Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   Adding speakers (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/adding-speakers-174205.html)

Juhcohbee 07-16-2012 09:32 PM

Adding speakers

Kay so I have an aftermarket stereo with an amp sub and I only have the speakers in the dash I had overhead speakers but they were all blown so I took it out and I bought 2 new speakers and I was going to make some boxes and throw them in the back of my jeep, I'm very new to stereos and stuff like that so if you guys can throw me any tips or any guides on how to add 2 new speakers to a existing setup, any help is very appreciated!!! Thanks everyone.

Juhcohbee 07-16-2012 11:07 PM

Anyone know anything??

LouieDelTorchio 07-16-2012 11:22 PM

For the overhead speakers, the factory is 5.25" but you can fit 6.5" with drilling. Its really quite easy.

I have Polk Db521s in there and they sound really good without an amp, just the head unit. They are also marine rated. Its pretty much just a plug and play.

LouieDelTorchio 07-16-2012 11:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LouieDelTorchio
For the overhead speakers, the factory is 5.25" but you can fit 6.5" with drilling. Its really quite easy.

I have Polk Db521s in there and they sound really good without an amp, just the head unit. They are also marine rated. Its pretty much just a plug and play.

I totally misread your question. You want to put speakers i n boxes in the back? Where abouts?

Juhcohbee 07-17-2012 01:02 AM

All I want to do is add.two speakers to the back side of my jeep to make four speakers all together. I am not using the over head box anymore ill be building new boxes or using ammo cans or something. I just need to know hours to add two speaker wires. Thanks!

1SAS 07-17-2012 06:50 AM