Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   ARB CKMA12 Mounting Locations (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/arb-ckma12-mounting-locations-169386.html)

MikalCarbine 06-25-2012 09:30 PM

ARB CKMA12 Mounting Locations
 
1 Attachment(s)
The ABS tray seems like the obvious spot. Anyone have pictures with this specific pump? After a couple configurations I came up with this.

Attachment 135474

It allows the solenoids and pressure switch to be worked on or replaced without removing the pump although it'd be a huge pain. The air filter is kind of cornered and probably won't receive the freshest airflow but I don't think that will make a huge difference

Any other setups?

doclouie 06-25-2012 11:11 PM

That is the exact pump I have and yes I put it on the ABS plate. Not the easiest spot to work on, but it works. It will help if you do not have cruise control.

XMRacer 06-26-2012 12:39 AM

I too have this compressor and got it on the ABS/ Spare battery tray. I don't think I would have gotten it mounted if I didn't have vents plates in back of the fenders that I could take out.
I followed another members very good install write up here
If you decide to relocate yours I'll give you all the help I can as it was a serious PITA but worth the hassle.

MikalCarbine 06-26-2012 06:47 AM

Any pictures you guys? Did you take into account servicing the pump and parts on the trail without having to remove it? I could make the pump "fit" in 100 different configurations but I think allowing it to be serviceable is a wise attribute in the install

XMRacer 06-26-2012 11:27 AM

I'll post pics in a little bit..

cashcow1608 06-26-2012 11:38 AM

When I mounted mine I was able to pull the tray out. mount the compressor, then put the tray back in with the compressor mounted to it. I dont think you can do this if you have cruise control though.

doclouie 06-26-2012 12:12 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Attachment 135626I do have cruise and you cannot do that, but that is exactly how I got mine in. I removed the cruise control. It would be easy enough to get to if needed.

ygohome 06-26-2012 12:30 PM

I don't have inner fenders or that tray anymore. So we put it on a custom bracket welded to the frame. On my jeep, this location sits up high enough and hasn't caused any problems after river crossings.

http://inlinethumb40.webshots.com/49...600x600Q85.jpg

If I had the ABS tray, that seems like the ideal location.

XMRacer 06-26-2012 01:05 PM

4 Attachment(s)
It's.not any fun but you can get it on the tray

Attachment 135629

I put the little manifold block up high so it would be easy to get to, and wouldn't have to be digging around to put the air hose on to fill the tires.



Attachment 135631



Attachment 135632

this is the vent I have. Being able to remove this made a huge difference.

Attachment 135633

erickpl 06-26-2012 01:54 PM

Poison Spyder DeFenders?

XMRacer 06-26-2012 02:24 PM

GenRight

MikalCarbine 06-26-2012 02:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by doclouie
I do have cruise and you cannot do that, but that is exactly how I got mine in. I removed the cruise control. It would be easy enough to get to if needed.

Any other angles?

XMRacer 06-26-2012 02:44 PM

You can move your cruise control.. Mine was moved when I did the fender/vent mod. Not that hard to just move it up higher on the inner fender to get the room down there.
In the install write up link I posted the guy talks about how he moved his.

MikalCarbine 06-26-2012 03:47 PM

I don't have cruise control so I have plenty of room, I do have my master cylinder (5 speed) but it's no big deal. I'm just curious of other peoples configurations

Wesboy 06-26-2012 06:38 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Mine is mounted to the front bumper - I'll have to move it if I ever get a winch.
Had a cover made up for it - keeps the crap off out on the trail - ARB also reccomend keeping it out of direct sunlight.

MikalCarbine 06-26-2012 09:43 PM

I liked doclouie's setup so I tried it out, it allowed excellent space for being able to work on everything

In case anyone in the future is curious, here is how I mocked everything up

First I placed the compressor on the ABS tray with solenoids and pressure switch installed and marked where the base laid with a marker. I then removed the ABS tray and marked it all up again. It turns out the location I chose just happened to line up with an existing hole and a welded on nut (probably for ABS?). I drilled out the nut and cleaned it up as seen below

http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/3...0626201836.jpg

http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/531...0626201847.jpg

I then lined up the rest and drilled two 1/4" holes
http://img809.imageshack.us/img809/4...0626203648.jpg

I then tried mounting the tray with the pump and base plate installed but there was no way to make it fit without pulling other stuff. I installed the ABS tray alone and then installed the pump. It was extra work and took a little more time but I was able to do it alone

http://img855.imageshack.us/img855/3...0626214519.jpg

I'm very happy with this location, I even installed the solenoids after the pump and had no issues.

I had no issues routing my rear air line, anyone care to comment on this setup for the front?

http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/9...0626220202.jpg

I ran it up the front near the radiator with the diff vent tube. I'm kind of curious how this would play out at full stuff, I don't feel like pulling my coils to find out.. It seems like the frame might start coming down on the air line

XMRacer 06-26-2012 11:41 PM

Give the same advice as I got from ARB tech support (which is top notch. You talk to a live person from the minute they answer till your done; which only takes 5 minutes as they know their stuff and do whatever it takes) zip tie the shit outta it. If it comes near something tie it to it (if it 's not a moving part)
But looks good!

doclouie 06-26-2012 11:57 PM

You did exactly what I did to install the compressor. I ran my line down the top driver's side control arm if I remember correctly so it would flex at the two joint and nowhere else. So far so good as I have not had a problem at all and yes use lots of zip ties just in case. I can fill all four 31" tires from 14 psi up to 35 psi in right under 10 minutes. Not super fast, but helps when driving a long way.

When doing elephant hill in Moab there is over an hour of driving just to get to the trail head. It was nice to air up after that trail.

MikalCarbine 06-27-2012 05:29 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by doclouie
You did exactly what I did to install the compressor. I ran my line down the top driver's side control arm if I remember correctly so it would flex at the two joint and nowhere else. So far so good as I have not had a problem at all and yes use lots of zip ties just in case. I can fill all four 31" tires from 14 psi up to 35 psi in right under 10 minutes. Not super fast, but helps when driving a long way.

When doing elephant hill in Moab there is over an hour of driving just to get to the trail head. It was nice to air up after that trail.

I tried above the UCA but felt it was too close to the exhaust

Attachment 135824

Is this similar to yours?

MikalCarbine 07-01-2012 09:02 AM

I decided to have the air line follow the diff vent tube and to stay away from the exhaust

Wiring everything up right now, going super smooth. Anyone notice the master 40A fuse is very close to the pump instead of the battery (the way it should be). Did anyone relocate theirs so it's closer to the battery?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 AM.