Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   Subwoofer Wiring (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/subwoofer-wiring-169066.html)

CarolinaBound 06-24-2012 06:34 PM

Subwoofer Wiring

3 Attachment(s)
Hi forum! So for my first post I need some help with what the title states, wiring up my sub. I bought the jeep a few weeks ago( my money, not daddy's) as-is no warranty. There was a sub in a custom box taking up the whole console, but it wasn't wired up. Now I'm no wiring expert, but the sub has the wiring of a home stereo speaker it seems, and every picture I see of a wrangler sub has a whole wiring harness plus one wire. Basically Sub has two wires out, jeep has one wire to where sub would be.

Cliffs:
-Sub has different wiring from wrangler stock sub
- two wires from sub, one from jeep
- what do?
Sorry for large size, not a photo expert either

CarolinaBound 06-25-2012 07:27 PM

Anyone please?

HD Wrangler 06-25-2012 09:16 PM

Have you searched the forum? Seems I have seen something like this mentioned before.

CarolinaBound 06-26-2012 04:55 PM

I dug through the first 3 pages late last night, and most of them relate to building a box like this one. They show the whole process of making and inserting, but cut off when its time to wire it up =\

stretch05 06-29-2012 06:55 PM

A sub is just a large speaker. It too takes speakers wire like "home speakers". For good subs, they need lots of power because of their size. That's why you get an amp, which also runs a 12 volt wire, ground wire and remote turn on.

willybTJ 06-30-2012 12:48 AM

Looking at the size of the sub and the fact you said it took up the entire console I would say you bought a jeep with an aftermarket sub and no amp.

The stock sub/amp combo splits the console space and the power from the amp cant run anything over 6" mid sub worth a darn. I would forget the wiring, and start searching for an amp.