Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   TJ Sound bar Questions/Problems (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/tj-sound-bar-questions-problems-162407.html)

tjforlife98 05-25-2012 02:20 AM

TJ Sound bar Questions/Problems
 
So, I have a 1998 Wrangler TJ sport 4.0L Inline 6, and i want to put a sound bar into it. Though i am 99.9% sure that i do not have the wire harness for the sound bar. So is there anyway around this. I planned on having it professionally installed so if i bought a wire harness off ebay would they be able to install it to my jeep. Oh, i also forgot to mention i also have an after market stero, after market front in-dash speakers, and a sub with and amp in my trunk. Will those thing not allow me to have it installed.

Jma20a 05-25-2012 10:57 AM

You can run a set of speaker wires along the passenger side and up the rollbar. No need to spend cash on a wire kit.

I have pics at home i can post after i get home from work.

tjforlife98 05-25-2012 02:35 PM

Alright yes I would love the photos if you don't mind. Also will I have to run another amp to make the sound bar work because I have the six speaker soundbar from quadratec and I called up a speaker installation place and they said that I would fry my head unit if I ran that soundbar on it because it would be to many speakers, but I don't believe that. The reason why is how does the stock radio that comes with the jeep use it. Then again the are the pros.

Jma20a 05-25-2012 05:19 PM

i ran the speaker wires behind the glove box, than down under the door sill with some sticky pads(they have them at home depot) and zip ties, from there i ran it under the roll bar padding.

this pic is showing where i ran the wires behind the glovebox
http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w.../govewires.jpg

this one shows how i kept the speaker wires off the floor and in a place that stays dry
http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w...rsidewires.jpg

and this is the shot of the wires going up the rollbar under the padding
http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w...llbarwires.jpg

tjforlife98 05-27-2012 08:40 AM

Alright thanks man u have been a huge help. so I take it the u dot need a speacial plug to plug into the sound bar u can just hard wire it.

Jma20a 05-27-2012 12:27 PM

the factory soundbar does have a wire harness leading to the stereo and powering the dome light, i upgraded my speakers and needed a much larger gauge wire to run them. the factory plug is on the passenger side and i found it much easier to run the wires, had to drill a small hole to feed the wires through and then sealed it with silicon calking.

Tatz Mangual 12-11-2014 03:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jma20a (Post 2409151)
the factory soundbar does have a wire harness leading to the stereo and powering the dome light, i upgraded my speakers and needed a much larger gauge wire to run them. the factory plug is on the passenger side and i found it much easier to run the wires, had to drill a small hole to feed the wires through and then sealed it with silicon calking.

Hi my sound bar was installed when I purschase my jeep. But the lights aren't working. Can you tell me what to look for?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.