Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Door seals (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/door-seals-150189.html)

catalinafairview 03-31-2012 12:41 AM

Door seals

I am new to wranglers, I just bought 2012. Anyways, whenever I wash the jeep I always see water on the inside on the seat and floor boards. Is that common? I don't use high pressure, I use the "shower" function on my hose nozzle.

Casotakar1229 03-31-2012 12:49 AM

hmm. I use the pressure washer on high, just today as a matter of fact, and the only time I get water dripping on floor board or seat is when I open the door and the soft top drips at the front of the windshield where the door meets it in that corner. you should take some pictures so we can see exactly where it's coming from. is it at back of the door, front of the door? do you have a soft top or hard top?

catalinafairview 03-31-2012 01:12 AM

It is a 2 door

I get water on the seat, floor boards, door panel, and some on the door. It is a hard top 2 door. Water enters from the middle of the door and back so it basically let's water in the middle and the back of the door.

Casotakar1229 03-31-2012 01:43 AM

I'd check the weather stripping on the doors to make sure it's coming in contact completely. sometimes it also comes loose when the top is removed for the first time...or the door isn't closing all the way. I'd put some cloth in the part you think it is leaking from, close the door on it, run water over the area, and if it the leak temporarily stops then you know the door just isn't closing all the way or the stripping is too thin. make a trip to home depot or lowes and get some black weather stripping and just add it to the middle of the door, pretty easy fix. good luck!

PA ARCTIC 04-01-2012 06:59 AM