Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Thinking about buying a Jeep. Input needed. (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/thinking-about-buying-a-jeep-input-needed-16452.html)

sailsurf7713 03-10-2008 03:53 PM

Thinking about buying a Jeep. Input needed.

Hey,

New here, but not necessarily to Mopar. Right now I own a 1998 Dodge Dakota with a 3.9 liter. I'm looking for something smaller, a bit more efficient, reliable, easy to wrench on and more offroad capable. The conclusion that I have come to is a Wrangler SE.

I was planning on saving for one, however I have come across a 1999 at a local Jeep Dealership. It has 100,000 miles on it. It is very clean outside, a bit beat up inside (Driver's seat torn), and the undercarriage hints that it may have been garaged (most cars rust like crazy in New England). They are asking 5,988 for it. I'm a DIY mechanic myself, and my friend whom owned a 94 with about 10,000 invested (sadly totaled) have both driven it and agree that it runs very well.

Any other input on the subject would be much appreciated. Comments on the 2.5 and the tranny which backs it. Reliability in general, and gas mileage expected at stock height, stock tires with a good tune and exhaust upgrades would be fantastic, however any input is accepted graciously. Should I go for it?

Thank You,

Tim

parrot head 03-10-2008 04:03 PM

My own personal opinion is tha 4 banger is gutless and does not get much better mileage than the 4.0 I6. Neither one gets good gas mileage. I have had both, and would not get the 4 banger again unless I was planning on using it mainly for crawling. I am sure that everyone that has the 4 and reads this will disagree with me. I am not dogging the 4 on reliability, just a lack of low end torque. Just my $.02:D

Levinoss 03-10-2008 04:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by parrot head (Post 204195)