Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   When to use lockers? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/when-to-use-lockers-152978.html)

hwy1rubi 04-11-2012 09:23 PM

When to use lockers?

Hi all, I'm new to wheeling but have been offroading most of my life on dirt bikes, Quads and buggies. I picked up a 2012 JKUR in February, and have taken out twice now in the local desert and then today in the rain up some mountain trails. Damn I love this jeep and have to find a way to get this grin off my face.

But anyway, I have watched the video in the thread titled 'jeep explain(s) 4WD' 5 times and have searched the JK forum but can someone explain to me when should I use the lockers, and should I lock the rears first or the front or both? I guess I really need a 4 wheeling for dummies lesson.

Thanks,

Gary

CharTay 04-11-2012 09:34 PM

When ur in 4 low and can't get up something try locking the back still can't lock the front still can't... turn around. Or go faster?

pluke the 2 04-11-2012 09:38 PM

activate lockers and 4-lo while going 100mph through water 10' deep or over a cliff 100' high

whichever comes first

CharTay 04-11-2012 09:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pluke the 2
activate lockers and 4-lo while going 100mph through water 10' deep or over a cliff 100' high

whichever comes first

He knows.... listen well...

XJ Knight 04-11-2012 09:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hwy1rubi (Post 2247919)
Hi all, I'm new to wheeling but have been offroading most of my life on dirt bikes, Quads and buggies. I picked up a 2012 JKUR in February, and have taken out twice now in the local desert and then today in the rain up some mountain trails. Damn I love this jeep and have to find a way to get this grin off my face.