Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   VIAIR ABA unit install testing 2012 Rubicon (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/viair-aba-unit-install-testing-2012-rubicon-157782.html)

PieFace 05-03-2012 12:38 PM

VIAIR ABA unit install testing 2012 Rubicon
 
Hey everyone,

The doorman just called. My new viair aba unit is here. I was torn between the aba and the ultra duty, but figured that I can add the tank later after seeing how this thing fairs for airing the tires up. Maybe be able to power an air gun once the tank is attached.

I do a lot of beach driving in the summer and wanted to be able to air back up when the situation calls for it. Lets see how this thing stands up to some air testing.

AirWerkz 05-08-2012 09:39 PM

That is a nice kit, and think you will definitely like it.

Any progress or feedback after installing? Photos? Updates? :thumb:

PieFace 05-09-2012 10:34 AM

Its still in a box in my office,

I looked under the hood where it should fit, and it looks like its going to be a tight squeeze.

Pics to follow. Im trying to get the rock rails on this weekend too.

AirWerkz 05-09-2012 12:55 PM

Yeah, it is a tight fit, but does work. Look forward to seeing it installed.

PieFace 06-11-2012 09:05 PM

Review and Testing
 
Here it is, Short review and the video where I test the Viair ADA unit.


First, this unit is designed to be far simpler than the standard compressor and air tank units that Viair Offers. This unit has a small air tank on the actual compressor, and it comes with the brake booster bracket that makes a snug little spot for it inside the cramped engine bay of the 2012 wrangler (pentastar).


The reason this system is so simple is because you dont run air hoses to an air tank, so the chances of an air leak are reduced to zero. All you have to do is bolt it on and run the switch to power. This is a Mod that just about anyone can do.

I installed it with the SPOD unit, so wiring was a snap. The unit comes with a switch, but having the Spod already, I didint use the viair switch.

Overall I really like this compressor, Its so simple, open the hood, connect the hose and flip a switch. Also all viairs couplings were brass and very high quality. The Air gun they give you is also very good. The air level in your tires is not shown correctly while airing up, you need to release the trigger to get an accurate reading.

I aired up a BFG 255/75R17 (standard Rubicon Tire) from 10 psi to 38 psi in just about 4 minutes.

Viair ADA Unit - YouTube

For some reason I couldnt embed the video, click the link to see it.

PieFace 06-11-2012 09:15 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Here's a pic

PieFace 06-22-2012 11:09 AM

So I did install it backward, and I tested it that way, I'll have the video up in just a moment. Somone saw my video and told me that you cant just mount it either way, the air filter end has to be in the front or it wont drain properly.

That leaves a tight squeeze in the back for the air line wich will stick straight out if you dont put the 90 degree bend on it. (3bucks home depot)

Im going to post the video with the over view and testing, but keep in mind that this is before I turned it around. And if you install one, you want to make sure its in the right direction, or you will eventually pump water into your tires.

PieFace 06-22-2012 11:27 AM

Video
 
Here is the Viair ADA video

Viair ADA Unit - YouTube

You'll notice that I let the video run while im filling the tire, the reason is that I didnt want there to be an iotion that anyone would think I was altering the results.

So feel free to skip ahead if you get bored watching me fill a tire for 4 minutes.

PieFace 06-24-2012 03:39 PM

Corrected the Unit
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hey Guys,

I mentioned earlier that the unit had been installed backward, So here is a pic of it turned around on the brake booster.

steed77 06-25-2012 07:58 AM

So far, I'm a big fan of the Viair set-up. Runs solid. This weekend I added a 2nd fill.

I wanted a protected, yet easy to access on the left rear side. Also did not want to have it stand out. This is what I came up with....

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...O/IMAG0006.jpg

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...O/IMAG0008.jpg

PieFace 06-25-2012 11:57 AM

Viair ADA 45044 Recall
 
Ok, so this unit has been recalled.

Here's why, The front driver side foot of the unit actually touches the break line. Here's the problem, Viair isnt going to mod the bracket to clear the line, they are just going to stop selling the constant duty ada unit.

The unit that remains is not the contstant duty, and is a little smaller. But only rated up to 32 or 33 inch tires.

I dont want to send mine back, so I modded it by cutting some of the air hose that they sent with the unit and wraping it around the break line and zip tied it there.

The constant duty is the larger unit rated up to any size tire, so if I want to air up 37s, my compressor has the heavy duty components to handle that job. I've been in contact with viair with regard to this compressor and told them that Jeepers want the most powerful unit, and this one fits the bill, please alter the bracket so that it clears the one breakline it touches.

Lets hope someone over there reads this and corrects this TINY problem. I really like this unit, I dont want to put a unit under my truck where its going to get muddy and beat up. And I dont want to put a skid plate under it to conseal and over heat it.

Ill take some pics of my mod job and you guys can tell me what you think.

steed77 06-25-2012 05:22 PM

I have the HD air unit. NOT the continuous air. When I talked to OBA.. they said it will fill 35+ fine. They ran several torture tests with back to back 35's for a very long time. (2+hrs) and the unit continued to work flawless.

That said: They did have a bracket change. I have run both brackets and neither hit the brake lines. You can adjust the lines if needed, but with a little compressor position it cleared by a long way.

Old bracket:
http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...O/IMAG1383.jpg

The new bracket lifts the unit up a bit more and gives it more room. Like I said, I am VERY happy that went with the OBA set-up.

PieFace 06-25-2012 06:06 PM

can just anyone alter a brake line? How do you go about it? and do you have 35s?

Any chance of a video showing that compressor airing them up?

What is that guage?

RRTRI 06-25-2012 06:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by steed77 (Post 2513337)

That said: They did have a bracket change. I have run both brackets and neither hit the brake lines. You can adjust the lines if needed, but with a little compressor position it cleared by a long way.

Would you mind expanding on this? I just installed 2 HD units and they are both all over the lines. I tried bending them but they'd have to bend so far I'm not comfortable with it.

Thx

PieFace 06-25-2012 06:33 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I wrapped the line in the air hose where the bracket touched. here's a pic

steed77 06-25-2012 07:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RRTRI (Post 2513493)
Would you mind expanding on this? I just installed 2 HD units and they are both all over the lines. I tried bending them but they'd have to bend so far I'm not comfortable with it.

Thx

So the 1st original bracket was closer to the line. But there was a 1/2 of space after the install. I think I may a just tweaked one line just a bit. but it was very minimal. You can see the one line that is closer, the angle makes is look a bit worse than it was. It never made contact on my rig.

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...O/IMAG1362.jpg

I also have the pump pulled back on the bracket also.

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...O/IMAG1375.jpg

I don't have any pictures of the the 2nd bracket. This new bracket lifts up and twists the entire unit up and clockwise about 20deg. I think there is ~1in of space now. I can get pictures of it a bit later.

:thumb:

RRTRI 06-26-2012 10:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PieFace (Post 2513540)
I wrapped the line in the air hose where the bracket touched. here's a pic

What did you wrap it with? Doesn't look like tape from the picture.

Quote:

Originally Posted by steed77 (Post 2513802)
So the 1st original bracket was closer to the line. But there was a 1/2 of space after the install. I think I may a just tweaked one line just a bit. but it was very minimal. You can see the one line that is closer, the angle makes is look a bit worse than it was. It never made contact on my rig.

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...O/IMAG1362.jpg

I also have the pump pulled back on the bracket also.

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...O/IMAG1375.jpg

I don't have any pictures of the the 2nd bracket. This new bracket lifts up and twists the entire unit up and clockwise about 20deg. I think there is ~1in of space now. I can get pictures of it a bit later.

:thumb:

Thanks. I have the new bracket but they are touching on both of the installs I did (even after bending on the lines). What is interesting is they are touching in different ways and places on the bracket. VIAIR said that was due to the tolerances of Jeep installing the lines. In other words the lines aren't installed the exact same in each vehicle.

One of the units I installed is bad and has to be sent back. It fired up for just a second or two and then stopped and hasn't fired up again since. The thought (via OBA via VIAIR) is that the pressure shut off valve/control is bad. Anyway....my point in saying that is I'm going to have to take the one unit off as soon as the label arrives for me to send it back. When I do I will take a few extra pics of what my install is looking like.

PieFace 06-26-2012 10:55 AM

Viair sends an air hose that you can run in your engine bay. I put the filter right on the unit, so no need for the hose. But it is thick strong rubber, I cut a 2 inch section, and then sliced it open. It keeps the circular shape so I just slipped it on the line and slid it down to where the bracket touches. then with the bracket keeping the pressure on it, I ziptied it there.

One thing to note, You need to keep the side of the hose with the slice away from the bracket. If you let that side face the bracket, the bracket may press through the slice and still rub the brakeline. I just did this a few days ago, and Ill be checking every few days to make sure that the hose stays in place, and hasnt rotated the sliced side into the bracket. Maybe a little gorilla glue? Anyone see any problem with that?

steed77 06-26-2012 03:56 PM

Here is the new bracket.... You can see it lifted and rotated a bit. Sorry for the phone pics.

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...O/IMAG0011.jpg

The one line that looks notched out for the bracket.... it actually leaning away from the lower bracket. There is an inch of space at the plate itself.

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...O/IMAG0010.jpg

new seating position.. I did remove the gauge.. it was close to the hood, I will mount it on the other side. Black line is the 2nd air point in the rear
http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...O/IMAG0009.jpg

Hope this helps

RRTRI 06-26-2012 04:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by steed77 (Post 2516795)
Here is the new bracket.... You can see it lifted and rotated a bit. Sorry for the phone pics.

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...O/IMAG0011.jpg

The one line that looks notched out for the bracket.... it actually leaning away from the lower bracket. There is an inch of space at the plate itself.

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...O/IMAG0010.jpg

new seating position.. I did remove the gauge.. it was close to the hood, I will mount it on the other side. Black line is the 2nd air point in the rear
http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...O/IMAG0009.jpg

Hope this helps

Thanks. I'm told I have the new bracket but mine has nothing close to that clearance. Maybe just the tolerance of the lines when Jeep put them in? Maybe some clear and some don't.

RRTRI 06-26-2012 04:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PieFace (Post 2515789)
Viair sends an air hose that you can run in your engine bay. I put the filter right on the unit, so no need for the hose. But it is thick strong rubber, I cut a 2 inch section, and then sliced it open. It keeps the circular shape so I just slipped it on the line and slid it down to where the bracket touches. then with the bracket keeping the pressure on it, I ziptied it there.

One thing to note, You need to keep the side of the hose with the slice away from the bracket. If you let that side face the bracket, the bracket may press through the slice and still rub the brakeline. I just did this a few days ago, and Ill be checking every few days to make sure that the hose stays in place, and hasnt rotated the sliced side into the bracket. Maybe a little gorilla glue? Anyone see any problem with that?

Ahhh okay that makes sense. Thank you!

glamisdunes 09-30-2012 04:50 PM

I just installed my VIAIR compressor also, I am waiting for a switch panel to come in so I can connect power. I've noticed mine is very hot to the touch just from normal driving conditions in the engine compartment.... has this affected anything in terms of the compressor run times once its exposed to the engine running for a period of time? It's very hot when you touch it.

Metonymy 10-13-2012 01:48 AM

Bumping this to ask about the 90-degree bend connection I've seen that both of you have. I'm assuming you just screw out the original one and screw the new one in?

Did either of you have any issues in getting it to line up the direction you wanted (aka: pointing towards the driver-side fender)?

steed77 10-13-2012 06:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Metonymy (Post 2885685)
Bumping this to ask about the 90-degree bend connection I've seen that both of you have. I'm assuming you just screw out the original one and screw the new one in?

Did either of you have any issues in getting it to line up the direction you wanted (aka: pointing towards the driver-side fender)?


Nope simple as it gets. ... I used a 90deg brass fitting from Sears hardware and just popped it on. No issuses at all. Just snug it to where I needed it to point. No leaks :thumb:

sneck 10-13-2012 08:21 AM

So I remember when around this time last year, I was signing the praises of my cheap 50$ amazon portable compressor. It worked great, but now that I have the 37s, I feel like the VIAIR hitmen found me, and did my compressor in. Rather than spring for another cheap unit, I decided to go full retard. Behold, the VIAIR ADA 450 universal setup. I already had an arb locker compressor, and the dominion offroad bracket, so getting the ADA unit installed took a little finagling, but I managed to get it all installed and working with the existing bracket and wiring. I then hooked it up to a VIAIR 2 gallon tank. Seems pretty sweet, can't wait to put it to use! My initial test was just airing up my spare from 20 psi to 30, and it took maybe 15 seconds. I might add another tank to the other side just to balance it out ;-)
http://i1076.photobucket.com/albums/...009_232447.jpg
http://i1076.photobucket.com/albums/...011_174806.jpg
http://i1076.photobucket.com/albums/...011_174745.jpg
http://i1076.photobucket.com/albums/...011_174752.jpg
http://i1076.photobucket.com/albums/...009_232427.jpg
http://i1076.photobucket.com/albums/...011_174700.jpg

In terms of specific changes I had to make, I had to splice the delphi connector onto the power lines for the ARB unit, and close the circuit on the old pressure switch line; the viair unit has the pressure switch hotwired into the power line. The tank on the VIAIR unit has 12 ports, so to get it to fit I had to shuffle some of the ports around, also had to play with the feet a little to get them to fit on the dominion bracket since out of the box, they are a touch too long.

In terms of the tank, I have a JKU, so being able to use the rear seats and storage area were my main concerns. With it positioned on the rear cage like that, I can still fold the seats up and I don't lose any space. Very cool


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.