Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Transformation Process Started, still have questions. (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/transformation-process-started-still-have-questions-170260.html)

ShreksJK2010 06-29-2012 08:56 PM

Transformation Process Started, still have questions.
 
Hey all! FYI I am a newbie to the Jeep world. Currently drive a 2010 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited. I have been doing a lot of reading on this forum and have decided to go with a Teraflex 2.5" coil lift with shocks, and 33x12.5.15 Duratracs on MB TKO.

My first question is will I have to get a new tire carrier for the upgraded rim and tire? If so what brands are recommended?

When speaking with my brother (a fellow Jeeper) said I should get beefier upper and lower balljoints. Do I need to have those done right away or will I be ok with what I have on the Rubicon now?

Also after installing the Teraflex kit, should I have an alignment done?

This is only the first step in my Jeep's transformation, hopefully many more to come. Will post before and after picks when finished.

Any help would be great!!

Thanks!:punk:

kjeeper10 06-29-2012 09:22 PM

For 33's your carrier should be fine.
The stock balljoints are garbage but no need to replace until they show signs of wear.
Stay with 33's and you really don't have to worry much.

You may have to recenter the steering wheel after the lift. Only other stock adj is your toe but that should not change.
Alignment is pretty easy to DIY.

Good luck :)

JKralph 06-29-2012 09:40 PM

x2 what kjeeper said. also, you won't need a new carrier, just extended tailgate bumpstops.

ShreksJK2010 06-30-2012 04:34 AM

Has anyone installed a lift like this themselves?? I can turn a wrench, but....well sometimes it doesn't go as planned. Just curious how hard it will be. Trying to avoid going to a shop and having it done.

kjeeper10 06-30-2012 05:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ShreksJK2010
Has anyone installed a lift like this themselves?? I can turn a wrench, but....well sometimes it doesn't go as planned. Just curious how hard it will be. Trying to avoid going to a shop and having it done.

Pretty simple. Teraflex has a good install video on YouTube.
Air tools/impact gun helps a ton. If you don't have that is ok.
Post up on WF local. There is always somebody that is willing to help :thumb:

ShreksJK2010 07-02-2012 10:16 PM

So I just got my 33x12.5 Duratracs and TKO's installed today. So far I have put about 100 miles on them and the TPMS light has been on since I left Discount Tire. Went around and checked pressure in all tires, they were fine, they were at about 35 psi. When I had the tires installed I requested them to transfer over the TPMS sensors to the new tires. I am confused whats going on, I know the tires are fine, but I want the damn light off.

The person I spoke with at Discount Tire said to drive the vehicle for about a day and it should go off.

Any suggestion would be great. Thanks for the help

CaneJeep 07-02-2012 10:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ShreksJK2010 (Post 2539150)
So I just got my 33x12.5 Duratracs and TKO's installed today. So far I have put about 100 miles on them and the TPMS light has been on since I left Discount Tire. Went around and checked pressure in all tires, they were fine, they were at about 35 psi. When I had the tires installed I requested them to transfer over the TPMS sensors to the new tires. I am confused whats going on, I know the tires are fine, but I want the damn light off.

The person I spoke with at Discount Tire said to drive the vehicle for about a day and it should go off.

Any suggestion would be great. Thanks for the help

Did you check the spare?
It will go off, mine did in about couple of hours...

ShreksJK2010 07-02-2012 10:55 PM

Yeah, that was the first tire I checked. Well if its not off by Thursday, guess I will be returning to DT.

On a side note, Discount Tire was great to deal with. Definitely would do business with them again.

JPi1 07-02-2012 11:01 PM

Try 36 or 37. Mine would never shut off till 36, with a digital tire gauge

ShreksJK2010 07-02-2012 11:37 PM

I did purchase an AEV Procal, hopefully here by the end of the week, I guess if the light doesnt reset I will lower the threshold a little.

sobeperry 07-06-2012 09:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ShreksJK2010
I did purchase an AEV Procal, hopefully here by the end of the week, I guess if the light doesnt reset I will lower the threshold a little.

Does anyone with or looking to buy a procal live in south Florida? I'm looking to purchase and only want to adjust the fog lights to DRL's. Can the same device be used on multiple vehicles? Anyone want to split the cost?

JKralph 07-06-2012 01:40 PM

the same device cannot be used on multiple vehicles. Before selling their procal, the owner has to reset their system settings to stock before the module will work on another vehicle. kinda lame, but you can see why AEV does it that way.

Daniel_M 07-06-2012 02:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sobeperry (Post 2550884)
Does anyone with or looking to buy a procal live in south Florida? I'm looking to purchase and only want to adjust the fog lights to DRL's. Can the same device be used on multiple vehicles? Anyone want to split the cost?

x2 on what Ralph said. Once used, it is locked to that vehicle. Even sometimes bought 2nd hand some people have trouble, though the first vehicle was returned to stock.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JKralph (Post 2551783)
the same device cannot be used on multiple vehicles. Before selling their procal, the owner has to reset their system settings to stock before the module will work on another vehicle. kinda lame, but you can see why AEV does it that way.

All tuners are that way. Keeps people from pooling money together and loaning tuners and calibrators out. Can't really blame the manufacturers from doing this BUT Superchips Flashpaq is $$$$$$$

-Dan

ShreksJK2010 07-07-2012 11:30 AM

Turns out I had two bad sensors, they got replaced, so no more light. However the procal will still come in handy.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 PM.