Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Xj alternator to TJ swap (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/xj-alternator-to-tj-swap-159524.html)

t.petron 05-11-2012 11:20 AM

Xj alternator to TJ swap

I apologize if this is a question that has a simple asnwer, but I am new to the mechanic side of Jeeping. Is it possible to swap a 1999 TJ's alternator out for 1999 XJ 130amp alternator. :confused:

I know it is possible to swap it for a durango's, but i am unsure about an XJ. If anyone has done this it would be extremely helpful.

jeepjones 05-12-2012 07:53 AM

I think the mounting tabs are completely different. You can also swap a Dodge 1 ton Alternater onto a "98 TJ, im not sure about a '99. Make sure the pulley size is the same, if it isn't you will have to swap it over as well.

Badass_TJ 05-12-2012 11:12 AM

you can get a 117 amp alt from napa made for your jeep, i beleive jeeps with a/c came with the higher out puts alts....

NAPA AUTO PARTS)

Border Dave 05-12-2012 04:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Badass_TJ (Post 2361204)
you can get a 117 amp alt from napa made for your jeep, i beleive jeeps with a/c came with the higher out puts alts....

NAPA AUTO PARTS)

The highest output alternator that came from the factory on a TJ is 117 amps.

s14sh3r 05-12-2012 04:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Badass_TJ (Post 2361204)

NAPA AUTO PARTS)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Border Dave (Post 2361817)

Mine came with a 117 amp alternator.

Badass_TJ 05-12-2012 06:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Border Dave (Post 2361817)

Thats what im saying....:thumb:

t.petron 05-16-2012 03:23 PM

Thank you for the help.

My next step now i guess would be to see what output my alternator is at, and go from there.