Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   How do i get my wheels to stick out more.... (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/how-do-i-get-my-wheels-to-stick-out-more-153739.html)

ksdindy 04-15-2012 07:06 PM

How do i get my wheels to stick out more....

... Without having to buy new rims? Probably a dumb question but I'm a newbie. I've got 17 inch stock wheels and I'd like to have them stick out further than the fenders. Can I get wider tires on the same rims? Can I get taller tires too? I've heard of wheel spacers too but what are the drawbacks?

Thanks.

kbwwolf 04-15-2012 07:10 PM

Without buying new wheels, your only option is wheel spacers.

Buy some good ones, like the Spidertrax 1.5" versions. :thumb:

kbwwolf 04-15-2012 07:12 PM

Here's a link: Jeep 1.5" Thick Wheel Spacers

wmwhitey 04-15-2012 07:14 PM

^^kbwwolf is rite on point wheel spacers are the only option you have without buying new tires I have 1 1/2 wheel spacers they work fine and no problems yet.

kbwwolf 04-15-2012 07:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ksdindy (Post 2262422)
... Without having to buy new rims? Probably a dumb question but I'm a newbie. I've got 17 inch stock wheels and I'd like to have them stick out further than the fenders. Can I get wider tires on the same rims? Can I get taller tires too? I've heard of wheel spacers too but what are the drawbacks?

As for wider/taller tires: With the wheel spacers you'll effectively have a backspacing of 4.75", which means you can run tires wider than the stock 10"ers on your Jeep. And you can run 33" tires without a lift, though you may experience some rubbing of the fenders if you go off-road.

Nothing a $130 TeraFlex leveling kit won't fix.

To better understand backspacing, tire height and width on stock rims, read this thread: Largest tire on stock JK? Here's your answer!