Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   2012 Firewall Access (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/2012-firewall-access-148674.html)

sclui56 03-24-2012 06:11 PM

2012 Firewall Access
 
Is this the access hole to use when running wire from the engine bay to the interior? Thanks!

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/i.../JK/Access.jpg

kbwwolf 03-24-2012 06:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sclui56 (Post 2177504)
Is this the access hole to use when running wire from the engine bay to the interior? Thanks!

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/i.../th_Access.jpg

Can't tell from that closeup pic (no reference points), but you've got multiple access points through the firewall. If you're looking to hook up lights to your A-pillar, pry the end off the side of your dash. You'll see a hole about the size of a quarter filled with foam. On the engine bay side it'll have a big rubber plug in it. Cut a small hole in the plug, pass the wires through, then fish the wires through the hole into the cab with a coat hanger. :thumb:

sclui56 03-24-2012 07:11 PM

Hi kbwwolf, that hole in the picture is right behind the brake booster at 3 o'clock, I couldn't quite see the hole after opening the end piece of the dash from the inside, will take a look again. Thanks.

kbwwolf 03-24-2012 07:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sclui56 (Post 2177684)
Hi kbwwolf, that hole in the picture is right behind the brake booster at 3 o'clock, I couldn't quite see the hole after opening the end piece of the dash from the inside, will take a look again. Thanks.

I believe there's 5, total. Don't know for certain, cuz I use an sPOD and so far have routed everything through the holes on either side or the dash, behind the side covers. Pretty sure there's also a hole behind the glove box and one near the master brake cylinder.

Any of em will do for routing wire into your cab...depends on what you're hooking up, and where (you haven't said). If you wanna know where all of the access holes are, PM Daggo or Jimbo. They know. :thumb:

Comac90 03-24-2012 07:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sclui56 (Post 2177504)
Is this the access hole to use when running wire from the engine bay to the interior? Thanks!

The quick answer is "yes" .... here's mine (where I ran my wires through):


[IMG]http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/1238/img1174bs.jpg[/IMG]

T

Casotakar1229 03-24-2012 07:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbwwolf (Post 2177513)
Can't tell from that closeup pic (no reference points), but you've got multiple access points through the firewall. If you're looking to hook up lights to your A-pillar, pry the end off the side of your dash. You'll see a hole about the size of a quarter filled with foam. On the engine bay side it'll have a big rubber plug in it. Cut a small hole in the plug, pass the wires through, then fish the wires through the hole into the cab with a coat hanger. :thumb:

this. I just breached my firewall through this exact method. so easy.

NFRs2000NYC 03-24-2012 08:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sclui56 (Post 2177504)
Is this the access hole to use when running wire from the engine bay to the interior? Thanks!

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/i.../JK/Access.jpg

It is, but NOT a good one. Look at the run, it is going INTO an aluminum block. When you get it inside, you will have a real fun time fishing it out. Furthermore, if you stick your finger in there, you will feel a seal. This is NOT a good access hole.

You you want the best route (depending on which side you want) open the front doors (whichever side you need, ie, if you need power, go through the passenger side) and pop out that SIDE of the dashboard. You will see a hole filled with what looks like expanding foam. You can go straight through that with a hanger or whatever, and you'll be in the engine bay. Easiest vehicle I have ever run from cabin into motorbay.

12JKUR 03-24-2012 09:50 PM

I could be wrong but every hole I *thought* I've seen seems to be water resistant.

kbwwolf 03-24-2012 10:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 12JKUR (Post 2178246)
I could be wrong but every hole I *thought* I've seen seems to be water resistant.

If I understand your statement (question?) correctly, that's cuz your Jeep's engine compartment is a wet environment. All access points to the cab have rubber seals. To run wires through them, you need to remove the seal. You'll find that the firewall holes also have foam in em, too, to keep water out.

When I run wires for aux lights through those access points, I take the seal out, cut a small hole in it, run the wires through it, and replace the seal to maintain the integrity of the cabin.

Capisce?

NFRs2000NYC 03-24-2012 10:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 12JKUR (Post 2178246)
I could be wrong but every hole I *thought* I've seen seems to be water resistant.

The hole in the photo has a seal that must be broken. I do NOT like to break seals if it can be avoided and in the JK, those foam filled holes are the perfect spots to run wiring. If you do it correctly, the foam will KEEP the seal around the wire you run. Furthermore, the holes I described in my previous post are actually ABOVE the firewall, and run into the cowl, which is an even better place to run aftermarket wiring. I can snap pics for you tomorrow, I just installed my system, so I ran down the passenger side, and ran the dually windshield lights on the drivers side.

daggo66 03-24-2012 10:28 PM

Pop off the end panel on either side of the dash. You will see a foam filled hole the size of a nickel. This is the past route to tsake IMHO.

sclui56 03-24-2012 11:32 PM

OK guys, thanks a lot for all the info. Bottom line - foam-filled holes good to use. Will do that tomorrow if it doesn't rain, did the mopar/RR light bar & mounted a pair of Hella 500 BM, will finish up with the wiring.

BTW, I am mildly satisfied with the Mopar/RR bumper bar, first of all, it was a pain to feed the nuts into the bumper support to mount the brackets, then after everything is mouned and tightened up, the assembly is not rigid enough and can cause vibration. Guess I will have to wait till I swap out the bumper to get some decent bars.

Comac90 03-25-2012 07:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NFRs2000NYC (Post 2177899)
It is, but NOT a good one. Look at the run, it is going INTO an aluminum block. When you get it inside, you will have a real fun time fishing it out. Furthermore, if you stick your finger in there, you will feel a seal. This is NOT a good access hole.

You you want the best route (depending on which side you want) open the front doors (whichever side you need, ie, if you need power, go through the passenger side) and pop out that SIDE of the dashboard. You will see a hole filled with what looks like expanding foam. You can go straight through that with a hanger or whatever, and you'll be in the engine bay. Easiest vehicle I have ever run from cabin into motorbay.

I don't understand what you're saying here ... what do you mean by "aluminum block" and why do you think it would be so hard to 'fish it out'?

I simply poked a small hole with a coat hanger through the 'foam plug' and then gently pushed my wire housing through the hole. That foam plug forms a tight seal around the housing - and, as you can see the that hole is near the top of the engine bay and it's easy to access under through the footwell. Then, I just ran the the actual wire thru the hole via the housing. The only thing I think one would have to be careful of is not to make the initial hole thru the foam to big; making it so the foam didn't form a tight seal around whatever diameter housing you're using.

Just trying to understand why that hole is not a good one and what I'm missing ... seemed perfect and worked beautifully for me.:thumb:

T

schnizdawg 03-25-2012 10:52 AM

I found that the best place to run wires is up by the dash tweeters under the side trim. You'll see a foam filled hole. Push a coat hanger through those an pull wire on either passenger or driver side as needed. Boom. Done.

NFRs2000NYC 03-25-2012 11:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Comac90 (Post 2179056)
I don't understand what you're saying here ... what do you mean by "aluminum block" and why do you think it would be so hard to 'fish it out'?

I simply poked a small hole with a coat hanger through the 'foam plug' and then gently pushed my wire housing through the hole. That foam plug forms a tight seal around the housing - and, as you can see the that hole is near the top of the engine bay and it's easy to access under through the footwell. Then, I just ran the the actual wire thru the hole via the housing. The only thing I think one would have to be careful of is not to make the initial hole thru the foam to big; making it so the foam didn't form a tight seal around whatever diameter housing you're using.

Just trying to understand why that hole is not a good one and what I'm missing ... seemed perfect and worked beautifully for me.:thumb:

T

When I was looking for a place to run the 4gauge power wire, I checked that hole out. I stuck my finger in there, and felt a plastic membrane sealing the hole on the inside. When I was in the cabin, and looking under the driver's knee panel, I noticed that there is a giant block of aluminum that that hole feeds into. It seemed it would be extremely difficult to fish, especially since the JK has much better holes to use (foam filled ones at the sides of the dash.)

Like I said above, I didn't use the hole, but is LOOKED to me like a very difficult and an inefficient run.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.