Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Ready to install blower motor relay array..picture (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/ready-to-install-blower-motor-relay-array-picture-148741.html)

2002TJ 03-24-2012 10:47 PM

Ready to install blower motor relay array..picture
 
1 Attachment(s)
Spent $232 recently at dealer for new blower motor harness, resistor and blower motor....I ain't going to risk melting down my whole dash or replacing all that crap again, so I'ma moddin controls to operate blower fan thru relays for each speed, VS the panel switch and wimpy OEM wiring.

I got my relays and sockets off eBay for like 10 bucks total.

Today I prewired them in an easy to install array. 10 AWG Red wire feeds off Battery, 10 AWG Black goes to chassis ground, 16 AWG Yellows are fed off dash panel fan speed switch, 12 AWG Blues goe to resistor.

This little trick will solve blower fan issues forever.

I stole the idea off here and elsewhere :)

Edited to add: Beware!, some forum how to posts are WRONG on relay pin assignment. On a 4 blade relay, Pin 30 is 12VDC in from Batt., Pin 87 is out to fan/load, pin 85 and 86 are switch and chassis ground and can be interchanged...On a 5 blade relay, ignore pin 87a but the above applies.

freeskier 03-24-2012 11:41 PM

Why a relay for fan speed 4? The highest fan speed current is already controlled by a relay, all you doing now is controlling a relay with a relay.

2002TJ 03-24-2012 11:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by freeskier (Post 2178618)
Why a relay for fan speed 4? The highest fan speed current is already controlled by a relay, all you doing now is controlling a relay with a relay.

Yup, except OEM relay is comin out....I'ma simplifyin the whole mess :)

Oh, and feed from Batt wil have inline 20 amp fuse near Batt....If fan decides to get lazy, then all is protected. I'ma gonna do this just this once and forget it.

freeskier 03-24-2012 11:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2002TJ (Post 2178654)
Yup, except OEM relay is comin out....I'ma simplifyin the whole mess :)

Gotcha. That's what I kinda figured. I still have the original blower motor, I've had to replace the resistor, and recently fan speed 3 has stopped working. I'll probably tackle replacing a lot of this crap and rewiring it with relays before next winter.

2002TJ 03-25-2012 12:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by freeskier (Post 2178665)
Gotcha. That's what I kinda figured. I still have the original blower motor, I've had to replace the resistor, and recently fan speed 3 has stopped working. I'll probably tackle replacing a lot of this crap and rewiring it with relays before next winter.

Odds are very high blower is drawing high amps due to wear....It truly is the leading cause of resistor, switch, harness failure...except most folks think if it still blows it's fine :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 AM.