Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Maryland Jeep Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f94/)
-   -   Some advice needed for lifting my TJ (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f94/some-advice-needed-for-lifting-my-tj-166556.html)

Kennycrybaby 06-13-2012 11:19 AM

Some advice needed for lifting my TJ

Some background: I never knew I cared about what vehicle I drove until I got my jeep a few months ago. Every other car I have had was just to get around. Now I am actually stoked every time I drive somewhere. Because of my history of not caring about cars, I have NO mechanical knowledge whatsoever. Being that I care now, I am trying to catch up.

I am taking on small projects with my jeep, both to make it more fun, but more so to start learning how to do these things, maintain it, etc. I just installed a CB, and PA, etc to learn the wiring, etc.

Next up, I want to lift it. I don't intend to do any really serious wheeling, so I am not in need of over killing it with a 4" lift and tires as big as me, but I would like to get it a little higher and bigger. I am mostly on pavement but I definitely drive over everything I can when I see it and have a tendency to make my own exits from parking lots, etc. Would a 2" lift, and 33" tires be what I should be looking at? Anyone recommend a particular lift kit they like, or tires for that matter? Wouldn't mind grabbing something from a local shop and supporting them, unless there is a massive price difference from online. Also, I am in need of an alignment, but I would have to do that after the lift anyway, so should I hold off on that then until afterwards?