Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   should i rip out my old audio wiring? (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/should-i-rip-out-my-old-audio-wiring-174728.html)

El Matador 07-18-2012 10:06 PM

should i rip out my old audio wiring?
 
tomorrow i am picking up my new 2012 sahara unlimited and from what i read so far i see the audio is going to be needing some upgrading. but before trading in my 1993 mazda 626 (please don't laugh) i'd like to know if it will be necessary to rip out all the old wiring from my old car or if i can get away with just pulling the amps and the head unit? i only ask because im not sure if i can just swap out my stuff for the stock jeep stuff as it's all pre-wired or if it's a more involved process . . . it's such a pain to take everything apart to get all the wiring out . . . you know?

catalinafairview 07-18-2012 10:08 PM

Just curios as to why you would want to replace the unit that comes with the Sahara with old equipment. The Sahara is a beautifully equipped rig.

firehawk 07-18-2012 10:16 PM

sahara
 
:dance:hi, the sahara radio is not bad, keep it for a few months and
if u don't care for it then 'rip it out'. you could up grade the speakers, and
get the sound u like without spending big $$$ lets hear from u in a few
months...:popcorn:

El Matador 07-18-2012 10:21 PM

well i didnt necessarily want to take out the head unit . . . but from what i've read so far my 720watt 4-channel would do a little better job than the infinity.

j0nx 07-19-2012 07:02 AM

The infinity is not a bad system. It's a hell of a lot better than the stock crapper that I have. That's the one regret I have is not buying the tan jeep with the infinity system because it didn't have the steps and it was $1200 more than the one I bought. I figured for $1200 I could install a much better system but after this 100+ degree summer we've been having I'm wishing I would have gone with that tan after all...

El Matador 07-19-2012 07:55 AM

Alright then so no need for the power and rca cables to hook up a 4-channel in a jk. . Cheers.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.