Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/)
-   -   Spare tire won't fit after rear bumper install (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f282/spare-tire-wont-fit-after-rear-bumper-install-171362.html)

roastemover 07-05-2012 02:22 AM

Spare tire won't fit after rear bumper install

I'm a newb Jeep owner and just installed a Smittybuilt rock crawler rear bumper on my 06 TJ. After the install the spare tire (32') will not fit, sits on the bumper and needs about 1.5 to 2 inches more space. Does anyone know of an adapter or have any ideas? I know this has to be somewhat common???

TJDave 07-05-2012 02:32 AM

1.25" Body lift.

Tub mounted spare tire carrier...Or Fab, or Bestop.

I think Warrior products makes a different stock type tire carrier for oversize tires. But, you would be adding more leverage on the tailgate. The stock tailgate really can't handle a tire larger than 31" for very long unless you make sure that the rubber snubbers are extended out to the tire. That will keep the tire from bouncing around and help prolong the life of your tailgate. But even doing that, some people still have had problems. I was lucky and ran a 33" tire on my stock carrier for a couple years with no issues before I bought a Bestop tire carrier. But without my 1.25" body lift, it would not have fit.

AFGUY1980 07-05-2012 02:55 AM

You don't need a body lift and it is fine to run a 33 inch tire on the stock mount. I have been doing it for years on several different jeep tj's. There are a few company's who make brackets that will extend the tire out off the gate an inch or so. I have even seen a bracket that lifts the tire up vertically off of your bumper. Stay away from body lifts. They are bad news and they look nasty. Good luck

TnDz TJ 07-05-2012 06:30 AM

Just grab some 1.25" square stock and space the carrier off the gate for clearance....

Neil F. 07-05-2012 06:49 AM

Quote: