Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   YJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/)
-   -   help with body mount bolt (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f218/help-with-body-mount-bolt-155321.html)

Jerkyboy68 04-22-2012 07:45 PM

help with body mount bolt
 
Well I started the install of my new rampage bumper and while trying to get good access to a nut holding the bumper on, I decided to loosen the bolt going up through the mount and SNAP! It broke. I don't have a haynes or FSM and I can't tell if there is a nut on the other side. Is it just a bolt screwed in from the bottom?

prox445 04-22-2012 09:49 PM

Front or Back.

brentd711 04-22-2012 10:03 PM

If the bolt broke I can't see that it matters right now whether it's threaded into the frame or into a captive nut (if that's your question). Drill it, heat it and use the biggest easy-out the bolt will handle.

Jerkyboy68 04-23-2012 04:58 AM

Its the passenger side rear. I was wondering if it went into the frame or a captive nut. It looks like a blind area. Trying easy out tonight.

Thanks!

95YamJam 04-23-2012 06:24 AM

If it is the rear most mount.....

If you look up in there just behind the rounded body corner you can cut open the channel where the captive square is. It is just a sqaure piece of steel with a nut welded to it.

If you cut the botom and both sides you can peel open the area and get the old "nut" out. Then make a new one and your set. You can close the sheetmetal and weld it shut or just tack it shut and lave it. You won't see it on the outsdie anyway.

Mine did the same on the driver side. I sprayed a bunch of rust stuff in there, tacked mine shut and hit it with some black paint. You can't see it at all and even if I showed it to you you might not notice it.

Just be carefull when cutting and take your time.

prox445 04-24-2012 12:20 AM

I did mine a bit different. If you look at where the mount goes up into the body you will see a box. I cut the outside part of the box out. Since it is hidden I didn't see the need to patch it back up. Ill try to post pics later

Jerkyboy68 04-24-2012 09:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by prox445 (Post 2296142)
I did mine a bit different. If you look at where the mount goes up into the body you will see a box. I cut the outside part of the box out. Since it is hidden I didn't see the need to patch it back up. Ill try to post pics later

Prox, that would be very helpful!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.