Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   Air conditioner (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/air-conditioner-1876.html)

coolman8bc 05-29-2006 11:11 PM

Air conditioner
 
My 97 didn't come with a/c, does anyone know where i can buy one and how much they usually run?

Nuthin 05-29-2006 11:31 PM

Units are readily available from a number of vendors. This is just one of them but I believe the prices to be fairly equal between sellers.

http://www.nostalgicairparts.com/getcategory.php?cat=9

hth

rcmerlin 07-17-2006 11:45 PM

Can you, add stock AC?
 
I want to add AC to my 97 TJ. Is it possible to add a stock unit? Basically, get a stock AC compressor and bolt it on, then vent it. Possible? Yes/No, Impossible/Hard/Easy?
Thanks

amerijeep 07-18-2006 09:18 AM

TJ with no A/C? Someone recently told us on here that only the YJs came without A/C.....

JamminJeep 07-18-2006 10:35 AM

Thanks
 
Thanks for the link. I am thinking of putting AC in my 2001 TJ.:)

mrbigjeep 07-18-2006 12:11 PM

huh lol...if your talkin bout me...i simply said that a lot of yj's came without a/c...i said nothing about only yj's coming with no a/c...and i didn't say that all tj's had a/c either...but i dont know if you were talkin about me or not lol cuz i didn't say that...but anyway i know that www.collinsbrosjeep.com has an aftermarket air conditioner that you can buy

amerijeep 07-18-2006 06:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjeep
huh lol...if your talkin bout me...i simply said that a lot of yj's came without a/c...i said nothing about only yj's coming with no a/c...and i didn't say that all tj's had a/c either...but i dont know if you were talkin about me or not lol cuz i didn't say that...but anyway i know that www.collinsbrosjeep.com has an aftermarket air conditioner that you can buy


Just picking. I knew what you meant. I was only poking fun about it.

mrbigjeep 07-18-2006 10:20 PM

lol, just makin sure :D

409biscayne 07-19-2006 10:28 AM

My 98 doesn't have a/c . Hasn't been a problem , i run without the top all summer . But if i buy a new one it will have a/c.
Later ............................... 409 :)

Blwndr83 07-20-2006 07:51 AM

my 2000 TJ doesnt have air either, isnt a big problem except those hot humid days that it decides to rain!!! it gets really muggy inside the jeep!!!

RWsJeep 07-25-2006 03:42 PM

I've been running a safari top all summer .... Up until last Saturday when the temp hit 118 degrees :eek: .... Soft top is now back on with AC doing it's job.

1BLKJP 07-25-2006 05:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RWsJeep
I've been running a safari top all summer .... Up until last Saturday when the temp hit 118 degrees :eek: .... Soft top is now back on with AC doing it's job.

Ah, come on. It's been in the 110's here for weeks here in AZ and I'm still rockin the bikini top and no doors. It's not that hot. :D

Texapple 07-25-2006 09:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amerijeep
TJ with no A/C? Someone recently told us on here that only the YJs came without A/C.....


Frank must have the special edition: he won't wheel in the summer without A/C :cool:

mrbigjeep 07-25-2006 09:14 PM

lol :D

409biscayne 07-26-2006 01:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1BLKJP
Ah, come on. It's been in the 110's here for weeks here in AZ and I'm still rockin the bikini top and no doors. It's not that hot. :D

Man , how do ya do it . It was 107 here yesterday , the wife and i were out in the Jeep with the bikini , that was my limit . Even going 60 on the highway was no help , felt like a furnace . Whine whine :D
Oh well , doesnt last too much longer .

MR.CLIFFORD 07-26-2006 08:55 AM

well... how about some tech??

Since I'm adding a V8 that has an AC compressor I knew for sure I was hooking it up. Only problem I found was the HVAC system does not have the coil for cold air to pass through. Which means.... you need a whole new HVAC system. If you know what that means... then yes you are correct! You do have to pull the dash and replace it all. Look on your firewall. There should be 2 hookups. Kinda hard to see in this picture but you won't have them there.

http://www.bluetorchfab.com/gallery/...a/DSC_0673.jpg

Right up close and out of focus on the bottom left of the picture.

1BLKJP 07-26-2006 07:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 409biscayne
Man , how do ya do it . It was 107 here yesterday , the wife and i were out in the Jeep with the bikini , that was my limit . Even going 60 on the highway was no help , felt like a furnace . Whine whine :D
Oh well , doesnt last too much longer .

Don't know. Sure don't mind A/C when I'm in someone elses ride, but it doesn't really seem to bother me unless i'm sitting in traffic. Then I get a little irritable and have visions of driving over the little honda's and hyundai's in front of me. :D

Clifford, that Swap is lookin good boss.

MR.CLIFFORD 07-27-2006 01:09 AM

well... that isn't my jeep. That is project Rock Mafia from BTF. I knew that had the connections in the picture and my jeep doesn't. :)

That is a ram jet. I have a LT1 but it is still on the garage floor. UGH! Too much to get done! LOL


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.