spec)... you can mark the head of the bolts across, then down the side, and a bit onto part of the arm/frame/whatever it's attached to, and just check the mark (blue marker is good) to see if the bolts have loosened. Or just re-check around 500 miles of initially installing. Since you just bought it, do it now. The one that came loose, should be re-checked. The others (check all that were installed/replaced/taken off-put back on for the lift now...)

Or just take it to a good shop, and have them do it, and mark all the heads for you...

kbwwolf 03-20-2012 09:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jamezr (Post 2162802)
No..... I have only had it for a month. The lift was just installed when I bought it. What do you mean by re- torqued?

You wanna make especially sure your trackbar bolts and control arm bolts are properly torqued. All of em should be 125 ft-lbs, EXCEPT the front upper control arms, which should be 75 ft-lbs.

Look here for torque specs on your JK: Project-JK.com - Jeep JK Wrangler Resource Jeep JK Wrangler Torque Settings

And read this to find out what could happen if your TB's and CA's aren't properly torqued, and should come loose: Diagnosing Death Wobble and Fixing Non-DW Shimmies and Wobbles

Jamezr 03-20-2012 10:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbwwolf

You wanna make especially sure your trackbar bolts and control arm bolts are properly torqued. All of em should be 125 ft-lbs, EXCEPT the front upper control arms, which should be 75 ft-lbs.

Look here for torque specs on your JK: Project-JK.com - Jeep JK Wrangler Resource Jeep JK Wrangler Torque Settings

And read this to find out what could happen if your TB's and CA's aren't properly torqued, and should come loose: Diagnosing Death Wobble and Fixing Non-DW Shimmies and Wobbles

Thank you so much for helping out with the links! You guys are so nice to help a noob!

the Kolector 03-21-2012 12:18 AM

I looked under my Jeep and noticed the upper sway bar link bolt missing on one side and the other side was really loose. Replaced the bolts with hardware store bolts, no need to replace the links, though I may eventually do that anyway. It's a really easy repair, no biggie.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.