Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Show me your switches (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/show-me-your-switches-148239.html)

tbensor 03-22-2012 07:58 PM

Show me your switches
 
Putting in Fog lights and would like to see what everone did for switches.

blkrubi88 03-22-2012 08:04 PM

One on the left is for the windsheild lights.
One next to it is for the lights on the bumper.
The one on the far right with the red buttons is my in cab winch controller.



http://i868.photobucket.com/albums/a...troller2-2.jpg

hardcoretj 03-22-2012 08:11 PM

Here are mine ,Daystar switches in the stock panel .http://i1198.photobucket.com/albums/...2-07195017.jpg

tbensor 03-22-2012 08:15 PM

sweet. Those are 2 great pics. I was wondering if you could get the ftoggle switches with covers in the stock hole.

Tjdude08 03-22-2012 08:17 PM

Wish I could have setups like thEse. I had them one tine but wouldn't pass inspection for them. Stupid laws.

mraybrake 03-22-2012 08:20 PM

idk what kind of fog lights you got, but I just put in KC fogs. I also have a set of KC's on my windshield. I have the switches mounted in the same locations as above, except I just drilled a hole in the Factory Blanks, put the switch in and them used the plastic thingy (I'm tired, terminology has left me for the day) to hold it in place. Sorry no pics, if you want one i'll get it for ya tomorrow.

2003x 03-22-2012 08:35 PM

Basic Auto Zone switches. Drilled them into the blank spots.
http://cdn.jeepforum.com/forum/attac...d-dscn4094.jpg

Jp90Talon 03-22-2012 08:41 PM

I cant find the pic of the finished product but you get the idea

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...p/100_2155.jpg

97project 03-22-2012 09:35 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Attachment 107285

Rockers

Patrick H 03-22-2012 09:43 PM

http://i285.photobucket.com/albums/l...5/100_2807.jpg

http://i285.photobucket.com/albums/l...5/100_2809.jpg


And the relays..

http://i285.photobucket.com/albums/l...5/100_2811.jpg

http://i285.photobucket.com/albums/l...5/100_2810.jpg

tbensor 03-23-2012 08:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Patrick H (Post 2170939)


Where did you get the relay case?

02Prove 03-23-2012 08:53 AM

Not mine but this is a cool solution for those wanting to run more factory looking switches on older TJs... There's a write-up somewhere about this.

http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x...Pics/pic02.jpg

TJDave 03-23-2012 01:23 PM

I used the ashtray blank panel for the ARB switches, and I just drilled a hole through one of the factory switch blanks for a fog light switch.

http://i273.photobucket.com/albums/j...1322080623.jpg

Patrick H 03-23-2012 02:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tbensor (Post 2172223)
Where did you get the relay case?

It's a "project box" from Radio Shack

Beachcomber 03-23-2012 03:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hardcoretj (Post 2170499)
Here are mine ,Daystar switches in the stock panel .http://i1198.photobucket.com/albums/...2-07195017.jpg

Hardcoretj, did the daystar switchs fit the stock holes in the panel or did you have to make changes to get them to mount?

97project 03-23-2012 07:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Beachcomber

Hardcoretj, did the daystar switchs fit the stock holes in the panel or did you have to make changes to get them to mount?

I have the same day star switches just diff color. The fit perfect :)

SULFEK 03-23-2012 07:12 PM

1 Attachment(s)
just bought this system from 4x4 spod.

97project 03-23-2012 11:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SULFEK
just bought this system from 4x4 spod.

O wow that's pretty nice. Did you get the air gauge one?

Kevbz 03-24-2012 10:11 AM

my two switch set up, will change with when more switches are added. I can add one more up here but room is tight in there as it is

SULFEK 03-24-2012 12:51 PM

yeah I had to I have a VIAIR on board air system in my jeep.

Once Far Off 03-24-2012 06:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 02Prove (Post 2172282)
Not mine but this is a cool solution for those wanting to run more factory looking switches on older TJs... There's a write-up somewhere about this.

http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x...Pics/pic02.jpg

I was thinking of doing the same thing. Any idea where the write up is?

tbensor 03-28-2012 01:58 PM

Thanks. here is what I ended up doing.

http://i1058.photobucket.com/albums/...-56-24_854.jpg

BigThunder 03-28-2012 02:53 PM

sPOD :D

http://i1109.photobucket.com/albums/...d/RCF_0857.jpg

02Prove 03-28-2012 03:02 PM

^^^nice!!!^^^

cocky grin 03-28-2012 03:05 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Only 1 so far adding another this weekend :)

Attachment 108909

bcpaddler 03-28-2012 03:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 02Prove (Post 2192692)
^^^nice!!!^^^

X2 :thumb:

rjpark36 03-28-2012 05:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigThunder (Post 2192664)

This is a very clean looking set-up, Chief. I'm no expert, but $450+ seems a bit steep for this. Am I missing something?

Kevbz 03-28-2012 05:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rjpark36 (Post 2193163)
This is a very clean looking set-up, Chief. I'm no expert, but $450+ seems a bit steep for this. Am I missing something?

i like it, but with 6 switches, even if you ran one common ground and 6 line, 6 load wires, thats 13 wires (with a whole lotta ground spices) where do you go from there with it all?

Add OTRATTW's double lighted switches and you are now up to 25 wires!

BigThunder 03-28-2012 05:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevbz (Post 2193196)
i like it, but with 6 switches, even if you ran one common ground and 6 line, 6 load wires, thats 13 wires (with a whole lotta ground spices) where do you go from there with it all?

Add OTRATTW's double lighted switches and you are now up to 25 wires!

Nope, not like that at all. The sPOD has the switch module that you see in the photograph. You also get what they call the source. The source is a power distribution module that is pre fused, relayed and terminal ended for all your auxiliary options. A pre attached braided line is run from the switch unit to the source. All wires for the switches are labeled and the terminals are designed for "push and play" attachment. Since the source is a terminal board, there is only one positive and one ground cable that is run from the source. The positive and grounds from your auxiliary equipment is run through a specially designed route into the source. Attached two wires and it's done. Cleanest install ~ ever.

Is it worth the $450? If you are going to run auxiliary lights, lockers, OAB, or what ever - yes. Otherwise, you'll end up with what Kevbz describes above.

Here is the website.
4x4 SPOD Since 2005 - The ORIGINAL JEEP Over The Windshield Switch Console - Jeep Power Distribution System

Take a look at their video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OqzQ5abD2yk

Here is picture of the source, inside my hood (over the battery). Everything is tucked up nice and neat within the aluminum housing ~ which is by the way designed to bolt directly onto the existing bolts on the Jeep.

http://i1109.photobucket.com/albums/...d/RCF_0853.jpg

Kevbz 03-28-2012 05:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigThunder (Post 2193304)
The source is a power distribution module that is pre fused, relayed and terminal ended for all your auxiliary options. A pre attached braided line is run from the switch unit to the source. Attached two wires and it's done. Cleanest install ~ ever.

that is the coolest thing i have seen since pop tops on a beer can!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.