Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   First lift kit install (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/first-lift-kit-install-149702.html)

Meyers2010 03-28-2012 09:30 PM

First lift kit install

Hey guys
I'm about to install my first lift on my (first) jeep. I went with the rough country 4" n2.0 kit which I will be installing Saturday and I was just looking for any tips to make it go smoother. I've already read a few write ups about it but like I said its my first time so any pointers will help!!
Thanks, Tyler

BV Jeep 03-28-2012 11:09 PM

First thing you do is take your tool box, the whole thing, and dump it out on the ground. You will find that you will need most of it any way.

Afer you have installed everyting but the panhard/ track bars, Put it down on the ground. It is a little easier to get the back one lined up with some weight on it. To do the front you also want it on the ground. To align it up you use your steering wheel to move it back and forth. You don not need it running for this. For the rear you will need a come along to help get it over to align up the upper bolt.

jrussblues 03-28-2012 11:12 PM

Rough country has a vid of this on YouTube. I believe it's the same lift too.

Meyers2010 03-30-2012 12:07 AM

Thanks guys..I just pb blasted the crap out of all the bolts today

Meyers2010 03-31-2012 10:41 PM

Day one, by myself, so far issues I've had:
control arms were a b*tch to get in, couldn't get holes to line up
Front right spring went in easy, left still isn't in even with spring compressors..how can I get the left side of the axle lower?
Sway bar links, CANNOT get them off!!any tips??

Jeepoffroad04 03-31-2012 10:50 PM

Something that help me big time to put the control arms on was a power pack which you can rent from advance auto or some other local hardware stores.

Meyers2010 03-31-2012 10:59 PM

What's a power pack?