Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   Fog light wiring harness (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/fog-light-wiring-harness-201149.html)

Heineman4 11-23-2012 11:02 AM

Fog light wiring harness
 
im putting some hella 50mm xenons in my custom bumper. i figured id just use the unused factory fog light wiring harness (doesnt have the factory fog light option but wiring is there) and just buy a factory switch to go in the blank and put a fuse in the fuse panel for the "fog lights". Good idea yes or no? another thing, looks like the unused wiring harness is mounted on the side of the cruise control box (is that right or not?), any idea on how to get it off??? havin a heck of a time with that thing.

BlueRidgeYJ 11-23-2012 06:15 PM

Hello, and welcome.

Were I doing it, I would run better wires than are likely to be in the factory harness. I would round up some 12ga wire, a fuse box (inline), a 40A light/horn relay, some 14-18 ga wire, a couple connectors, and your switch of choice - depending on switch choice it should be <25$ at a parts store.

Run the 12ga from the battery to the fuse within a foot or so, then to the supply on the relay, then from the load on the relay to the light. Run the 14-18 from an extra accy position in the dash fuse box to the switch, then on to the control on the relay. Run another to ground from the grounding post on the relay (and switch, if illuminated).

If they are 100W bulbs, they will pull about 15A (assuming 2), which a 14ga can carry (up to 17A generally). I like to wire big, just to make sure. If they are 55W, they will pull much less and a 14ga becomes serious overkill. I'd stick with 14 or larger, though.

Without specifics on which Jeep you have, what wattage the lights are, how many, etc it is more difficult to help ya :)

Heineman4 11-24-2012 02:12 PM

thanks alot!

BlueRidgeYJ 11-24-2012 02:57 PM

My pleasure. If you need some deeper how to just ask.

:thumb:

Wales915 03-22-2013 08:04 PM

Blue ridge ,

Any idea where I can find wiring for stock fog lights I bought for my 2005 Wrangler. The lights come with their own connector, but nothing to the battery or switch.
Any help would be greatly appreciated
SPF

BlueRidgeYJ 03-23-2013 10:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wales915 (Post 3539877)
Blue ridge ,

Any idea where I can find wiring for stock fog lights I bought for my 2005 Wrangler. The lights come with their own connector, but nothing to the battery or switch.
Any help would be greatly appreciated
SPF

I'm not sure other than buying a huge harness where ya could. Making one seems easier.

If you want to keep a factory plug in the harness, track one down (junkyard) and cut the connectors out, then splice them onto wires you run (or take em apart and place your wires into them). Then you have a plug.

:)

5hBlueYJ 09-02-2013 09:17 PM

old thread revisited...I have an 87 without factory fogs but just bought some Marchals and will be either using those or the rectangular KCs I have...so, can I get power to these fogs simply by splicing into the headlights? I don't drive the Jeep much at night but would like to have the fogs come on with the headlamps.
Would I need a relay? I have a relay and all the wiring but got to wondering if I could go straight from the headlights but I'm guessing I would need more power?

BlueRidgeYJ 09-02-2013 09:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 5hBlueYJ (Post 4227521)
old thread revisited...I have an 87 without factory fogs but just bought some Marchals and will be either using those or the rectangular KCs I have...so, can I get power to these fogs simply by splicing into the headlights? I don't drive the Jeep much at night but would like to have the fogs come on with the headlamps.
Would I need a relay? I have a relay and all the wiring but got to wondering if I could go straight from the headlights but I'm guessing I would need more power?

Correct, the factory wiring would be overloaded. You can use the headlights as a trigger for your fogs using a relay (no need for a cab switch, easy wiring), but not as their primary power source without first upgrading quite a bit of stock wiring.

I actually have driving lights run this way... when my highbeams are on, so are they, but I also have a switch in the cab for use without the highbeams.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.