Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   CB Wiring (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/cb-wiring-148732.html)

DeeJayy 03-24-2012 10:11 PM

CB Wiring
 
I've seen alot of threads in here about CB radios and such and I have a question I've had a question about. Before I jump into buying my whole set up I want to know how to wire it, like the whole thing from the battery to the cab to the antenna wiring. I'm sure it'll be simple once I get into it but I hate jumping into things not knowing for sure. So does anyone want to post pics or like a step by step for a safe, clean installation? On a side note I plan on getting a behind the tail light mount on the drivers side. Thanks in advance.

DJ

AV8R 03-25-2012 08:10 AM

If you go topless a lot or have a soft top, consider an installation that will allow you to easily remove the CB from its bracket. I wired mine to a cigarette lighter plug for even quicker removal/install that doesn't leave power wires visible and hanging.

Kevbz 03-25-2012 09:06 AM

clean power is best, from the battery. its easy to get it into the cab.

in my pic you can see the red wire going into the cab...and a screwdriver showing how you can get through that foam. any ground from inside the cab will work. only two wires needed to power the cb. then other than running the coax and a good antenna mount and you are golden

XOFMOT 03-25-2012 09:36 AM

Connect the Positive, Connect the Negitive then the antenna wire! Hardest part is routing antenna wire from interior to exterior.

Also consider a remote speaker depending on where your going to mount CB...Mounted mine below my dash radio, but I have an a ELCHEAPO CB ($30 MIDLAND) and the internal speaker is crappy..bought a small remote speaker aimed right at me.

Remus_Redbone 03-25-2012 09:51 AM

I would go direct to the battery or at least the main battery terminal feeding the fuse/breaker panel under the hood. The pic above showing access through the firewall is right next to the battery and that terminal. The suggestion for using the lighter is good, but I would go direct to the battery and put some type of disconnect in your wiring. There are several varieties of connectors you can crimp or solder on your wire so you can disco the radio. You may have a radio with a removable power harness, which solves the issue.

Antenna wiring. The basics: the coax has a center conductor and a shield around that conductor. The shield and center conductor can never touch. The shield needs to be connected to a good vehicle ground (frame or negative battery or both). The center conductor has to connect to the antenna itself and CANNOT be grounded.

corey2491 04-10-2012 11:57 AM

I bought the bundle from Quadratec, with the antenna, mount and coax. Then a small Cobra 19 and a Rugged Ridge dash mount so that I didn't have to drill. It took us about 40 minutes from start to finish and we wired it to the fuse panel under the glove box.

svtotem 02-25-2013 07:45 AM

I have searched previous threads and not found specific antenna routing methods for getting the antenna cable into the jeep.

I have an 05 LJ and will be using a SS driver side tail light mount. What is the best routing from the tail light area? I have seen folks just run it up through a gap in the soft top, but don't care for that approach.

Jerry Bransford 02-25-2013 06:57 PM

For the best and quietest/noise-free CB radio installation, always power a 2-way directly to the battery. Other sources like cigarette lighter receptacles, random fuse connections, etc. are likely to introduce electrical noise into the CB... like alternator whine, ignition noise, fuel pump noise, etc.

And there is really no need to worry about the power source being switched so it shuts off when the ignition is turned off. It would take weeks for a CB being on and in Standby mode for it to drain the battery, they just don't draw that much power unless they are transmitting. Not to mention it's handy to be able to use the CB without having to turn the ignition switch on.

svtotem 02-26-2013 11:13 AM

Thanks Jerry, that is my plan. Where have you come through the firewall? Did you pick up a ground to the tub, or run to the battery negative terminal?

Looks like I have the antenna routing sorted out.

Bill

outtahere 09-03-2013 03:42 PM

Hey, message #3 above says "in my pic you can see..."
I'm logged in, but there are no pictures in this thread. What's up?

Jerry Bransford 09-05-2013 09:05 PM

He must have forgotten to post the photos, they aren't there for me either.

SecretAgentMan 09-05-2013 10:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by svtotem (Post 3422916)
Where have you come through the firewall?

On my 04, I drilled through the firewall on the passenger side below the glove box. There is a 4x6 or so flat area that is perfect. It's just below the battery box under the hood. Drill from the inside.

Jerry Bransford 09-06-2013 12:30 AM

If you have a manual transmission, there is a rubber grommet plugging a hole in the firewall available just above & to the right of the accelerator pedal. Drill a small hole through the center of the rubber grommet and it's perfect for passing wiring through. That grommet isn't there when you have an automatic as that is where the auto transmission's shifter cable passes through.

30-284 09-07-2013 08:15 AM

And if you have an auto then you remove the block off plate for the clutch master cyl (that your auto would not have) and you have a 1" hole for running a lot of wires.

Donn

Jerry Bransford 09-07-2013 05:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 30-284 (Post 4366105)
And if you have an auto then you remove the block off plate for the clutch master cyl (that your auto would not have) and you have a 1" hole for running a lot of wires.

Donn

That's the hole I had to move all my wiring to after converting from the OE 5-speed to an automatic. What a PITA to have to lengthen & re-do all that wiring so it would reach through that far more out of the way access hole.

30-284 09-10-2013 08:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford (Post 4375873)
That's the hole I had to move all my wiring to after converting from the OE 5-speed to an automatic. What a PITA to have to lengthen & re-do all that wiring so it would reach through that far more out of the way access hole.

Ya but, if you have not already run wires a different route, there would be no reason to not use such a fine hole that is large enough for everything. Far more out of the way? I doubt it.

Donn

eyeball 09-14-2013 11:12 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford (Post 4375873)
That's the hole I had to move all my wiring to after converting from the OE 5-speed to an automatic. What a PITA to have to lengthen & re-do all that wiring so it would reach through that far more out of the way access hole.

I removed that block and RTV'd a Daystar Firewall Boots in there. It is easy to seal up with a ziptie and can be enlarged easily if necessary...

Nice clean solution but maybe a few bucks overpriced for what it is.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.