Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   JK General Discussion Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/)
-   -   Calibrating speedometer (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/calibrating-speedometer-186193.html)

Bmoore0421 09-10-2012 05:53 PM

Calibrating speedometer
 
My dealer says I need "parts",to calibrate the speedometer on my 2012 wrangler. When I got it I had the 16 wheels taken off and the 17 inch wheels put on, looks much better. The speedometer is off by 5 or 6 miles an hour according to the GPS.

I asked the dealer to fix it during my 3,000 mile oil change (free or I would do it myself). And to do the calibration, which I believe is a computer adjustment. Am I wrong do indeed new parts?

Just want to be informed before I act like a jerk at the dealer

lolpetewtf 09-10-2012 06:02 PM

You just need this: AEV Conversions 30406007AB - AEV ProCal Module for 07-12 Jeep® Wrangler & Wrangler Unlimited JK - Quadratec

50 Something 09-10-2012 06:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bmoore0421 (Post 2778103)
My dealer says I need "parts",to calibrate the speedometer on my 2012 wrangler. When I got it I had the 16 wheels taken off and the 17 inch wheels put on, looks much better. The speedometer is off by 5 or 6 miles an hour according to the GPS.

I asked the dealer to fix it during my 3,000 mile oil change (free or I would do it myself). And to do the calibration, which I believe is a computer adjustment. Am I wrong do indeed new parts?

Just want to be informed before I act like a jerk at the dealer

I think I would act like a jerk, since I did a little bit. They do not know how to do it or will not do it. Service manager at the dealership I bought mine at said that he and his top tech tried for 2 hours and couldn't do it with the software they had at this time. As before mentioned I got the AEV Procal for $149.99 with free shipping and no tax from Quadratec.

50 Something

Rooster76 09-10-2012 06:41 PM

The dealer can only calibrate to the factory sizes. If the 17 are some Sport take-offs then they should be able to do it. At least that is what I have heard a few times.

50 Something 09-10-2012 06:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rooster76 (Post 2778217)
The dealer can only calibrate to the factory sizes. If the 17 are some Sport take-offs then they should be able to do it. At least that is what I have heard a few times.

Yes they probably would not have done it anyway, because their book says you can only go to up to a 255/85R16 on my Sport without lifting and I put 285/70R17's without a lift. No rubbing!

50 Something

Goody24 09-10-2012 06:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lolpetewtf (Post 2778118)



+1 procal. So easy. Took 10 mins.

REYoungJr 05-10-2013 07:57 AM

Anyone with experience using the Superchips FlashCal for recalibrating the speedometer?

The AEV ProCal sounds like it works well. But the dip switch method of selecting what you are setting on the ProCal seems a little archaic by todays standards.

The FlashCal on the other hand has a display and softkeys to select the settings you are going to change. They both cost roughly the same so was leaning towards the later as it seemed more user friendly and modern. Not to mention can be updated vie the web should additional features or changes become available later on.

ahsumtoy 05-10-2013 09:04 AM

After Talking to the Service Manager at Jeep
 
He told me they can only update the OBD II computer to 285 size tires. He says that due to the feds and emmision control and regulations, they can't tamper any further than that.

Get yourself a AEV Procal module. It will do much more than just recalibrate your tire size for you.

fireguy 05-10-2013 04:23 PM

Bought the procal for the 13. Adjusted for large tires, TPMS to 20psi and it worked great. speedo is within .6 mph. Very easy to do, great instructions.

robdizzle 05-10-2013 04:31 PM

Just get the pro cal kit and save yourself the trouble of trying to deal with the dealership. You won't be disappointed. Its super easy to use and does more than just recalibrate for larger tire sizes.

Tweak 05-10-2013 05:45 PM

My 2013 came with the procomp branded hypertech tuner. No clue why but it was in the glovebox when I drove it home. I wouldnt suggest getting it, it's $100 more than the procal and does the same thing.

In a perfect world, Jeeps would have this functionality built into the EVIC, but I'm sure its a liability issue.

cmaggi2 05-10-2013 05:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by REYoungJr (Post 3740591)
Anyone with experience using the Superchips FlashCal for recalibrating the speedometer?

The AEV ProCal sounds like it works well. But the dip switch method of selecting what you are setting on the ProCal seems a little archaic by todays standards.

The FlashCal on the other hand has a display and softkeys to select the settings you are going to change. They both cost roughly the same so was leaning towards the later as it seemed more user friendly and modern. Not to mention can be updated vie the web should additional features or changes become available later on.

I have the Flashpaq and it's super easy. If you just need to adjust the tire size, it's not worth 300 though. The dip sticks may take a lil longer, but accomplish the same thing. I haven't seen the flashcal features, but compare that to the Procal. For only $10 difference, get whichever one suits you better...flashcal or Procal.

convict27 05-10-2013 05:56 PM

I picked up the Superchips Flashcal and it worked great. I heard that guys with the '13 had some issues, but I have a '12 and it worked just fine. There is a thread here http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/sup...al-227055.html

I love having the display instead of using toggle switches. Super easy. Had everything done in less than 5 minutes. I picked it up from autoanything. They give you a 15% off coupon upon your first visit, and then once you sign up, then send you another 15% off coupon for another purchase in your email. got mine for $135 shipped. They also do 2 day shipping.

cmaggi2 05-10-2013 08:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by convict27 (Post 3742513)
I picked up the Superchips Flashcal and it worked great. I heard that guys with the '13 had some issues, but I have a '12 and it worked just fine. There is a thread here http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/sup...al-227055.html

I love having the display instead of using toggle switches. Super easy. Had everything done in less than 5 minutes. I picked it up from autoanything. They give you a 15% off coupon upon your first visit, and then once you sign up, then send you another 15% off coupon for another purchase in your email. got mine for $135 shipped. They also do 2 day shipping.

Sounds like a great deal. Check our Vendors too as they may match the price.

Lil Black JK 05-17-2013 10:17 AM

I was reading the specs on these and the fine print says that they won't work with manual transmissions. Can anyone clarify what they will and won't do? I'm getting new wheels and tires next week. Going to 285 duratraks on DCII's.

Thanks


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.