Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   TJ Tech Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/)
-   -   TPS problems (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/tps-problems-191368.html)

Krol 10-04-2012 03:58 PM

TPS problems
 
Hey guys new to the forum and i need some help. Little over a year and a half ago while driving down the interstate my jeep a 03 wrangler sport I6 4.0 acted like I lost power and seemed to be cutting in and out, then the check engine light came on. I quickly went and got it checked. P122 code. Got a new sensor put it on but its never been back to the same ol jeep I had in the past. I still have the code showing, changed the sensor twice now with no real improvement. Had it in the shop a few times and they say they can't find anything wrong with it. it always acts like it cuts in and out at around 45-55mph. With winter coming if I can't get this fixed I'm screwed

Krol 10-06-2012 08:33 PM

anyone?

tangofox007 10-06-2012 11:09 PM

It would be a good idea to inspect the TPS connector and associated wiring. If possible, round up a OBD2 scanner the provides real-time sensor data.

Mom sold the Jeepster 10-07-2012 04:43 PM

I had to get 3 different replacement TPS til I got one that works. Lots of guys on the forum recommend original equipment TPS from the dealer

Offrd 02-17-2013 05:53 AM

So what ever was the solution?

Herbie424 02-17-2013 08:40 AM

Sort of the same issue here. I went straight to the dealer for this one. Little nore expensive but atleast I knew the part would work and if it didn't they would replace it again.

C.L. 02-17-2013 09:48 AM

Get one from the dealer. It will cost more for ONE sensor, but less than buying 5 from auto-zone... The forums are full of people reporting out-of-the-box failures on parts store TPS. Also, leave your negative battery cable off overnight after changing it to reset the computer. It'll clear the code, and then "relearn" the new sensor within a couple hours of driving.

tangofox007 02-17-2013 10:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by C.L. (Post 3379950)
Get one from the dealer. It will cost more for ONE sensor, but less than buying 5 from auto-zone...

Considering that a TPS from Autozone comes with a lifetime warranty, buying more than one would reasonably be unnecessary. Considering that a TPS is very easy to replace, doesn't usually fail catastrophically and that the Mopar TPS has only a one-year warranty, Autozone might not be such a bad bet.

clint98 02-17-2013 12:30 PM

Are you getting low voyage tps code ,it mite not be the tps at all it maybe the clockspring I know sound crazy but that was the problem with mine but you can unplug clockspring to check

Atthehop 02-17-2013 12:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tangofox007 (Post 3380133)
Considering that a TPS from Autozone comes with a lifetime warranty, buying more than one would reasonably be unnecessary. Considering that a TPS is very easy to replace, doesn't usually fail catastrophically and that the Mopar TPS has only a one-year warranty, Autozone might not be such a bad bet.

That's how they suck you in, lifetime warranty to get you to come back in to replace something that is made poorly. I bet if they had to cover the labor they would not offer that warranty. But then there's a sucker born every minute.

tangofox007 02-17-2013 01:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Atthehop (Post 3380508)
That's how they suck you in, lifetime warranty to get you to come back in to replace something that is made poorly. I bet if they had to cover the labor they would not offer that warranty. But then there's a sucker born every minute.

If the OE TPS was such a high quality part, they would not be failing so often.

In the case of the TPS, failure is more a matter of when, not if. The OE part will likely last long enough to outlive its 12 month warranty. Then you get to pay all over again. Been there, done that. Don't do it any more. When my TPS fails, I'll put it on the counter and walk out the door with a new one. For that matter, my parts store TPS has already outlasted the OE part.

Dac7529 02-17-2013 03:56 PM

Tps problem
 
Well contrary to popular belief disconnecting the neg battery cable to reset the computer
only works on 91-95 models. 1997 and later models codes must be cleared from the pcm memory using a scan tool, after the new tps is installed that is. Your throwing a PO122. throttle position sensor input below the minimum acceptable voltage. Get your pcm cleared By a scan tool then go from there. If you've bought more than one tPS and your still throwing that code then either the pcm needs resetting or its in the wiring/connector. Good luck.

tangofox007 02-17-2013 04:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dac7529 (Post 3381070)
If you've bought more than one tPS and your still throwing that code then either the pcm needs resetting or its in the wiring/connector.

That undoubtedly explains a lot of those alleged "out of the box" TPS failures.

Dac7529 02-17-2013 04:20 PM

You got my point exactly. But I wasn't Gonna argue that auto zone sells crap.

Atthehop 02-17-2013 04:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dac7529 (Post 3381139)
You got my point exactly. But I wasn't Gonna argue that auto zone sells crap.

A lot of the electrical parts in the aftermarket stores are from china and we all know cheap equals crap. At least the OEM parts need to meet some quality controls and not just price.

Dac7529 02-17-2013 04:59 PM

aftermarket stores
 
Yessir aftermarket parts are very inconsistent even when claimed to meet OEM specs. I personaly prefer true OEM parts mopar dahlmer chrysler. not aftermarket parts that claim to be oem.

C.L. 02-17-2013 09:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dac7529 (Post 3381070)
Well contrary to popular belief disconnecting the neg battery cable to reset the computer only works on 91-95 models. 1997 and later models codes must be cleared from the pcm memory using a scan tool

I can't speak for popular belief, but i've cleared my '04 by pulling the battery cable more than once...

Hillbilly1 02-18-2013 04:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by C.L. (Post 3382508)
I can't speak for popular belief, but i've cleared my '04 by pulling the battery cable more than once...

The code is still there, it's just stored in the computer. If the condition is no longer there, the cel will stay off, until the condition is tripped again. The old OBD1 would not store it.

mrpotatohead 02-18-2013 05:03 PM

Definitely check the wiring. I went through a TPS every time it rained (it took me a few times to finally get suspicious) or I washed my Jeep and found a few chaffed wires on the connector

Dac7529 02-20-2013 01:08 PM

Either way. always clear the codes from the pcm before Starting the engine after a new electroniccontrol component is installed. You must reset the computer it will force your computer to relearn the new operating Parametrs. "The pcm may set a trouble code if a new sensor is allowed to operate before the paramaters from the old sensor have been erase electronic

Krol 03-01-2014 06:18 PM

Well I know is been way too long since I posted. Since my original a few things have occurred.
1 I finally broke down after repeated tps sensors and took it to a mechanic (drum roll). Mice had apparently eaten the wiring under the dash so a brand new harness put in.

2 I know have another issue that I am working on. It no longer idles at all let my foot off the gas engine just stops. No sputtering or anything RPMs just drop to 0. At first I was thinking fuel filter. Now I'm thinking its a bad battery. I'm gonna replace it tomorrow and see if that works.

After I had the wiring harness replaced it ran like I remember it.

ljjp10 03-02-2014 06:59 AM

The battery doesn't keep your jeep running after start up, that's the alternators job. You might be having TPS problems again. Idle problems also can point to your AIC. Do a search, really easy to clean. Good Luck

ljjp10 03-02-2014 07:33 AM

Sorry not AIC, should have said IAC. Good Luck

Krol 03-05-2014 08:04 PM

We'll I did change the battery and lo and behold it fixed all my issues. She now idles fine and runs like she did prior.

As a side note the battery that I pulled out was the one put in from the factory. I can only hope this one last as long.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.