Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   new lift/tires - do I need the Procal to reset? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/new-lift-tires-do-i-need-the-procal-to-reset-151925.html)

bigyorka 04-07-2012 11:44 AM

new lift/tires - do I need the Procal to reset?
 
Hey WF friends. Need a little help. I'm putting the 2.5" AEV lift and new wheels and tires on my 2011 JKU (automatic). Do I need to get the AEV Procal or equal to reset any settings? I'm only going from 255/70/18s to 305/70/16s. Research says I only go from 65MPH on the speedo to 66.5MPH. Is that a big enough deal and am I missing something else?

kbwwolf 04-07-2012 11:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigyorka (Post 2230448)
Hey WF friends. Need a little help. I'm putting the 2.5" AEV lift and new wheels and tires on my 2011 JKU (automatic). Do I need to get the AEV Procal or equal to reset any settings? I'm only going from 255/70/18s to 305/70/16s. Research says I only go from 65MPH on the speedo to 66.5MPH. Is that a big enough deal and am I missing something else?

You'll need to recalibrate the speedo (I think your mph difference will be more than 1.5 mph...either way, if your speedo's not accurate, your odometer won't be, either). You can also use it for numerous other things, such as centering your steering wheel after the lift install, adjusting TPMS sensors so they don't trigger the warning light/chime constantly, etc.

bigyorka 04-07-2012 11:50 AM

Thanks Wolf! I forgot all about the TPMS too. Gear goes on this week. I'm psyched. Thanks again for your earlier advice. I'll post pics when its done.

kbwwolf 04-07-2012 11:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigyorka (Post 2230464)
Thanks Wolf! I forgot all about the TPMS too. Gear goes on this week. I'm psyched. Thanks again for your earlier advice. I'll post pics when its done.

Good luck! :thumb:

Lagzalot 04-20-2012 11:47 AM

how easy is it to calibrate speedo and tmps? any videos online for a noob like myself?

LBrito 04-20-2012 02:08 PM

I don't think you really "need" it for your change, but to really ensure you don't have any nagging issues with the traction control and vehicle stability control, it would be best to get it. Frankly, I wish the procal would do a little more, I've not used mine at all after the initial changes, it just sits in the rear cubby hole, a couple hundred bucks just banging around there.

tabber02 04-20-2012 02:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lagzalot (Post 2283115)
how easy is it to calibrate speedo and tmps? any videos online for a noob like myself?

if you get the AEV ProCal you just set the switches on the box, put your key in the ignition and turn for power (not ignition) and plug in the ProCal. your horn will honk once the flash takes... and you're done. :thumb:

Lagzalot 04-21-2012 01:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LBrito (Post 2283656)
I don't think you really "need" it for your change, but to really ensure you don't have any nagging issues with the traction control and vehicle stability control, it would be best to get it. Frankly, I wish the procal would do a little more, I've not used mine at all after the initial changes, it just sits in the rear cubby hole, a couple hundred bucks just banging around there.

i hear ya, my biggest concern is the tpms, didnt buy them for the new rims and tires and wanted to shut the whole thing off.

Baby Huey 04-21-2012 08:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lagzalot (Post 2283115)
how easy is it to calibrate speedo and tmps? any videos online for a noob like myself?

I just got a Procal Friday, This morning I went out and measured the height of the tire (P255-75-18 A/T RH-S Bridgestones) ( 31") Did the little Math thing, I set the dip switches (little slide switches) on the Procal, turned on the ignition switch, plugged in the Procal and the Horn honked, I unplugged the Procal, done deal.
Then my Battery died..... Been sitting for two weeks, original Batt. Charged it up and it works great !.....EASY, even for me.... :thumb:
I guess Jeeps can't live without these Procal thingy's ! :rofl: "BH"

Lagzalot 04-22-2012 11:57 PM

ordering mine tommorow!

Baby Huey 04-23-2012 02:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lagzalot (Post 2291830)
ordering mine tommorow!

Tested my Odometer today on I-5.....Dead On !! :thumb: "BH"

pasteris71 04-23-2012 02:59 AM

I was told that anything over 33" tires you need to recalibrate. Did you re-gear as well?

bigyorka 04-25-2012 06:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pasteris71 (Post 2292001)
I was told that anything over 33" tires you need to recalibrate. Did you re-gear as well?

No on the regear. Haven't seen too much loss, but I think I may eventually get to it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.