Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   Sway Bar busted. (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/sway-bar-busted-1522.html)

Beeker 04-07-2006 02:01 PM

Sway Bar busted.
 
Hey guys....I found that my passenger side sway bar is busted, the ball that goes into the top socket of the sway bar (not sure if explaining correctly) keeps comming out (seems a plastic/rubber case that holds it in place is shredded).......anyways until I get it fixed (with some quick disco's) can I run it as is or should I take off the other sway bar until I get them both replaced at the same time?

Thanks,
Erick.

khenderson 04-07-2006 02:29 PM

mine did the same thing about 2 years ago. i took the passenger's side bar off and ran it like that until about two months ago when i just took my entire sway bar and end links off. you'll be fine to just pull the pass. side off til you get it replaced with discos or stock end links.

Jerry Bransford 04-07-2006 02:41 PM

Running with one side disco'd is just like running with both sides disco'd so no need to worry about the other side.

You can likely install a new quick disco like JKS or RE's latest second-generation discos for not much more than the cost of a single stock replacement link. :)

TJGreg 04-07-2006 03:22 PM

i'd say just go for some quick discos, its worth it

I think i have my stock links laying around though...

Beeker 04-07-2006 07:07 PM

Thanks guys.....I was just worried about running with just one sway bar. I will definitley be going for the quick disco's....heck I've seen them for less than $150.
I was going to just get a lift kit that would inlude the quick disco's.....but :( I'm going to have to wait....hell I just dropped $400+ for all new camping equipment for my son (he has his first cub scout overnight camping trip :D )

Or who knows, maybe I'll get used to driving that way :cool: hell I work all of 3 miles from my home.

Thanks
Erick.

khenderson 04-07-2006 07:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Beeker
Or who knows, maybe I'll get used to driving that way :cool: hell I work all of 3 miles from my home.
Erick.

like i said, i've been driving discoed for a couple years now. granted i've been stock height til a couple of months ago, but i was fine driving it that way.

mswilder 04-07-2006 08:28 PM

when i first bought my jeep the exact thing happend except both socket came undone, so i just took them off and drive fine with out them but i have the bar it self just pushed up and out of the way, and i am going to wait for my lift kit to get quick disco's.

Beeker 04-08-2006 07:34 AM

Well I decided to take them both off....I will run without them until I get my lift kit.....should be later this year or beggining of next :( depending on the funds.

OK I also decided I need to win the lottery :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.