Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   Auto Tranny Oil Temp Gauge ???s (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/auto-tranny-oil-temp-gauge-s-15556.html)

nicolas-eric 02-10-2008 03:28 PM

Auto Tranny Oil Temp Gauge ???s
 
hello,

i want to install an auto tranny oil temp gauge in my TJ like this:
http://www.4wd.com/productdetails.aspx?partID=5897

and i want to install it like this (together with an air pressure gauge):

http://www.4wd.com/aux_incl/images.ashx?i=17501.jpg

could you please tell me how i have to install the sender for the auto tranny temp gauge?
do you know such a gauge that also has a scale with degrees celsius?

thanks in advance.
nicolas-eric :wavey:

Triple88a 02-10-2008 03:30 PM

Are you looking for just C or both C and F?

nicolas-eric 02-10-2008 03:39 PM

C or C and F...

all my stock gauges have C and F or mph and kph or liters and gallons.

4.0l sahara 02-10-2008 04:40 PM

To get the most accurate reading drop the pan and cut a hole. Then weld in a bung with 1/4 npt threads. Then put pan back on and thats where the sendor goes. There are other ways to do it but that is the most accurate.:)

Triple88a 02-10-2008 04:41 PM

Instead of welding it cant you use a tap to tap the pan it self?

4.0l sahara 02-10-2008 04:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triple88a (Post 192234)
Instead of welding it cant you use a tap to tap the pan it self?

It's sheet metal it can't be tapped.

4.0l sahara 02-10-2008 04:53 PM

This is the right way.
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i2...n/trgab200.jpg

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i2...n/trgac200.jpg

Triple88a 02-10-2008 04:53 PM

Auto tranny is made of sheet metal?

4.0l sahara 02-10-2008 04:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triple88a (Post 192243)
Auto tranny is made of sheet metal?

The pan is stamped sheet metal.

nicolas-eric 02-10-2008 05:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4.0l sahara (Post 192242)

i donīt have a welder and i canīt weld... :(

i also want to install anadditional tranny fluid cooler. is it still accurate enough if i install the temp sender in the line to that cooler?

4.0l sahara 02-10-2008 05:12 PM

It's pretty accurate if you put it in the line carrying the hot atf to the cooler. But a shop could weld the bung on in a min or two if you drill the hole.:D

Rawkon 02-10-2008 05:18 PM

the only problem with putting it inline with hose is you need to have the sender grounded (im pretty sure) the best way is what was said earlier by putting it in the pan.

nicolas-eric 02-10-2008 05:24 PM

the problem is that i only have this TJ.
when the tranny pan is off i canīt drive to a shop that can weld that for me.

Triple88a 02-10-2008 05:27 PM

cant take off the pan and use another car or ur friends to drive u there?

nicolas-eric 02-10-2008 05:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triple88a (Post 192255)
cant take off the pan and use another car or ur friends to drive u there?

you know iīm lazy, i always want the easiest way... :D

4.0l sahara 02-10-2008 05:39 PM

I would just do it in the pan as it is the best way to do it.:D

Rawkon 02-10-2008 06:13 PM

Nicholas theres a couple companies that make deep trans pans for our tjs. im running the Rubicon Express deep pan. It came with a drain plug all i need to do is fine and adapter for the threading or have it re threaded for my sending unit. you can order a pan get it welded up then on a saturday install it. it took me a couple hours to do mine. because i had to drop the tcase crossmember

30-284 02-10-2008 06:19 PM

Just as long as he has the 3spd. trans and not the O.D. trans. I don't think they make a deep trans pan for the O.D. trans, at least this is what I found out looking for one for my 3spd trans.

Donn

nicolas-eric 02-10-2008 06:45 PM

i have the 4spd OD tranny.
a pan with a drain plug would be perfect.

porterdriver 02-15-2008 11:17 AM

On my TJ tranny there are a number of already drilled and tapped ports in and around the transmission case. I just selected the one that was the matching size for sending unit and threaded it in. Took five minutes (well, at least that part did) and works great.

nicolas-eric 02-15-2008 11:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by porterdriver (Post 194145)
On my TJ tranny there are a number of already drilled and tapped ports in and around the transmission case. I just selected the one that was the matching size for sending unit and threaded it in. Took five minutes (well, at least that part did) and works great.

do you also have the 4spd auto tranny?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.