Jeep Wrangler Forum

Jeep Wrangler Forum (http://www.wranglerforum.com/)
-   Communications and Electronics (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/)
-   -   JKU Upgrade amp/speakers with stock head unit (http://www.wranglerforum.com/f40/jku-upgrade-amp-speakers-with-stock-head-unit-203584.html)

Hippsdesign 12-04-2012 10:25 PM

JKU Upgrade amp/speakers with stock head unit

Hey guys First off i would like to say im new to the Jeep community (just purchased a 2013 Wrangler unlimited) and this is my first post. I have found many posts on similar topics but i still cant seem to find an answer.

Ok guys I have a 2013 JKU with the factory 430n head unit. I do not want to change my head unit,,,,I know i know im doing it the hard way. I want to upgrade my sound system to be the best it can, that means clean sounding lots of bass (not shake my windows bass but full bass) I have already purchased all of my speakers Polk audio MM6501's for the front MM651's for the sound bar and MM840 for the sub, I plan on dynomating the inside of all of the boxes and filling them with pollyfill. All of that is no problem for me but this is where i need some help.

How can I upgrade my factory amp so that I can properly power all of my high end speakers....as streamlined as possible of course.

also if you know a thread where this question is answered let me know Thanks guys!

thelinux 12-22-2012 11:09 PM

Hey, I am installing exact same speakers on my JK. I already installed front MM6501 and soon install other two.

I have no plan to upgrade amplifier yet. But after this is done depends on the result, I may end up upgrading amplifiers too.

What I know is you need some signal processing (like using cleansweep etc..) so you can feed proper signal to aftermarket amp from stock amp or headunit.

Hippsdesign 12-31-2012 09:57 AM

Great, Question did you use the cross over for the front speakers or just directly wire the driver and the tweeter separate?