Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   No doors, lights on? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/no-doors-lights-on-171708.html)

MattGray15 07-06-2012 12:32 PM

No doors, lights on?
 
Hey guys, I'm pretty new to everything. Just got my 05 black wrangler x two weeks ago. Finally decided to take the doors off of her, but my lights above my seats stay on when my doors come off! There has to be something I can disconnect possibly to make the lights go off when I take the doors off so my battery doesn't die? Anyone know any solution? Thanks in advance

blkrubi88 07-06-2012 12:38 PM

Pull the #4 fuse behind the glove box.

MississippiDirtTJ 07-06-2012 12:39 PM

Pull fuse #4 behind the glove box. This disables the annoying door chime as well. Downside is that your jeep will no longer tell you when you leave your headlights on. A worthy trade off IMO :D

Dextreme 07-06-2012 12:41 PM

I wrapped a piece of duct tape to the fuse (made a flap) so that its really easy to reach in and pull.

Vroooom 07-06-2012 12:44 PM

1) pull fuse number 4 as described above.
2) buy one of the clip gizmos available from most outfitters to trick your jeep into thinking the door is there.
3) Install a switch that replaces the fuse and trick the jeep into thinking the fuse is there or removed, depending on how you flip da switch.

jersey steve 07-06-2012 12:55 PM

We spent the $30 or so for the switch from quadratec. Its pretty convenient.

Another option is to pull the bulb out of the dome light. Then you don't lose the chime for the headlights.

sm

jersey steve 07-06-2012 12:58 PM

We spent the $30 or so for the switch from quadratec. Its pretty convenient.

Another option is to pull the bulb out of the dome light.

sm

SouthTJ 07-06-2012 01:38 PM

X2 on the Quadratec switch. Best solution in my opinion.

http://www.quadratec.com/Assets/Imag...8/37358-md.jpg

NC Bear 07-06-2012 04:03 PM

I just pulled the switch out of both door frames, pulled the cables out and put the switches back in. 2 seconds and done. (access them from under the dash.)

leppich_italy 07-06-2012 04:29 PM

1- pull the #4 fuse from behind the glove box--note also disables the chime if you leave your lights on. can = dead battery. keep that in mind
2- pull the bulb out of the light if you don't need it--all works as it should but you don't have a light in the cab.
3- add a switch to the #4 fuse so you don't have to drop the glove box and pull the fuse out- still disables the chime if you leave your lights on. can = dead battery. keep that in mind

TJspeed 07-06-2012 04:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SouthTJ (Post 2552013)

you can build one of those for less then $5.

desertrat04 07-06-2012 06:11 PM

I just bought the clips off evilbay!

grunt0311 07-06-2012 08:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dextreme (Post 2551784)
I wrapped a piece of duct tape to the fuse (made a flap) so that its really easy to reach in and pull.

mcgyver

Jersey Jeeper 08-25-2013 03:40 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by TJspeed (Post 2552614)

you can build one of those for less then $5.

That's exactly what I did and mounted it in the switch cluster. Total cost about $7 and that includes tax. I still have enough parts to make about 3 more.

RevCo666 08-25-2013 03:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jersey Jeeper (Post 4118895)
That's exactly what I did and mounted it in the switch cluster. Total cost about $7 and that includes tax. I still have enough parts to make about 3 more.

Why not make a few more then and sell em here? :)

Jersey Jeeper 08-25-2013 03:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RevCo666 (Post 4118903)

Why not make a few more then and sell em here? :)

I may make some and bring them to the next get together. I was gonna bring some to OCMD this weekend but couldn't get down there.

JReed615 08-25-2013 03:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dextreme (Post 2551784)
I wrapped a piece of duct tape to the fuse (made a flap) so that its really easy to reach in and pull.

That's genius!

RevCo666 08-25-2013 04:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jersey Jeeper (Post 4118936)
I may make some and bring them to the next get together. I was gonna bring some to OCMD this weekend but couldn't get down there.

I kinda like the switch idea even tho I don't take my doors off... Stealth mode :)

Jersey Jeeper 08-25-2013 04:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RevCo666 (Post 4118975)

I kinda like the switch idea even tho I don't take my doors off... Stealth mode :)

Comes in handy when I'm sneaking in at 3am after being out all day.

Notoriously_rob 08-25-2013 04:14 PM

1 Attachment(s)
This is what the previous owner did- i havent fixed it yet...

TanAndTatted8 08-25-2013 04:16 PM

I bought the little spring clips from shopjeepparts.com and they work great. Around $7. Just takes a second to put them on and the jeep thinks the doors are on

my996duc1 08-26-2013 07:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TJspeed (Post 2552614)
you can build one of those for less then $5.


how about a parts list and some quick instructions for those that aren't so electrically involved ?

_

Rayko 08-27-2013 10:57 AM

Got the little spring things from Qtec, they work great. Takes about a minute to put them on.

gsellars 08-29-2013 12:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NC Bear (Post 2552479)
I just pulled the switch out of both door frames, pulled the cables out and put the switches back in. 2 seconds and done. (access them from under the dash.)


Did the same. Works well and no messing with fuses

ABombs13 08-29-2013 12:53 PM

the spring clips are the cheap and easy way to do it. looking into getting the switch down the road but the clips work fine for now.

T2000J 08-29-2013 01:30 PM

Only problem I had with the clips I would for get about them when I put the doors back on broke 2 door pins needles to say my fuse stays out until the hard top & full doors go back on first snow fall


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 AM.